Lucifer (DE)
Lucifer V


4.0
excellent

Review

by Dewinged STAFF
January 26th, 2024 | 32 replies


Release Date: 01/26/2024 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Devil wears spandex.

It has taken five albums for Lucifer to win me over. It’s actually surprising, because the band led by the imposing and diabolic charms of Johanna Sadonis, who is an entire character all by herself, is the kind of act I would easily fall for. For some reason, something in their previous albums didn’t feel quite right for me. It was like the Devil was trying too hard to be the Devil, and so their cover was blown before they even muttered a word. Lucifer have always based their style in other, very specific bands, and while that is still the case on their fifth release, with this record they have somehow managed to distil it in a way that feels more personal, elaborated, and impactful.

So yes, Lucifer still sounds like the midnight spawn of Black Sabbath and Blue Oyster Cult, with Sadonis’ vocals acting like the spectral allure that would drag you to her coffin so she could drink blood juice straight from your neck with a straw. Her vocals are the main focus on this record, to the point that I actually have to make a conscious effort to hear anything else. Her tone is tailored perfectly for Lucifer, and on this new album she has managed to amp her performance considerably, singing with way more confidence, and becoming an essential component for the band.

The rest of Lucifer don’t fall behind either. Guitars sound straight out from the late 60s, spitting fierce riffs and raging solos as well as providing a whole blanket of melodies for Sadonis to make her magic. The same goes for the rhythm section of Harald Göthblad and Nicke Andersson, making their presence felt without stealing too much attention from the rest of the instruments, and carrying every track with steady resolve (except that intro fill for “Maculate Heart”, which I needed to play over and over slapping my knee and laughing like a manic for a couple of minutes.)

The album is really well balanced too, blasting open with the emblematic “Fallen Angel” and following through with a Sabbathesque AOR banger like “At the Mortuary”, making a quick and effective one-two punch that invites endless replays. The singles are placed at the heart of the album, with “A Coffin Has No Silver Lining” quickly becoming my favorite Lucifer song by the minute. “Slow Dance in a Crypt” and ”Nothing Left to Lose But My Life” are shrouded in dark and gloomy blues, the last one closing the album while howls in the distance signal the end as the track fades out like a dying moon. The version available on streaming also includes a couple of radio edits for “At the Mortuary” and “Maculate Heart”, which I usually avoid playing because they don’t really belong to the original concept of the album; but if you have the patience of a tik toker, hereby be known, that they exist.

In conclusion, hats off to Lucifer for creating an album that can finally go shoulder to shoulder with other big releases of the same devilish nature as last year’s Blood Ceremony, gifted to us, mortals, early in the year so we can recreate in its pleasures until Judgement Day. If the Devil would allow me a final wish in exchange of my poor and worthless soul, I think that at this point it would also be interesting to see the band adventuring in uncharted territory. It’s crystal clear that with Lucifer V the German/Swedish gang have found their ground and refined their sound like neve before, but why would the fallen angel be satisfied with a little praise, when they could have it all?




Recent reviews by this author
Suldusk AnthesisChapel of Disease Echoes of Light
Chelsea Wolfe She Reaches Out to She Reaches Out to SheRhun (USA-ME) Conveyance In Death
Slift IlionSprints Letter to Self
user ratings (19)
3.5
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2024


32013 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Inb4 PsychicChris steals my thunder.



Great album, at last.



Jam: https://luciferofficial.bandcamp.com/album/lucifer-v

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2024


10698 Comments


Jammed only "Fallen Angel" and Sadonis sounds like a female version of David Byron, great falsettos all over the song.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2024


32013 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

She's so great on this.



And yeah Voivod, those Aaaah(s) on the opener are 100% Byron!

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2024


10698 Comments


It's obvious she practiced a lot to sing like this, kudos to her.

Album is great, reminds me of the first The Devil's Blood LP, with all analogies accounted for.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2024


32013 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I knew there was a name that I couldn't remember, the Devil's Blood, that's right. I've only heard the second one from them, it seems I'm gonna have to do quick detour to their debut.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2024


10698 Comments


^^The Time of No Time Evermore is an occult rock classic of the naughts.

manosg
Emeritus
January 26th 2024


12707 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not the biggest fan of this band from the bits and pieces I've heard, but this is really enjoyable.



Great read as always, Dewi.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2024


32013 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You bless this thread with your presence manosg.



Thanks brother.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
January 27th 2024


32013 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The beginning of Coffin sounds like Poison's Fallen Angel, lol for a second I thought it was gonna be a cover.



Now that I think about it that would be amazing.

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
January 27th 2024


18241 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this is very fun

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2024


32013 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It really is! Too bad Sput seems to have little interest on it.

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2024


18241 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i get massive maiden/sabbath vibes from this. might bump higher if it maintains with more spins.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2024


32013 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First track is very maiden, then second mixes sabbath with 80s hard rock, then they sound like Ghost... It's all over the place but it sounds unmistakably like Lucifer. I'm liking it more and more with every spin.

Muzz79
January 28th 2024


3021 Comments


Lucifer 1 was a revelation but the subsequent ones haven’t been as good imo. But you def make a case here Dewi

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2024


32013 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I kinda always passed on their other albums cause they all failed to grab me. This one reminds me a lot of the last Blood Ceremony one which I loved last year.



This one just has way better songs than any of their previous albums.

Lichtbringer
January 28th 2024


1142 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

been a fan of their earlier stuff for a while but somewhat lost interest along the way. i'll definitely check this out though, nice review

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2024


32013 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Tx Licht!

Araz
January 29th 2024


12 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Enjoyed the album a lot and probably will completely forget its existence in couple of weeks.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2024


32013 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well that's life isn't it.



I think I'll come back to it more than once this year though.

Lichtbringer
January 30th 2024


1142 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is pretty great. i'll certainly be returning to it as well!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy