Bloom (AUS)
Maybe in Another Life


3.5
great

Review

by Mike Kaplan STAFF
February 19th, 2024 | 32 replies


Release Date: 02/16/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A solid debut from a band with a promising future.

I’ll get straight to the point: Maybe In Another Life is—despite its flaws—a very solid album. The debut from Australian melodic hardcore act, Bloom, carries enough emotional weight and energy to overcome its somewhat uninspired songwriting, and there were enough spots of brilliance to keep me interested all the way through.

A (probably unnecessary) intro track segues into the breakneck title track, which is—to the band’s credit for consistency—a good showcase of what pretty much most of the album sounds like. Bloom choose to focus on the energetic emotion of their music over technical showcasing, which (for the most part) works well. Unfortunately a lot of the songwriting through the first four tracks blends together to the point of being almost unrecognizable from one song to the next. Many of the same songwriting patterns are used with reckless abandon, creating a sort of stale atmosphere amid what is supposed to be a thrill ride.

Starting with “Carve Yourself Into My Lungs,” however, Bloom slow down the pace of their record. The aforementioned track, along with “You & I” and “Fragments of a Dream” attempt to harness more of that emotional gravitas while foregoing the aggression that makes the top third of the album interesting. Again, the band does it well, albeit they let it go on a bit too long. “Carve Yourself…” is perhaps the most interesting of these three tracks, with clean and harsh vocals trading blows in a slow burn of a track that achieves a proper balance. “You & I” is not bad by any stretch, but does not have much of interest, while “Fragments of a Dream” feels completely unnecessary.

Don’t worry though, Bloom manage to save the best for last, with the just-over-a-minute “Laughing Stock” (unironically one of the best tracks on the record) taking off the kid gloves and leading into the one-two punch of “An Exit” and “Through the Threshold, Beyond the Bend.” These two tracks are probably the most cohesive and interesting on the record, not to mention the breakdown halfway through “An Exit” somehow being one of the most exhilarating moments on the whole thing.

Fortunately, it doesn’t take too long to get to the end, as the album is a lean thirty minutes in length—and between the inoffensive length, halfway decent production, vocals that are actually quite adept, predictably cringeworthy lyrics, and a whole lot of adrenaline, Maybe In Another Life is ultimately a winner. While this is a debut and there’s room to grow, Bloom is probably one of the more promising ones I’ve seen in a bit. Provided they clean up their songwriting a bit, shake things up once in a while, and add just a touch of finesse, they have a bright future ahead.



Recent reviews by this author
Julian Lage Speak To MeBoundaries Death Is Little More
Weston Super Maim See You Tomorrow BabyGalleons Violent Delights
Ameonna Goddess WeptInfant Island Obsidian Wreath
user ratings (32)
3.5
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Manatea
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2024


1916 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fun album.



Hi everybody.

SteakByrnes
February 19th 2024


29682 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yes dude thank you for reviewing this cause it reminded me to check it out, been looking forward to it! nice review :] I've liked the singles so I'm hype to hear the rest

Manatea
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2024


1916 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I try for you bb

tyman128
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2024


4480 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Big fan of this one, great rev as always

Manatea
Staff Reviewer
February 20th 2024


1916 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

< 33

SteakByrnes
February 20th 2024


29682 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Maaaan I wanted to like this SO much more than I did. The first 4 tracks and the last 3 are good, particularly An Exit. That middle section tho man, that felt like an ETERNITY to get through. Bands, please do not place the slow songs back to back like that lmfao



These guys need to rely more on the screams because he's really powerful and sounds great

Purpl3Spartan
February 20th 2024


8443 Comments


Damn forgot about these guys

JayEnder
February 21st 2024


19687 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Decent debut but man it took them 4 years to come up with this after the banger that was Cold???

Manatea
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2024


1916 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@steak yeahhhhhh the middle stretch of the album is a bit rough. Also hi my pal



@jay hi friend

SteakByrnes
February 21st 2024


29682 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hi fren :] yea that middle section is such a slog, they should just focus on the aussie counterparts sound they have going and use the screams more. I can deal with these cleans if they're just sprinkled on in places but they are used too much

Calc
February 21st 2024


17329 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hey I liked this, glad it got reviewed.

JayEnder
February 21st 2024


19687 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hello Manatee! :D nice review btw buddy

Pikazilla
February 21st 2024


29698 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

a metalcore band from australia



what could possibly go wrong

Durrzo
February 22nd 2024


3266 Comments


"Maaaan I wanted to like this SO much more than I did."

Same man. The title track single got me very excited for this and they never reached that level again. WAY too clean heavy, and they generally don't play to their strengths. It's a letdown for sure. Harsh vocalist has a really mean tone and him being so underutilized is a real head scratcher, especially when the clean vocalist is passable at best.

kevbogz
February 22nd 2024


6086 Comments


cringe core

kevbogz
February 22nd 2024


6086 Comments


oi me girlfriend left me while i was havin a smoko oh naur

JayEnder
February 22nd 2024


19687 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lmfao

Ectier
February 22nd 2024


2549 Comments


"a metalcore band from australia what could possibly go wrong
Hey we had a pretty alright run for awhile there.....now it is a bit embarassing

Pikazilla
February 22nd 2024


29698 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

if two albums from one band (first two pwd albums) suffice to qualify it as an alright run, then sure



there has been a lot of unfdcore poop a la polaris, northlane, thornhill, etc.

Purpl3Spartan
February 22nd 2024


8443 Comments


Take a Pika deez nuts lmao



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy