Harm's Way (USA-IL)
Common Suffering


3.5
great

Review

by Mike Kaplan STAFF
October 2nd, 2023 | 26 replies


Release Date: 09/29/2023 | Tracklist

Review Summary: No frills? No problem.

Do you like your riffs loud? Listen to this album. Do you like your music without frills? Listen to this album? Do you like your breakdowns absolutely filthy? Listen to this album. Do you like things like melody, mood, or dynamics? You won’t find much of them here, but honestly you will probably still have a good time listening to this album.

Common Suffering, the fifth offering from Harm’s Way is about as straightforward as a ruler. Riffs are and breakdowns churned out with machine-like efficiency that hits harder than a crowbar. There is only one volume—loud. There is only one emotion—angry. There are two speeds, slow and fast, with fast being the winner for the most part. Sounds simple? Yeah it is, but honestly sometimes that’s all you want or need—and for what Harm’s Way are trying to do, they nail it.

The melody and ambience laced through the album, while minimal, add variety and a sludgy feel that offsets the intensity. Tracks like “Undertow,” “Wanderer,” and “Terrorizer” introduce elements that uplift Harm’s Way from being a one-trick-pony. “Wanderer” specifically is an example of the band stretching beyond their normal bounds, with clean vocals and a deep ambience that is engaging and interesting. That being said, the album becomes a bit of a two-trick-pony. Is that a bad thing? Not really, it’s just not an album I’ll be listening to repeatedly.

Regardless, Common Suffering is a very solid offering that, while it’s a bit fickle, is very fun while it lasts.



Recent reviews by this author
Julian Lage Speak To MeBoundaries Death Is Little More
Weston Super Maim See You Tomorrow BabyBloom (AUS) Maybe in Another Life
Galleons Violent DelightsAmeonna Goddess Wept
user ratings (75)
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
goblinilbog (4)
Life is the price you pay...

related reviews

Isolation

Blinded

Posthuman


Comments:Add a Comment 
Manatea
Staff Reviewer
October 2nd 2023


1916 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Wow two in a month. I’m on a roll… good to write a bit again.

pizzamachine
October 2nd 2023


26984 Comments


Listening now to the moody dynamics and loud riffs. Wow this album is loud and angry and sometimes fast XD

Manatea
Staff Reviewer
October 2nd 2023


1916 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hah it’s a good time though!

pizzamachine
October 2nd 2023


26984 Comments


Yeah trve

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
October 2nd 2023


9997 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

can confirm good running album I punched my neighbour’s pet Guinea Pig on my way home

chronoclast
October 2nd 2023


49 Comments


I listened to this based on the track with King Woman. That track and “Wanderer” are great because they show some diversity. The rest is same-y.

SomeCallMeTim
October 2nd 2023


4047 Comments


gonna have to check this on the awesomeness of the artwork alone

Hawks
October 2nd 2023


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Gonna jam this ahrd.

goblinilbog
October 3rd 2023


1073 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is exactly what I wanted out of Harm's Way after the big wait. Every song lands.

BallsToTheWall
October 3rd 2023


51209 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Terrorizer makes

Me want to punch somebody in the dick.

goblinilbog
October 3rd 2023


1073 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This and Godflesh's new album are misanthropic core.

Manatea
Staff Reviewer
October 3rd 2023


1916 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah i lifted to this today and it helped ngl

kevbogz
October 3rd 2023


6086 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fuck me this rips

kevbogz
October 3rd 2023


6086 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

jeeeeeeeesus that closer

Hawks
October 3rd 2023


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Gonna jam tonight. m///

metalprofiteer
October 4th 2023


39 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

could not get into this like at all, big sad

bigweinerdon
October 4th 2023


2660 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Chuckin weight around with this on

Hawks
October 4th 2023


86681 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great stuff here men.

botb
October 4th 2023


17743 Comments


Need to give this a shot, the singles were pretty solid

MarsKid
Emeritus
October 4th 2023


21030 Comments


Nice to see some fresh Mana writing, hell yeah

This band's usually decent, might give em a shot if I get the time.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy