Follakzoid
V


3.5
great

Review

by Raul Stanciu STAFF
September 25th, 2023 | 18 replies


Release Date: 09/22/2023 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Late night minimal oblivion.

Föllakzoid have made a significant transition from their original acid infused krautrock to the minimal techno project you could hear lately. The original mindset is still there, the main goal being to create a mesmerizing, droning sound that could play forever in your head. It’s all about a groove to lose yourself into, whether stemming from the likes of Neu! or Can, as well as late night club mixes and even Muslimgauze type jamming. 2019’s I made a full move towards the electronic style, stripping away layers, so there was no turning back to rock. The latest record, V continues with the same approach, recording all sorts of sound scapes, guitars, bass and beats, in order to be cut and rearranged together with producer AtomTM. Sequencing them into four movements created another long form epic that’s meant to seamlessly flow into oblivion. The pulsing rhythm is a staple throughout their catalog (see III’s “Electric” or II's "Rio", for example) and the guitar notes run along with it most of the time. Also, the synth bass augments with deep notes, especially during the first tune. Coincidentally, it is the most melodic and straightforward overall.

From there, the shape shifting ensues. “V-II” toys with the percussive elements and blends the guitar string squeaks into the beat. Towards the end several vocal samples appear, seguing into the third cut, perhaps the most minimal sounding of all four. The gradual progressions are attentively mixed, each instrument coming to the forefront or fading out at any moment. On “V-III”, most of them are muted except for a round of jerky notes over the main beat and bass bursts. There is no defined pattern, they just went by feel when combining them. The final segment keeps the club vibe going through more delayed beats and vocal bits. The initial sonic motifs make a slight return, but they are soon drowned in endless percussion waves. Deconstruction is the preferred process, stripping parts with each track. While I enjoy Föllakzoid’s mindset and am eager to hear each new LP, they are headed down a rabbit hole with their music. Occasionally, it becomes exhausting, making it hard to finish listening V in one go. Nevertheless, when it clicks, it definitely sparks joy.




Recent reviews by this author
Monkey3 Welcome to the MachineThe Pineapple Thief It Leads To This
Vennart Forgiveness and The GrainKMFDM Let Go
No-Man Swagger: Lost Not Lost Vol. 1, 1989-1990Gruff Rhys Sadness Sets Me Free
user ratings (10)
3.2
good


Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2023


6139 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Always a pleasure to listen to Follakzoid. Still, those who listened to the early records and enjoyed them, might feel alienated by now.



Stream here - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X-PNNeBMrjY&list=OLAK5uy_m8h2h62pJsZF6Pz1e6hHmT39_NZXXPmto&ab_channel=F%C3%B6llakzoid-Topic

Trifolium
September 25th 2023


38541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oooooooh yeeeeaaaah I loved I, very much getting on this ASAP!

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2023


6139 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's a direct continuation of I, with maybe a biit more variation?

Trifolium
September 26th 2023


38541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, having heard it only once so far, I think so too. Very glad about that for I loved the last one very much.



I guess it's like you say, that if you are more into their earlier stuff this one is still disappointing. Luckily for me, I'm in the opposite camp!

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2023


6139 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Same here, I listened more to the latest albums rather than the first two. III is a favorite being somewhere in the middle music wise.

Trifolium
September 26th 2023


38541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ooh nice, will check that one too then. Only heard II, which I liked but won't come back to much because I reeeaaaalllyy scratches that itch super well, and with V being here now, I don't see that change any time soon.



But I will check III then, that sounds interesting!



Really enjoy this album, ordered a copy! Glad you reviewed it too!

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2023


6139 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Electric" off III is the basis IMO for these last couple of albums. I saw on Youtube a full performance from a festival where they played for 1 hour a mix of Electric and what they did with I lol. It was a test for the audience for sure. I hope I can catch them on this European tour they start next month, fingers crossed!



http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=68JvQ-7Aw90

Trifolium
September 26th 2023


38541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ooooh yeah would be super lovely to see them live! I'll keep my ears and eyes open as well.

Oh wait, I see there are two upcoming shows in NL but I'm unable to go 😭



Reeeeaaaally enjoying this one, has been on repeat the whole day so far. Love how you never want this stuff to end, really. It could go on forever and leave me very happy.



I'll check out that vid! Sounds interesting for sure to hear the genesis of this lovely style.

RustCohle
September 26th 2023


422 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Loved their old krautrock stuff, but this is a pain to my ears.

Cygnatti
September 26th 2023


36004 Comments


Their old stuff is cool, gotta peep.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2023


6139 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Since then it kind of became a solo project, only the guitar player is left.

FrozenFirebug
September 26th 2023


746 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

my favorite part is at the 7~ minute mark on track 2 when the robot voice says "pussy cum in dicks and cocks semen dicks and cock corsica dicks and cola dicks and states semen dicks inhaling a corsica pussy steaks" over and over again in different sequencing

thought provoking stuff

FrozenFirebug
September 26th 2023


746 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Alright jokes aside this was a pleasant listen (like 3.8 tier) until the squeaking started on the fourth track... and then that squeaking phased out and was replaced with an even more annoying pitch not a minute later.

Why self sabotage like that? It adds nothing. Horrid fucking noise.

Trifolium
September 27th 2023


38541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

3.8 tier all the way, maybe even higher!



Loving this a lot.

Hawks
September 27th 2023


84750 Comments


Jamming this now. m///

Trifolium
October 2nd 2023


38541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Same.

Mulend
November 8th 2023


1 Comments


I really like this album. I wish the house of hazards game would have its own album because I really like this game.

Trifolium
February 22nd 2024


38541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah this is still lovely.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy