The Callous Daoboys
God Smiles Upon the Callous Daoboys


3.8
excellent

Review

by Tyler White STAFF
October 30th, 2023 | 67 replies


Release Date: 10/20/2023 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Eight Years Gone

Do you see that? Up there in the sky! God is smiling. Why is he smiling? Could it be The Callous Daoboys? Their wacky, zany attitude and chaotic songwriting must be pleasing to the man upstairs. After arguably the best album last year, Celebrity Therapist, there is a lot the Daoboys have to live up to, which is tough to do in just three songs. “Pushing The Pink Envelope” embodies their wild style in an even more confusing back-and-forth pacing than they’ve come to be known for. Transitioning abruptly and (almost) disjointedly from metalcore to jazz to techno breaks and even including a catchy chorus, the song doesn’t take itself seriously, even more so than what they’ve done in efforts prior. An even greater change lies in lead single “Waco Jesus,” opting for less math and more (not math) formula. The post-hardcore-esque jam is entirely simplistic in nature compared to what they’ve done, which comes off somewhat conflicting. The song is infectious and still maintains that sense of zaniness, but it just lacks that manic madness that sets the Daoboys apart and sort of leaves them creating a run-of-the-mill track yet nonetheless effective in nature. “Designer Shroud of Turin” brings us back to that unserious attitude, with its disjointed sections with dissonant riffing mixed with shouted rapping, a chromatic saxophone, and … bossa nova? Look, I don’t know what’s going on, but it’s fun, heavy, and catchy. What I do know, however, is it just feels like something is missing for this three song EP. The Daoboys have become known for not just their vibrant personas that are found prevalent here, but also for their fluid songwriting that isn’t as strongly emphasized here. The tracks here are beyond fun, but there is a lot of musical whiplash that doesn’t have too much resolve, unlike what they excelled with on their past efforts. Nonetheless, what we have here is something that is genuinely fun, even if there isn’t too much underlying substance to latch on to. At the end of the day, God is still smiling, and so am I.



Recent reviews by this author
Wage War StigmaFour Stroke Baron Data Diamond
One Step Closer All You EmbraceDiamond Construct Angel Killer Zero
Greyhaven Stereo GriefNight Verses Every Sound Has a Color...: Part II
user ratings (136)
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
Zac124 (3.5)
Expectations can be cruel....



Comments:Add a Comment 
tyman128
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2023


4546 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

A short one for number 100



I still really enjoy the songs here a lot, but as a whole, it feels like a collection of moments sadly... but those moments truly are fun

calmrose
October 30th 2023


6839 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yo congrats on the big hundo tyman



i unfortunately am not really feeling this, but honestly think it's more with this type of core wearing off me more than anything, though I don't think these songs are particularly strong either, so a combo of both

AnimalForce1
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2023


864 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ay, congrats on the 100!



I would've loved this EP way more if it was longer. I enjoy all the songs fine enough though

tyman128
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2023


4546 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Thank you!

Yeah, the songs aren't their best material (too disjointed like I said), but it would be great to have had it longer and more focused

SteakByrnes
October 30th 2023


30036 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

righteous review hell yea 100



too bad ep is mid lol lmao!

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2023


60953 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

2.5s only itt lfg

calmrose
October 30th 2023


6839 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yeet

trilo
October 30th 2023


6396 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

reporting for duty

calmrose
October 30th 2023


6839 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

awwwwwwwww yeah we got the homie trilo

AlexKzillion
October 30th 2023


17468 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

we out here



i like how i have a much more negative rating but still completely agree with this review

calmrose
October 30th 2023


6839 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

let's gooooooooooooo

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2023


60953 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

damn awesome, unexpected trilo post what are we eating

botb
October 30th 2023


18001 Comments


This band gives me second hand embarrassment and I’m not sure why

YoYoMancuso
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2023


18955 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

centenarian moment

botb
October 30th 2023


18001 Comments


maybe it’s because they remind me of the weird christcore mountain kids that used to come to shows around here

Mort.
October 30th 2023


25665 Comments


lol may be quite accurate considering the vocalist came on stage at zaos furnace fest set

tyman128
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2023


4546 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

"i like how i have a much more negative rating but still completely agree with this review"

Call it my Daoboys forgiving bias 😎

nash1311
October 30th 2023


8233 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Am I allowed to the 2.5 party? I feel like I’ll be joined eventually 😂

FrozenFirebug
October 30th 2023


929 Comments


band is a 2.5 but deserves spite 1.0s for being shilled hard on every music site despite sucking ass

nash1311
October 30th 2023


8233 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Based bug



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy