Malfet
Dolorous Gard


3.8
excellent

Review

by Ben STAFF
October 20th, 2023 | 14 replies


Release Date: 10/06/2023 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Honour and Glory (and Hobbits)

What have we here, precious? Another dusty hymnal for the shelf, spine cracked and bleeding with tales of yore, each dew soaked and gleaming in sunrise pink? It would seem so, my love. After 3 years of silence, Malfet has returned, the Californian dungeon-synth-er once again peddling suspension of belief via the understated flutter of the triumphant. Mellotron, harp, flute, and organ remain the mossy stones upon which their 4th ode to elsewhere is built, presented in more spindly-somber shapes than 2020’s epic, Alban Arthan, but with no substantial dip in relief and respite. Quaint as ever, it too asks that you partake in its medieval illusion with earnestness, or kindly fuck off to another castle. There’s a whimsy here, you see; an unburdened soul, dorky and ornate and beaming; one that’ll wriggle away, abashed, should you examine it too closely, but which blooms brightly for those willing to embrace the silliness. Honour and glory awaits those who do.



Recent reviews by this author
Tony Conrad With Faust Outside The Dream SyndicateKing Gizzard and The Lizard Wizard Live at Red Rocks '22
Captain Jazz Captain JazzDanny Brown Quaranta
Fuming Mouth Last Day of SunYear of the Knife No Love Lost
user ratings (11)
4
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
October 20th 2023


10011 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

More of a PSA than a review but YAY more Malfet

NOTINTHEFACE
October 20th 2023


2142 Comments


I was wondering about these guys the other day and whether they had anything new since 2020. It's the perfect time of year for a new addition to their lovely discog.

TheTripP
October 20th 2023


4490 Comments


Is this good background music for gaming type stuff?

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
October 20th 2023


10011 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yes indeed it do be

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
October 20th 2023


10011 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fwiw his earlier stuff is better, but this is new and shiny, so, take your pick

Slex
October 20th 2023


16457 Comments


Love this project, need to check

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
October 20th 2023


26031 Comments


Thank u for this PSA (:

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
October 20th 2023


10011 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You are welcome Neek child I hope you are well

Pho3nix
October 20th 2023


1585 Comments


Should probably give this a listen, Malfet is one of those dungeon synth artists I was never really into

kevbogz
October 21st 2023


6086 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

*gimli voice* YESSSS

Hawks
October 22nd 2023


86681 Comments


Ohhhhhh new Malfet gotta jam asap! M///

BallsToTheWall
October 23rd 2023


51215 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This rules. Hearing Gandalf on the last track was super calming.

JakeStallion
November 5th 2023


651 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

slaps. Alban Arthan is likely my favorite dungeon synth release ever, so the fact this is nearly as good as me incredibly giddy. will no doubt be a mainstay in my tape deck for those quaint, somber autumn nights.

kevbogz
December 16th 2023


6086 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

YESSSSSSSSSSSS



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy