Molecular Corporation
Millions of Dead Menposters


4.9
classic

Review

by jesper STAFF
October 25th, 2023 | 181 replies


Release Date: 10/26/2023 | Tracklist

Review Summary: dinosaur old cold hill you doubt out me

It’s late, it’s dark. Rain is falling around me, each raindrop a helpless victim of gravity as it plummets to the lowest point possible. I’m cold, I’m wet. Each step feels like a thousand strides, slowly guiding me to my lowest point yet. As I close my eyes, an overwhelming sense of numbness floods my brain. Nothing has ever felt more daunting, nothing has ever felt this incomprehensibly impossible. I persist.

My mind is barely hanging on, desperately flicking through memories to help me stay in motion. As pictures blur and fragments dwindle, one date permeates. October 24th, 2023. The day I listened to Millions of Dead Menposters. I reflect on the way Hobo Sapiens’ opening cut is undoubtedly a song with a beat and several lyrics. I remember how Wet Velvet’s “Sheer” captured my attention with its ethereal post punk vibes and endearing vocals. I consider the unique sequencing of the record as Kelsey Strombopalys’ track perfectly synced up with my washing machine slowly succumbing to the thriving caulk buildup.

I won’t succumb. I will get through this.

Rocxo and Bugg:P’s collaborative “Homegrown” allowed me to breathe, even as the chorus hook demanded all available oxygen to itself. Subsequently, Theophany’s transformed any remaining gases into a black metal cut that sounds at least as good as any other song with thirty seconds of straight silence as an outro. Similarly, Self Twelve’s contribution is something that needs to be experienced - not listened to. Nightmare Puppy’s “My Cosmos Your Babychild” is straight up garbage and sounds like the kind of song created by someone who’d force me to listen to excruciatingly long albums on more than one occasion. Admittedly, it also sounds like a song created by someone who understands the value of community unlike anyone else.

I won’t die. We will get through this.

Nothing could have prepared me for Visit Kalvhaga’s seminal “Morris Black”; its tones working their way into my head as they played for multiple minutes. Marcus Crowe’s instrumental piece feels driving, energetic, and perfectly complements the beautiful dying cat-isms of Creelweaver’s “Kaloma”. Space, I need space. Pizzamachine continues embodying neither man nor machine on “Digits”, its frantic textures most definitely constituting textures. A break, I need a break. AYFA offers a break. It’s serene, it’s peaceful, it’s beautiful.

What is more beautiful than community?

My feet tremble at the memory of A Slow Descent’s excellent “Robert Durst on Meth”. It’s a quiver, it’s a shake: it’s motion. One could even argue it’s as dynamic as Endling’s shift into minimal ambient house on “The Art of Pulling Rabbits From a Hat”, quite possibly the best song on Millions of Dead Menposters. Similarly, Belovdd’s embracing of epic metal vocal tutorial (learn how to scream quick) and toy keyboard presets is undeniably crunk and nothing short of mesmerising.

What is more mesmerising than love?

Thank god for BetweentheSkye. I love “Hypertrance”. Cromulent’s contribution is equally excellent, exemplifying what dungeon synth would sound like if it didn’t sound like absolutely terrible and like kids music. Time is running out. “Concave Love” by The Heist Revenge does not feel like love, but it does feel good. Perhaps it feels like sex. I wouldn’t know, I’m on Sputnikmusic dot com. Speaking of long things, Serene Paralysis’ song is, in fact, long. I am getting close. Closer. “Relax/Contract” by Feel Alright might have been recorded in that one submarine full of dead billionaires. Dead menposters? Millions of them.

So close. So close. So close.

The home stretch. Perhaps I can stretch until home. “Let Down” is a song by Stardust. I love the vocal production, probably. Closing cut “Into the Blaze” by Waves Ablaze is the song that ends the album Millions of Dead Menposters by Molecular Corporation also known as a slice of the Sputnikmusic dot com community. It is over. I am home. Community is love is beautiful is nice. Fuck.

I can rest. I let it in. And it took everything.



Recent reviews by this author
Bathe Alone I Don't Do HumidityDIIV Frog In Boiling Water
Graywave Dancing in the DustBring Me The Horizon POST HUMAN: NeX GEn
Knocked Loose You Won't Go Before You're Supposed ToBladee Cold Visions
user ratings (33)
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
pizzamachine (5)
evolution turns again...



Comments:Add a Comment 
Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2023


5974 Comments


Oh, the humanity! Spare a thought today and everyday for the hordes of slain menposters.

Review is "what am I reading?" entertainment, presumably exactly what this album deserves.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2023


60893 Comments

Album Rating: 4.9

4.9 TODAY JAM TOMORROW

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2023


5504 Comments

Album Rating: 4.9

excellent rating distribution thus far

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2023


5974 Comments


Millions Now Menposting Will Never Die

CugnoBrasso
October 25th 2023


2750 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hobo Sapiens told me that he may or may not make a lyric video but don't tell anyone!

Demon of the Fall
October 25th 2023


34317 Comments


so what exactly is this? 😂

saw it on the new release schedule, shit is real(?!) 🤔

Demon of the Fall
October 25th 2023


34317 Comments


so what exactly is this? Genuine primo memecore in Sput’s holy name, or just a coincidence. Let’s find out (hopefully)

saw it on the new release schedule, shit is real(?!) 🤔

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2023


10270 Comments


is the shit, real? is the shit, shit? real shit? shit, real? real, real?

tyman128
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2023


4539 Comments

Album Rating: 4.9

"4.9 TODAY JAM TOMORROW" [2]

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2023


10270 Comments


BNM

DadKungFu
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2023


4974 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Oh shit the end is nigh

SomeCallMeTim
October 25th 2023


4201 Comments


b
a
s
e
d


CugnoBrasso
October 25th 2023


2750 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Artwork is flawless, props to whomever came up with the idea.

Kompys2000
Emeritus
October 25th 2023


9471 Comments

Album Rating: 4.9

Aoty

Judio!
October 25th 2023


8496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

review made me smile hard lmao

DadKungFu
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2023


4974 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

damn kompys threw off that perfect distribution

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2023


60893 Comments

Album Rating: 4.9

komp i am mad



Dad and ffs i am withholding the BOUNTEOUS royalties this record has already generated from you both until further notice

Kompys2000
Emeritus
October 25th 2023


9471 Comments

Album Rating: 4.9

The only "perfect distribution" I am concerned with is the perfect distribution of RIFFS throughout this album

bellovddd
October 25th 2023


6355 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

easiest 5 on sput

Demon of the Fall
October 25th 2023


34317 Comments


The beginning of future site-wide collaborations shall begin here. Molecular Corporation looks to deliver high-quality music (per Sputnik standards: extremely low, of course), and to encourage collaborative efforts between fellow users

Nice, so where do I check?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy