The Requiem
A Cure to Poison the World


4.0
excellent

Review

by Halez USER (79 Reviews)
February 16th, 2024 | 38 replies


Release Date: 02/16/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The difference between you and me is that I get the last laugh

The revival of this style of hooky, captivating mall-emo that’s been blowing up throughout these last few years has been nothing short of an absolute treat. It’s like it was made for those of us looking to recapture the feeling of what the Hot Topic-shopping mall kids of yesteryear felt. Strolling down the street, Walkman in hand, with Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge, Sing the Sorrow, or another such album from said era blaring. If I’m honest, albums like A Cure to Poison the World feel like an absolute love letter to that era.

First off, the lead singer, Damien Douleur, sounds like the lovechild of Gerard Way and Bert McCracken, and that’s a compliment. His emotionally charged vocal delivery absolutely shines through, especially on songs like “Cursed” where he almost fills the void left by Dying Is Your Latest Fashion-era Escape the Fate after Ronnie went off the deep end and turned into an unstoppable juggernaut that, either in spite of or because of all the raucous things he says on the Internet and at shows, has had a massive spike in mainstream relevance whether we like it or not. Another such highlight vocally is the closer “Before You Go”, which while guided by nostalgia through and through, doesn’t fail in the slightest to be emotionally resonant.

Emo as a genre is built off melodrama, and The Requiem here delivers that in spades while not feeling like a self-parody (see: TX2). The sole break is the piano interlude “L’exquisite douleur”, which while only lasting 53 seconds, is something that maybe could’ve went longer. And the backing band behind Damien is no slouch here - I hear Three Cheers-style riffs all over this thing, and the production team has done a wonderful job making everything hit just right. Maybe it could benefit from being a little bit more musically adventurous, as this is pretty standard, by-the-books mall-emo tinged post-hardcore, but everything here is in its right place.

Overall, the hooks are solid, the vocal performance is tremendous, the production helps accentuate the positives. While it isn’t reinventing the wheel (let’s be real, almost nothing in this revival is), it’s such a good fun dose of nostalgia that’s not afraid to get the listener a bit choked up from the intense emotion in spots…if you’re willing to let A Cure to Poison the World in.



Recent reviews by this author
Being as an Ocean Death Can WaitTesseracT War of Being
From Ashes To New BlackoutBetter Lovers God Made Me an Animal
Mercy Drive Mercy DriveSixx:A.M. Heroin Diaries Soundtrack
user ratings (35)
3.5
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
veninblazer
February 16th 2024


16839 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thought I'd get on this. This album's a vibe.

JayEnder
February 16th 2024


20167 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

NICE venin! Was thinking about tackling this but you saved me the hassle.



Cursed is the best MCR song since 2006

veninblazer
February 16th 2024


16839 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Tbh I'd argue with that last part because I'll defend Danger Days till I die and The Foundations of Decay is wonderful, but that's splitting hairs. Glad ya dig!

JayEnder
February 16th 2024


20167 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Foundations was cool but tbh I forgot that song even happened lol. They've been pretty quiet since they dropped that, wonder if we'll ever get a new alb



As far as this album goes it definitely leaned a bit too far into the MCR worship, was hoping for more heavy songs like the opener. Some great hooks on here tho and it's nostalgia city. Brings me back to Hot Topic in 2005

artificialbox
February 16th 2024


1891 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice job venin. ya beat us to the punch, I was also thinking of writing one for this haha. still might eventually. album is extremely enjoyable, I think the only super low point for me is Two Lovers Left Alive. Not sure if the acoustic ballad style mixed with emo titanic lyrics work that well for them lol. At least the closing ballad has some drums and bass and a guitar solo at the end to mix things up.

veninblazer
February 16th 2024


16839 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@jay: same. i've been waiting for forever.

@artificial: Loved Two Lovers Left Alive, I'm kicking myself for not mentioning it tbh

artificialbox
February 16th 2024


1891 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think it will grow on me. So far my favourite of the non singles is Less Than Zero, it’s giving me big melodic punk vibes like Rise Against and AFI with the chanted backing vocals and “whoaah whoaaah’s”

JayEnder
February 16th 2024


20167 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Opener and The Difference are the best non singles for sure



Wasn't a fan of Less Than Zero tbh

artificialbox
February 16th 2024


1891 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it’s funny I don’t usually like “whoah whoah” punk (put that genre in the database) but for some reason it stood out to me.

onionbubs
February 16th 2024


21280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

wow they are reallllllllllly trying to imitate that mcr vocal inflection huh

veninblazer
February 16th 2024


16839 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I almost hear more Bert than Gerard, but even an imitation of either's likely going to work for me if it isn't done by someone who hates them and is trying to make them sound as awful as possible.

Kusangii
February 16th 2024


6753 Comments


Badass title

onionbubs
February 16th 2024


21280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

the singer kinda reminds me of nate from finch too ngl



think this one is too derivative for me. cursed is most def not the best mcr song since 2006 lol actually one of my lowlights here. nothing really grabbed me tho

Durrzo
February 17th 2024


3317 Comments


I wanted to like this but the first two singles are the only tracks that do anything for me.

bellovddd
February 17th 2024


6395 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

dont know this but mall-emo is back??

JayEnder
February 17th 2024


20167 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You bet it is. Kinda growing off me already tbh



Kill the Lights is a banger tho

veninblazer
February 17th 2024


16839 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm gonna have this on repeat for a bit while I cope with the fact that MCR isn't dropping anything soon.

Wildcardbitchesss
February 20th 2024


12387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

only two songs in but I got the vibe that this is just a more shouty MCR? because that’s fine tbh. good so far

veninblazer
February 20th 2024


16839 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i guess one could say that. i get all angles from it. they feel like a cacophony of the entire 2000s scene to me. "cursed" had me thinking of "chariot of fire" off dying is your latest fashion.

artificialbox
February 20th 2024


1891 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I’VE GIVEN EVERYTHING AND NOTHING EVER KEPT ME ALIIIVEE



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy