Dwarrowdelf
The Fallen Leaves


4.0
excellent

Review

by Melodeth USER (20 Reviews)
February 11th, 2024 | 29 replies


Release Date: 02/02/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Dwarrowdelf rising

With a name like Dwarrowdelf and a DnD cover art you’re either going to get power metal, dungeon synth or melodic black metal. Lucky for me it’s the latter. I did try Dwarrowdelf’s previous album “Evenstar” but it didn’t stick. But that didn’t stop me trying this new album “The Fallen Leaves” and curiously was immediately drawn in.

Dwarrowdelf is the work of multi-instrumentalist Brit Tom O’Dell who also competently handles both clean and harsh vocals and has evidently stepped up the quality of this project’s output. Refreshingly he has a sense of humour as his Bandcamp page briefs Dwarrowdelf as “a one-man studio project from Southampton, UK, walking the utterly untrodden path of Tolkien-based epic metal”. The Tolkien themes in this release however have been eschewed for more poignant tales “of sorrow, struggle, and grappling with reality”.

The instrumental opener and the beginning of “The Journey to Dawn” has a Caladan Brood and Eldamar tone but that is punctuated with a clearer enunciation than found in those acts which allows a closer connection to be had. The olde melodies and passages carry through to the glorious “To Dust, We All Return” which splendidly marries all elements of folk inspired melodic atmoblack. It’s a genre close to me as the melodic guitars and synths with the double kick drumming is an undoubtedly powerful vessel.

“This Shattered World” is a heavier but no less exhilarating arrangement with tremolo picking that Mist of Misery could lay claim to, resulting in an album peak. Peaks abound in truth and there is not a second wasted in this tight 42 minutes. The epic adventure continues with “Escape from the Dreamspire” which gives space to both the clean and harsh vocal passages, between the swifter blackened metal parts. With an ear for highlight after highlight, O’Dell has composed a pretty damn impressive meloblack slab as single “Deliverance” attests in droves.

Varieties of styles and instrumentation pervades the release as there’s hints of melodeath, even a couple of deathcore blasts and the closing title track features an opening harpsichord and an electronic bridge amongst the central synths and melodic guitars sound.

These projects are simple pleasures and are gladly returned to like a home cooked meal. Unsurprisingly, admirers of Can Bardd, Elderwind, Dzo-nga and Ash of Ashes should find this an easy little February win.



Recent reviews by this author
The Moor OmbraLord Kaos Thorns of Impurity
Counting Hours The Wishing TombEternal Storm A Giant Bound to Fall
Sgaile Traverse the BealachStrange New Dawn New Nights Of Euphoria
user ratings (21)
3.4
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Muzz79
February 11th 2024


3094 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

To be honest I'm surprised and saddened. Er no, not saddened. What's the word? Ah yes, delighted!

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2024


32073 Comments


I tried this but couldnt get pass the vocals. The music was good though.

Muzz79
February 11th 2024


3094 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I didn’t see this in your deweekly but was suitably inspired to give a write up. I found the vox fine but think they get better as it goes along. The music is so solid and all comes together after a few listens

Zac124
February 12th 2024


2895 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Tolkien themes and similar to Mist of Misery. I am sold. Great review!

Muzz79
February 13th 2024


3094 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice one Zac. It's an easy enjoyable listen

Hawks
February 13th 2024


90448 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Gotta hear this.

frozencarl
February 13th 2024


1691 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

excellent review as always Muzz! I really enjoyed this one. bigggg Sojourner vibes. in fact, the guy behind Dwarrowdelf was on a recent Sojourner EP, though doesnt appear to be in the band anymore

Egarran
February 13th 2024


34507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review indeed. A bit too simple for me, but nice vibes. I could see doing the dishes to this.

Pho3nix
February 13th 2024


1635 Comments


Should probably give this band another try.

Nice rev +1

Muzz79
February 13th 2024


3094 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hawks, dude yes check this sort of like evoking winds from last year

Carl funny you mention that I only made that connection last night when scrolling bandcamp. Yep that group of musicians are always to look out for

Eg that's my feelings towards it too, a delightful well constructed piece

Pho3nix you might be pleasantly surprised as I was cheers/

Zac124
February 13th 2024


2895 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is awesome. Might be my favourite of the year so far. Also found out this guy is in a death metal band called Gimli, Son of Gloin which I now have to listen to due to its amazing name.

Hawks
February 14th 2024


90448 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I saw that band on Bandcamp was gonna czech lol.

Muzz79
February 14th 2024


3094 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great stuff zac and thx for the tip with Gimli, Son of Gloin

Zac124
February 14th 2024


2895 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just checked it and unfortunately it isn't great. It's pretty standard instrumental death metal with the odd Gimli sample every now and then. Despite the theme, it isn't all that interesting.

zaruyache
February 14th 2024


27527 Comments


ftr it's not DnD on the cover, it's explicitly an Elden Ring ripoff lol. That's the Bloody Wolf slaying an elden ring-type dragon and riding a Torrent knockoff bicorn.

JakeStallion
February 14th 2024


653 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

atmospheric black metal x elden ring means this album is tailor made for me and i'm happy to report that it rips. whoever said it reminds them of Mist of Misery, i'd have to agree. sounds much more like them than it does Summoning or Caladan Brood imo

Muzz79
February 14th 2024


3094 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice pick up zaru, that’s specific

Agree the only Caladan brood I got was in The Journey to Dawn but after that no comparison

DDDeftoneDDD
February 14th 2024


22550 Comments


BM for the dishes me see

Muzz79
February 14th 2024


3094 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pass the tea towel will ya

Hawks
February 15th 2024


90448 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This is pretty damn underwhelming.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy