Dream Unending/Worm
Starpath


4.0
excellent

Review

by Gary STAFF
November 5th, 2023 | 30 replies


Release Date: 10/20/2023 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Winner combo.

When I heard the news about Dream Unending and Worm collaborating for a split release, I was extremely happy. The reason is simple: I believe both bands are in really good shape, and their approaches within this psychedelic/atmospheric direction, albeit in their own styles, seemed like a good reason to merge their forces. I’d say it was a match made in heaven, even though Worm’s style has shifted away from their death/doom phase towards (back) to black metal lately. Nonetheless, the opportunity for a synergic split release was there, and in the form of Starpath it’s finally here.

In Starpath, both sides turned out a bit different from what I expected. ‘Side Dream Unending’ feels more experimental and lighter, reminiscent of their latest release, Song of Salvation. The balance between the psychedelic/space rock-inspired airy melodies and the "spacious" and rumbling death/doom riffages doesn’t seem to have changed much. Their two songs, “So Many Chances” and “If Not Now When,” represent the extremities of the band’s sound: the light and the heavy, respectively. However, in my opinion, even the “heavier” track (“If Not Now When”) feels a tad lighter than expected. Everything on this side is subordinated to the psychedelic vibe and dream-like flow, especially in “So Many Chances,” which features great solos and some clean vocals. The result reminds me of something the guitar-wizard Brent Hinds from Mastodon would do.

‘Side Worm’ also introduced some new tricks. In my opinion, their style has evolved significantly. I was among those who warmly welcomed their experiments in atmospheric black metal in Bluenothing last year, so my expectations were high. Fortunately, Worm did not disappoint. While they didn't bring as much epicness and tremolos, this psychedelic-centric “new” sound is truly enjoyable too. Picture this: a blend of their swampy and mystical death/doom formula, spiced with a touch of black metal (some tremolo riffs and shrieks), and an abundance of death rock elements (think chorus/vibrato guitar sound effects, clean guitars, and odd synth lines). I personally enjoyed this stylistic transition in “Sea of Sorrow” the most, with its spooky (almost gothic) vibe, making it a huge jam.

If you're seeking a great psychedelic album and don’t mind a bit of death/doom or black metal, then Starpath is something you should try.



Recent reviews by this author
Coffin Storm Arcana RisingNemedian Chronicles The Savage Sword
Necrowretch Swords of DajjalWizards of Aldur Magician's Gambit
DVVAD MRKLBXasthur Inevitably Dark
user ratings (58)
3.7
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
garas
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2023


8027 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Somebody had to do it. Full album stream on 20 Bucks Spin's YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UZsaXimz9tk

Wizard
November 5th 2023


20508 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well written review!



I feel Dream Unending was kind of like a once-and-done collaboration. They said what needed to be said on Tide Turns Eternal and then more of the same....That album is still the best thing from 2021 in metal.



This was my first exposure to Worm, probably should check them out more considering 20 Buck Spin fucking rules.





Hyperion1001
Emeritus
November 5th 2023


25695 Comments


foreverglade was one of the best death/doom albums in recent memory so def check it out.

dream unending it lame though sorry wiz. tomb mold guy cannot write an engaging tune to save his life.

DarkSideOfLucca
November 5th 2023


17521 Comments


yeah foreverglade is like in my top 3 dm albums of the past decade

dream unending also rules tho

This feels like it was made for me, but I have like NO FUCKING TIME TO DIGEST ANY MUSIC, GODDAMNIT 2023 SLOW THE FUCK DOWN

evilford
November 6th 2023


63880 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Agreed on dream unending, they wore off real fast





metalphil
November 6th 2023


701 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Definitely needed a review. I love this release, both Dream Unending and Worm have some great stuff here.



Worm's tracks are a step up from their last EP but I still think their best is Foreverglade, that album is fucking sick.



Dream Unending is awesome and you can definitely see some of Derrick Vella's work on this project bleeding over into Tomb Mold as well, which I personally think is great.

Hawks
November 6th 2023


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Nice bro! Love this split ahrd. M///

Verdr
November 6th 2023


121 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really good yeah

Hawks
November 6th 2023


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Fuck man Worm is so damn good. Becoming one of my all time fav bands so ahrd.

DarkSideOfLucca
November 6th 2023


17521 Comments


Agreed, Hawks - Foreverglade is already in my top 20 or 25 death metal albums ever

The atmosphere is just so fucking gross, I love it

Tomb Mold and a few others are also crawling their way up there

Hawks
November 6th 2023


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah bro Foreverglade might be a 5 for me. It's damn close.

DarkSideOfLucca
November 6th 2023


17521 Comments


Oh it's a hard 5 for me my dude

One of my favorites in the past decade for that genre, can't really ask for more with that album tbh

Hawks
November 6th 2023


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Agreed ahrd. M///

Verdr
November 6th 2023


121 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Will have to check out some more Worm this was great first impression

Hawks
November 6th 2023


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

All their stuff ripz. Early stuff (first album and demo) is raw bm just fyi.

Verdr
November 6th 2023


121 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Say no more LMAO, love me some BM

DDDeftoneDDD
November 6th 2023


22079 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed. Foreverglade was an easy 4.5 for me.



Also dug dream unending, so I think this will be a blast.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
November 6th 2023


32013 Comments


What a combo. Great write-up garas.

Space Jester
November 8th 2023


10977 Comments


Thought this was ok

DDDeftoneDDD
November 10th 2023


22079 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Worm s gothic section are really yuumy



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy