Grandaddy
Blu Wav


3.8
excellent

Review

by Sunnyvale STAFF
February 17th, 2024 | 45 replies


Release Date: 02/16/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Goin’ to the cabin in my mind

Grandaddy’s first album in seven years apparently derives its name from the fusion of two phrases - “bluegrass” and “new wave”. While I wouldn’t say either of those genre descriptors is really an accurate portrayal of Blue Wav, their combination is ultimately fitting. This is a record wholly confident in its chosen dreamy and slow-paced country-meets-indie sound, and deviations from that formula are nearly nonexistent. It’s the songs’ feeling of suspended animation, all blended shimmer and weepy guitar, melancholic but warm, which sells the final product. This is an album which scratches the same kind of itch as acts like Yo La Tengo, Pinback, and Iron & Wine, despite their disparate styles - the sonic embodiment of that “summer haze as twilight descends” kind of feeling. I think you know exactly what I mean, you fellow romantic reading a review on an obscure music website. Sonically, the best reference points here might be Sparklehorse’s more pastoral side (unsurprisingly) and the reverb-and-twang earliest era of My Morning Jacket (less obviously). In the end, I haven’t mentioned a single song title on Blu Wav, and that’s not because I’m a terrible reviewer (or at least that’s not the only reason), but more due to the fact that this is one of those records where the mood is king. Large swaths of runtime will prove utterly forgettable under most listening conditions, but if you let this album in, you’ll probably remember it at just the right moment in your life when everything falls into place to derive maximum enjoyment. I’ve spent way too much time looking at the tiny album artwork on Spotify trying to deduce if that twinkly patch in the middle of Blu Wav’s cover is a depiction of Christmas lights, a city skyline by night, or some outer space phenomenon like a nebula. I’m still not sure and that’s rather fitting. Grandaddy’s latest feels slightly remote but wholeheartedly nostalgic, the synthesis of deeply personal loneliness and some kind of cosmic greater meaning, and all three of my theories seem perfectly suitable. Weary but still imbued with plenty of heart, Blu Wav is all you can ask for as the return of Jason Lytle’s long-running indie project.



Recent reviews by this author
Hamferd Men Gu​ð​s Hond Er SterkHawkwind Stories from Time and Space
Ride InterplayFrancis of Delirium Lighthouse
Verwoed The MotherAdrianne Lenker Bright Future
user ratings (37)
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
doofy (4)
Sick of Goodbyes...



Comments:Add a Comment 
Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
February 17th 2024


5815 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

A short and lighthearted review for an album which I probably won't come back to all that often, but is very good at what it does

DoofDoof
February 17th 2024


14938 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I’m liking this a fair bit so far

Pheromone
February 18th 2024


21314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this was quite lovely on first listen

theBoneyKing
February 18th 2024


24363 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

cute album

Pheromone
February 18th 2024


21314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ur a cute album

anat
Contributing Reviewer
February 18th 2024


5742 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

didn’t wow me, but it did mm me

DadKungFu
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2024


4698 Comments


Might hate this but if Doof's for it it's at least worth a shot

DoofDoof
February 19th 2024


14938 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

East Yosemite is pretty orgasmic, their Twin Peaks theme, absolute stunner



A few other great ones here and all round very dreamy

Feather
February 19th 2024


10056 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cute review. Yosemite tends to stand out when I listen. I really love how cozy this band always makes me feel.

Egarran
February 22nd 2024


33768 Comments


The drummer (I believe his name is Jason Lytle) usually sounds like he's about to fall asleep. I prefer the songs like On A Train Or Bus or Ducky where drums are almost non-existent.

Hawks
February 23rd 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Just saved this on Bandcamp. Hype to jam.

juiceviaorange
February 24th 2024


1050 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've slept on Grandaddy for legit 15 years. Always, almost checked em out. Used this album as an opportunistic gateway. It's pretty criminal for all of us, me especially, that this band hasn't gotten even more looks. Wow - just pretty special stuff. This album, in addition to his other 5, are just wonderful.

RadioSuicide
February 24th 2024


2597 Comments


“the sonic embodiment of that “summer haze as twilight descends” kind of feeling” love this bit, great review dude

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2024


5815 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Thanks guys! Nice to see some high scores, this feels like an album which will create some really dedicated fans, even if it's not really for everyone.

Hawks
February 24th 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This was my first Grandaddy experience and it is the best thing ever.

Egarran
February 25th 2024


33768 Comments


Nobody else has any problems with these pedestrian drums? They were definitely more energetic on earlier releases.

DoofDoof
February 25th 2024


14938 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Can’t say I felt this was a drum focused album really

Egarran
February 25th 2024


33768 Comments


Indeed, I hope to get over this grievance. There is definitely gold here.

Yotimi
February 26th 2024


7666 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Watercolor sounds a lot like that christian worship song Sanctuary... reminds me of when Perfume Genius accidentally covered Here I Am to Worship with Nothing at All.

hel9000
February 26th 2024


1525 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review as always Sunny. Not hugely familiar with Grandaddy but I'm loving this, gets better with each listen.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy