Remo Drive
Mercy


1.5
very poor

Review

by jesper STAFF
February 24th, 2024 | 26 replies


Release Date: 02/23/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: i use the restroom in only the most literal sense

Every time I manage to revert my attention back to Mercy after having zoned out for the twenty-ninth time while listening to the record, I’ll hear vocalist Erik Paulson singing about something absolutely riveting like logging in to see his bank statement or getting ghosted by his grandma. Don’t get me wrong, his voice is as pleasant as ever, but the stuff he’s singing about is about as pointless as the instrumentals accompanying such grand declarations of using your own sh*t as cologne.

Here’s the worst part: I don’t claim to be a particularly interesting or engaging person, and yet I would argue that the above paragraph using excerpts of Mercy’s lyrical content is more entertaining than anything this 36-minute long record accomplishes. There’s plenty of ridiculous turns of phrases here that could be funny if nothing else, but Remo Drive does an excellent job at making everything sound so goddamn lifeless that it’s hard to find any value in absolutely anything here. I can’t even have a laugh at horrific wordplay a la “I use the restroom in only the most literal sense / I take my cleansing breath in the filthiest room around” because I’m bound to be asleep two tracks in. Admittedly, all the performances are fine and there are definitely melodies (probably), but everything blurs together in a boring grey mass of Baby’s First Indie Album-isms.

Remo Drive have turned into an utterly pointless project. There’s not even a wonderfully terrible Wiggles-ah moment to be found here (“it’s just as easy as that!”), let alone the passion or energy that made the band so enjoyable… (checks notes) seven years ago. The only thing Mercy is good for is reading through its lyrical content and having a quick laugh. Did you know that “love is like a houseplant: in order to keep it you must tend to it”? Or that “I tried to live clean like a monk or a priest, problem is I am insane. No matter how strong light, I am no fly”? Lord, have mercy.



Recent reviews by this author
Knocked Loose You Won't Go Before You're Supposed ToBladee Cold Visions
You Wish LatheBig|Brave A Chaos of Flowers
Coming Up Roses (UK) Coming Up RosesCoals Sanatorium
user ratings (10)
1.6
very poor


Comments:Add a Comment 
JesperL
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2024


5476 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

took em four years to come up with this lmfao

Conmaniac
February 24th 2024


27693 Comments


heard the first song and I SIGHED audibly

dont wanna hear the rest so thanks for this review

Conmaniac
February 24th 2024


27693 Comments


"Baby’s First Indie Album-isms."

sad cuz this is their 3rd attempt at one lmao

someone
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2024


6646 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

yep pretty much



but i gotta say, outside of the context of Remo Drive the dumpster fire band, the title track slaps a lot

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2024


26199 Comments


It’s been that long lol

Snake.
February 25th 2024


25268 Comments


"outside of the context of Remo Drive the dumpster fire band"

glad at least someone hasn't forgotten this

suppatime
February 25th 2024


1820 Comments


Great review, the lyrics sound insane. This is one of my least favorite bands of all time lmao. Will check.

newsteamchannel4
February 25th 2024


120 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

why are the vocals so loud

someone
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2024


6646 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Cause he really wants to be heard and taken seriously

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2024


60503 Comments


"love is like a houseplant: in order to keep it you must tend to it"

are you suuuure this isn't a turnover lyric?

someone
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2024


6646 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

No, it's a Tumblr post

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2024


5476 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

no u are thinking of foxing's I FEEL LIKE A HOOOUSEPLAAANT



t/t might be slightly better than everything else here but it doesn't elevate the quality of this thing at all imo, at least the last album had that abduction song lol

Slex
February 25th 2024


16597 Comments


This band has always been so so bad

IfYouRun
February 25th 2024


314 Comments


That band are so boring now. One great record, but not a single thing of quality on the last couple of albums. Who even still cares at this point?

Odal
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2024


2086 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I'm more generous to their post-Greatest Hits sound than most, I think, but any interesting ideas or cool hooks they manage to conjure up are completely squandered by at least five bad decisions. Absolutely bizarre trajectory

dtsanchez
February 25th 2024


143 Comments


They managed to produce one really good album, and then turned into a emo Nickelback, they are an enigma.

Manatea
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2024


1941 Comments


Review is peak jesper

PorkchopGMX
February 25th 2024


23 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

This is so mid that I'm gonna raise Portrait to a 3.5

PorkchopGMX
February 25th 2024


23 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Yeah no

Odal
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2024


2086 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Goddamn this is legitimately one of the worst albums I have heard in recent memory and I say that as someone who reviewed Jeremy Renner



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy