KMFDM
Let Go


3.5
great

Review

by Raul Stanciu STAFF
February 4th, 2024 | 35 replies


Release Date: 02/02/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Beat by beat by beat.

KMFDM are celebrating their 40th anniversary this year in the most productive way, releasing a brand new record and touring. As expected, the hardest working band in the industrial genre doesn’t show any signs of slowing down. Less than two years after Hyëna, the quartet is back with Let Go, another collection of pumping tracks that follow in its predecessor’s footsteps. The gritty, metallic riffs continue to take the backseat, as they rely on the electronic side with alternative rock touches. What helps this LP is the cohesive sound throughout its 45-minute span. The title track shares ‘90s disco vibes, complete with fun guitar parts and an infectious energy. “Push!” maintains this momentum with a more aggressive approach. Classic metal tones blend with the synths, while Lucia and Sasha complement each other’s vocals throughout. From here, a string of mid-tempo cuts follow, the most memorable being the cruising “Airhead” and “Touch”. The former is one of their most laid back numbers in years, featuring a steady rhythm with catchy, straightforward guitar leads, as well as beautiful, melodic vocals from Cifarelli. The latter follows a similar style, however, with a darker atmosphere and busier drum patterns. Again, she does a fine job, especially on the uplifting choruses. Meanwhile, “Turn the Light On” focuses on sampled-like political speeches over an ‘80s inspired instrumental. This could very well be the opening theme to a cop TV series from that era.

During the final stretch of Let Go, the band brings back the ultra heavy beat, best evidenced on “Totem E. Eggs”. The tune echoes XTORT’s “Son of a Gun” with its hyper, d’n’b drumming, guitar chugs and distorted synths. Apparently, the title bears the name of the late, long time KMFDM collaborator, Bill Rieflin’s cat. Same goes for “Erlkönig”, but its lyrics consist of Goethe’s eponymous poem. It might not offer the catchiest hooks, but the song itself is tight and delivers a needed heaviness here. Then, to finish the LP in a quirky fashion, the guys decided to throw a Sisters of Mercy-meets-reggae dub rendition of “WWIII”, entitled “WW 2023”. The contrast between the lyrics and music is cute, with a round of horns playing in between spoken vocals and guitars. After the last few records, a moment like this was expected to be included. Overall, Let Go is a solid LP that brings back the consistency missed on Hyëna. Although there are few highlights, none of the songs here are disappointing. Andee Blacksugar changed the tone of the band’s output, contributing lighter grooves than former lead guitarist, Jules Hodgson. Nevertheless, he is a strong addition, especially since the band gave itself a reset after years of running on auto pilot. Now it seems the current line-up has established an identity and is ready to push forward.




Recent reviews by this author
The Dandy Warhols ROCKMAKERThomas Dybdahl Teenage Astronauts
Ministry HOPIUMFORTHEMASSESMonkey3 Welcome to the Machine
The Pineapple Thief It Leads To ThisVennart Forgiveness and The Grain
user ratings (17)
3.2
good


Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 4th 2024


6165 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

KMFDM doing it again. Nice record overall.



Stream here - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qEeARKKjaZo&list=PLzpHvgk6ivsFEoGVlxAqv_Q2zM1YyWc6i

kkarron
February 4th 2024


1350 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Hyena sucked serious ass, so I'm hoping this is better.

KevinKC
February 4th 2024


1251 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I now have three KMFDM albums to listen to. Hurrey ! Paradise, Hyena and Let go.

I think that actually it only means 27 true new tracks.



My goal was to be able to listen to at least one new great KMFDM album.

So, I'll compile the best tracks of each of the three, or I'll put aside the three worst.



Suggestions are welcome.

Like, tell me which songs I should avoid at all cost !!! :p

budgie
February 4th 2024


34926 Comments


i think angst is the best and i don't think it's super close either

Pikazilla
February 4th 2024


29698 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

band has some real slappers

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 4th 2024


6165 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

To make one great album from the last three, I would add Hyena, All Wrong - But Alright, Immortally Yours and Black Hole from Hyena / Paradise, Disturb the Peace and No Regret from Paradise & Let Go, Totem E. Eggs and Airhead from this one.





KevinKC
February 4th 2024


1251 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Ok, noted. Thanks.

KevinKC
February 4th 2024


1251 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Nice short review by the way Raul.

At this point of their career it's hard to review a KMFDM album.

Even more so when you've reviewed a lot of the ones of the last decade.

kildare
February 4th 2024


261 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Great review. "make one great album": I'll have to playlist those for my next KMDFM dig. I've been disappointed with their albums overall for years, but there's always a few tracks from each that make me glad they keep putting out new ones

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2024


32013 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Never heard of this band but I'm sold Raul, thanks. Will check this probably this week and then work through their back catalogue if I like what i hear.

KevinKC
February 5th 2024


1251 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

@Budgie

I agree that Angst is their best but I suppose they have other albums that are quite enjoyable :



@Dewinged

Here's the number of great songs I find on every album I know of the band :

Naive 6/10

Money 5/6 (Money is only half an album, also I think that a few of them are better in their remixed versions)

Angst 10/10

Nihil 10/10

Xtort 5/10

Symbols 5/10

Adios 4/10

Attack 9/11

WWIII 10/11

Hau Ruck 8/11

Tohuvabohu 6/11

Blitz 9/11

WTF!? 10/11

Kunst 5/10

Our Time Will Come 5/10

Hell Yeah 6/10







insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2024


6165 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Kevin. Yeah, most of the time it feels you can change the album name and song titles in the reviews lol. Some of the work is so similar to others in their catalog. Still, they have changed direction lately and I'm happy no matter how hit and miss it is.



Thanks Dewi! If you enjoy, listen to Nihil, Angst and/or WTF!?. They are them most consistent overall IMO. They have a lot of records lol, it will be a long ride.

Willie
Moderator
February 5th 2024


20212 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

--i think angst is the best and i don't think it's super close either --



I agree with this. I was going to review this album, because it is kind of a new sound for KMFDM (but didn't have the time). It's more fun and dancable. A nice change for the band, even if it's nothing different in more general terms.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2024


6165 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, it's still the same sound at the core, but at least going for a different feel.

kildare
February 5th 2024


261 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Sputnik should have a year-end vote for best review subtitle. Yours is currently my top nomination so far. Creating subtitles for my own reviews is easily my least favorite part of posting on here. Of course, you have to be a fan to get this one, so I don't know if it could survive a general vote. But still...

cycosynner
February 5th 2024


147 Comments


I dig Angst and Nihil. I'll have to check this out too!!

Pos!

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2024


6165 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I enjoy it least to come up with a summary lol.

Pikazilla
February 5th 2024


29698 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

symbols 5/10



with all due respect, kevin are you on crack

budgie
February 5th 2024


34926 Comments


whats wrong w crack

KevinKC
February 5th 2024


1251 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

@pizakilla

I wasn't saying that the album was a 5/10 (I'm only pointing at this in case you didn't see because it's not clear). I was saying there's 5 great tracks out of ten. (Megalomaniacal, Stray Bullet, Anarchy, Waste, Unfit). And also, I was only speaking very subjectively.



I find the songwriting on Symbols excruciatingly dull.

The songs take ages to start, then to move from a verse to a chorus and then they over repeat the chorus for ages.

I've just re-listened to Unfit which I remember as a song that I enjoyed more than the others and it's just painful. It's a six minutes song that feels like the musicians had enough material to do a three minutes one.

The intros on the album are awfully long and sleep inducing.



But if I had to rate it objectively, I'd say it's a 3.5/5. I wouldn't be too harsh because there's a lot to love here, if it clicks for the listener.



Sorry, it's not Pizakilla it's Pikazilla that which is a very different monster.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy