Galleons
Violent Delights


2.5
average

Review

by Mike K. CONTRIBUTOR (53 Reviews)
February 12th, 2024 | 41 replies


Release Date: 02/09/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Sometimes violent. Not really delightful.

Australian/Russian post-hardcore project, Galleons, have released their fourth full-length record: Violent Delights. Should you care? I don’t know. Honestly, this is the first album I’ve listened to by Galleons and I’m feeling pretty uninspired, so I'm going to do what I do best--create a nonsequitur analogy to describe my thoughts. The best I can come up with currently is to draw comparisons to Frankenstein’s monster. Ready? Too bad, here we go.

Frankenstein’s monster is, at its base, a dead body. Galleons have pursued a dead genre—swancore—in the creation of this record. The monster, however, is a composite of different body parts that have been stitched together. Much the same, Galleons add some minor elements of mathcore, throw some synth work into the mix, and are generally a bit more unstructured than their many predecessors and peers. The monster is hideous, as are the many blatant swancore tropes in this record (I mean the unclean vocals even go out of their way to sound like pre-Downtown Battle Mountain II Jon Mess). Finally, the monster is huge in stature. This album is fifty-eight f*cking minutes long.

What most people who are unfamiliar with the source material by Mary Shelley don’t realize is that Frankenstein’s monster, despite its horrid appearance, serious daddy (or creator?) issues, and murderous tendencies, has (marginally) redeeming qualities, such as intelligence and the ability to feel remorse. This album also has (marginally) redeeming qualities underneath its initially unpalatable coating. The clean vocal performance by Thomas John Byrne is—despite trying to sound like Jonny Craig far too hard—not bad by any stretch of the imagination. I am noting here that Byrne does start to sound like himself and not a cheap impersonator towards the end of the record, on tracks like “Deadman Wonderland,” and “Dungeon Dweller,” where he adds some grit and character to the saccharine R&B sheen.

Compositionally the album constantly feels a bit too disjointed for its own good, yet this very quality does enough to set Galleons apart from the crowd. Unlike Icarus the Owl, who take their mathy sensibilities in a more pop-oriented direction, Galleons go the heavier route—such as the frenetic pacing of “Vagabond," or the to-and-fro of the eponymous "Violent Delights." While these segments are enough to sort of half-heartedly drag the listener through the first forty minutes of the record, the sheer length of Violent Delights does everything it possibly can to try and destroy any positive impression this album might leave--which is all the more ironic because the last third of the record is probably the best music on the whole damned thing.

I know some of the truly anti-swancore community would probably want Galleons to burn themselves on a pyre in the Arctic like the monster I have compared them to, but I am afraid that is not likely to happen—and truthfully this album is not bad enough to be called bad and not good enough to be called good. While it tries to inject a tiny bit of life into the styles it panders to, this Frankenstein’s monster simply doesn’t have the build or verve to make any lasting impression.



Recent reviews by this author
Bloom (AUS) Maybe in Another LifeAmeonna Goddess Wept
Infant Island Obsidian WreathBlind Equation Death Awaits
Harm's Way (USA-IL) Common SufferingRenee Rapp Snow Angel
user ratings (32)
3.5
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Manatea
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2024


1855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The last third of the record can be found in the EP they released before this album called Crybaby.



This review sucks and I know it but oh well, I needed to write.

FowlKrietzsche
February 12th 2024


415 Comments


Will NOT be checking this, but I liked your review

Purpl3Spartan
February 12th 2024


8153 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

will check since their last album banged

Purpl3Spartan
February 12th 2024


8153 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

first song is great but we'll see how this progresses

Pikazilla
February 12th 2024


28984 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

this band is like a smelly shit cocktail of dance gavin dance and early 2010s genericore



kill it with fire

Purpl3Spartan
February 12th 2024


8153 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I’m not really hearing the dgd comparison outside of them being swancore tbh. This isn’t noodley at all in comparison. Vocalist does not sound like Johnny Craig or Mess either imo although I see where you’re coming from ig

Purpl3Spartan
February 12th 2024


8153 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

“I am noting here that Byrne does start to sound like himself and not a cheap impersonator towards the end of the record, on tracks like “Deadman Wonderland,” and “Dungeon Dweller,” where he adds some grit and character to the saccharine R&B sheen.”



These are the two songs on the album with features btw.

Pikazilla
February 12th 2024


28984 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

'I’m not really hearing the dgd comparison outside of them being swancore tbh'



the vocals

mkmusic1995
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2024


1560 Comments


I had this on my list to listen to but I'm not sure that I will anymore. It's gonna be a slog, I can just feel it in my bones. The last record was okay but really dragged on and had very little in terms of highlights. Judging by your review, I would probably get the same thing here. Nice write up, Manatea!

Tundra
February 12th 2024


9303 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Let me guess it's pop post-hardcore with noodly guitars

Manatea
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2024


1855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Tbf the only DGD comparison I made was the vocals, because they really do try to sound like DGD.

I think I might have been too hard on the album but it’s sooooo looooooooooooooooooooooong. If they had trimmed it down considerably could have been an easy 3.5

SteakByrnes
February 12th 2024


29468 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I liked the last album so gonna peep, very curious about that Ryo feature lol



Hi manatea my pal

Manatea
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2024


1855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Steak it’s been so long < 3



The Ryo feature is great ngl

artificialbox
February 12th 2024


1292 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

damn this sucks ass. this is kind of an emotional kneejerk rating but the lyrics are so bad they bring this down at least a full point from where it could be.

artificialbox
February 12th 2024


1292 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I’m broken

I’m in shambles

I feel melted like a candle



BRUH

Purpl3Spartan
February 12th 2024


8153 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Swancore lyrics do be like that

artificialbox
February 12th 2024


1292 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

“Every breakdown, my cheeks get weighed down”



I might actually raise this .5 just for comedy value.

archit3uthis
February 14th 2024


13 Comments


Galleons' S/T album tops this one for me because it has more consistently memorable vocal hooks *and* it doesn't suffer from some of the decidedly unpoetic lyrics that are found here on Violent Delights.

veninblazer
February 14th 2024


16661 Comments


I liked the self-titled, do I even bother with this?

Purpl3Spartan
February 14th 2024


8153 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I put it at about the same as the last one



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy