Upon Stone
Dead Mother Moon


3.5
great

Review

by frozencarl USER (7 Reviews)
January 28th, 2024 | 39 replies


Release Date: 01/19/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This is Episode 666.....Destination? CHAOS!!!!

In a world……

Where the once mighty legacy of Gothenburg……

Has descended into the pits of mediocrity……

Comes a new wave of hope……

A band destined to restore the once great empire of Melodic Death Metal to its former glory……

Can these young pups from California fulfill the prophecy….

…and make this subgenre great again?

Find out in January 2024 in Upon Stone’s highly anticipated…


DEAD MOTHER MOON!!


San Fernando Valley shredders Upon Stone come thrashing out of the gates of 2024 with a half hour homage to Jesper Stromblad, Anders Björler, and any kid with a guitar that called Gothenburg their home in the 1990s. Anyone familiar with The Jester Race, Whoracle, or Slaughter of the Soul will immediately pick out similarities—be it the riffs, the songwriting, or the vocals. The songs are fast and thrashy and channel those Gothenburg melodies through the gritty, buzzsaw HM-2 filter the bands on the other side of Sweden were doing at the time (read: Entombed and Dismember). In a more contemporary comparison, think of Gatecreeper covering old In Flames songs. That is Dead Mother Moon in a nutshell.

It’s a new album, sure, but you’ve heard it before; Upon Stone aren’t attempting to create anything new here. And when I say you’ve heard them before, you really have heard them before. “Dusk Sang Fairest” is just In Flames’ “Gyroscope.” “Paradise Failed,” which sports a feature from American melodeath-turned-metalcore band Shadows Fall, rips a bridge straight from In Flames’ “Episode 666.” It even occurs at the exact same time—go to 1:38 in both songs and compare. Sure, okay, they’re cheeky Easter eggs, I respect that. But with an album as short as Dead Mother Moon, the old school worship sticks out more than the newer, fresher parts. To some, a throwback album is adequate, but to others—well, it leaves them wanting something more.

Dead Mother Moon closes out with its longest and perhaps most ambitious song, “The Lantern” (ambitious in that Upon Stone are, in fact, capable of writing songs that aren’t mere In Flames and At The Gates tributes). It is a sound I wish the band explored further, but perhaps that is to come. This is only their first record, and if it—oh, and Majesties’ Vast Reaches Unclaimed, of course—is any indication, the world craves more of that 90s Gothenburg sound.



Recent reviews by this author
Desparity The IncessantAngel Dust Enlighten the Darkness
Vindland Hanter SavetTungsten (SWE) Bliss
Rotting Kingdom A Deeper Shade of SorrowBlack Forest Dream
user ratings (43)
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
frozencarl
January 28th 2024


1603 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

quick lil review for a quick lil album. closer to a 3. in flam/es we trust

Hawks
January 28th 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Sick review. Album blowz.

ToSmokMuzyki
January 28th 2024


10469 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

huh expected u to jizz all over this cawks

Hawks
January 28th 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Nah bro.

ToSmokMuzyki
January 28th 2024


10469 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

i got sum blue balls myself

frozencarl
January 28th 2024


1603 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

it’s not THAT bad hawks and you know it

Hawks
January 28th 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

It's just way too generic for me bro. Not terrible but I'll just go listen to Whoracle.

DaveyMonsoon
January 28th 2024


978 Comments


Good review Carl, I was fond of Majesties last year so I'll be sure to give this a spin as well. I think I have to hear the Episode 666 comparison for myself, at least.

frozencarl
January 28th 2024


1603 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I feel it Hawks, I know you fw Whoracle hard which is why I’d at least have thought you’d like this some more lol



Thanks Davey! Yea it’s pretty egregious, you’ll hear it immediately

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2024


32013 Comments


Interesting review intro for sure.

Album is being hyped everywhere and honestly Hawks is right, is not that good.

UniverseCalling
January 28th 2024


107 Comments


This doesn’t seem super generic to me, if anything, it seems like a pretty strong infusion of metallic hardcore into melodeath with nice results.

frozencarl
January 28th 2024


1603 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

yea the intro is pretty dumb lmao



I mean its a big generic but its executed well, think it'll sound fantastic in a live setting

veninblazer
January 28th 2024


16835 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah uh, I was interested because Foreign Hands hyped this, but it feels really same-y.

Odal
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2024


1945 Comments


I'm a few songs in and enjoying it so far.

It's nice to have some bands still lighting the og melo-death torch. Dark Tranquility, In Flames, and At The Gates have all sorta set off away from that sound and this is done well enough. It's such a retro vibe that it sounds fairly unique to me, at least in this moment in time. It's very bombastic and show-y in a way that bands really steer away from now.

Also, seeing a Shadows Fall feature in 2024 is kinda crazy ngl lol

BallsToTheWall
January 28th 2024


51216 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I’d rate this higher but good review.

Hawks
January 28th 2024


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Wish I dug this as much as u, Inveigh and Maniac y'all seem to love it. :[

frozencarl
January 28th 2024


1603 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

some of the guys in this band were in a different melodeath band before this that imo was much better:



https://vaelmyst.bandcamp.com/album/secrypts-of-the-egochasm





ToSmokMuzyki
January 28th 2024


10469 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

dat ASS

suppatime
January 29th 2024


1800 Comments


Boobs

ChaoticVortex
January 29th 2024


1580 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Bit same-y in terms of riffs and song structure, but I like the dirty, more rough production and the guitar work. Some decent melodeath shredding, good way to start off the year.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy