Powerman 5000
Destroy What You Enjoy


1.5
very poor

Review

by DarkLordCheesy USER (4 Reviews)
August 16th, 2006 | 19 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist


Before anything is said about the album I would like it to be known that I am a fan of Powerman 5000. “Transform” and “Tonight the Stars Revolt” were fantastic CDs. However, their newest CD “Destroy what you enjoy” falls far short of their former releases.

The main Problem I have with the CD is the fact that the music doesn’t seem to have been written by the same person the whole way through. It’s very eclectic, in that it switches from basic rock in the song “Destroy What You Enjoy,” to something that sounds almost like The Killers in “Wild World,” to a Hip-Hop feel in “Construction of the Masses, Parts 1&2,” to something I can only describe as truck stop country in “Miss America.”

In “Tonight the Stars Revolt” the lead singer had a very good grind to his voice, something that truly made him stand out in my mind, but in “Destroy What You Enjoy” he loses that grind to go for a more acceptable tone. It seems to lose the originality of the voice when this goes, to point where it doesn’t even sound like the same person.

Even the music seems to have completely changed tones between their former albums and this one. At one time they kept a very metal-like feel to the music, but it seems they’ve ditched that in “Destroy What You Enjoy” for more of a Punk feel. More than anything else, I suppose I could most closely relate about half the songs on this CD to something similar to The Offspring’s later work, especially in songs such as “Return to the City of the Dead,” and “Murder.”

Honestly I can’t really recommend this one, unless of course you are a diehard fan on Powerman 5000, and your life will not be complete until you own all of their CDs. So unless you are in this situation, and your mental health and happiness is at stake if you don’t have a copy, don’t buy it. I would even say you should avoid this one if you are a fan of Powerman, just listen to “Tonight the Stars Revolt” and pretend that they still sound that good.


user ratings (82)
Chart.
2.3
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
DarkLordCheesy
August 16th 2006


16 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

sorry for the how short the review was, but I think I got my point across.

The Jungler
August 16th 2006


4826 Comments


Reviews don't have to be long, to be good. This review isn't bad, but I don't think the fact that it is eclectic is a valid enough reason for giving the album a 1.5

DarkLordCheesy
August 16th 2006


16 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

well...I mainly gave it such a low score because I'm a fan of older Powerman. This album really didn't live up to my expectations. It was just plain bad compared to their older work, but I suppose if you were a fan of modern Punk the CD would be alright.

f_u_c_t
August 16th 2006


1406 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i was actually going to pick this up in a couple days and review it, since i just got done reviewing "Tonight The Stars Revolt." But you beat me to it, it could've used more info and maybe more specific detail, but not a bad effort. Maybe I'll pick up a dif. p-5000 album.

DarkLordCheesy
August 16th 2006


16 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

that's what I'd reccomend bossman, what kind of extra detail would you like to know about the CD? I'd like to hear feedback like this for future reviews.

f_u_c_t
August 16th 2006


1406 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

do they give out any solo's in this album, the lead singer doesnt have that grind in his voice...so what does he sound like...does he scream any? maybe you can describe the songs a little bit more...recommended tracks? the possibilities can go on forever.

DarkLordCheesy
August 16th 2006


16 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

hmmm...good point, I'll keep that in mind next review. Thanks for the input.

f_u_c_t
August 16th 2006


1406 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

no problem

Storm In A Teacup
August 16th 2006


22467 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

No way I'm not getting this. I just don't know when that will be though.

south_of_heaven 11
August 16th 2006


5497 Comments


I'll probably check this out too...Powerman is so damn catchy...

f_u_c_t
August 27th 2006


1406 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

well i def. underrestimated this new release. It was alot better than i thought it would be. Wild World, Heroes And Villians, and Miss America was pretty cool.

washello
October 7th 2006


1 Comments


i wanted to get this one because of terry carso.... would it be a big mistake?

DarkLordCheesy
October 9th 2006


16 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I'm not so sure if it would be or not...I hated this CD, but it seems that other people enjoyed it, so it must be a matter of personal preference...I'd say listen to it before you buy it.

Iamtheafterburn
November 8th 2006


2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

DWYE is an album that was supposed to not live up to many people's expectations. As in Spider's own words, the album was meant to piss people off. PM5K is an ever changing band from doing one thing to the other. Just like the entire space suit kind of thing when Tonight the Stars Revolt hit and then to the more to the rock look with the denim jackets and casual kind of look.. it was a very big transition. But now, DWYE is a mock of albums. Nowadays what you hear from most artists and bands have the crisp and clear sounds defined to almost perfection to what they hear, DWYE just disreguards that. When you listen to DWYE, you're hearing off beat drums, wrong guitar notes, out of tune bass tabs and just the stripped down rock 'n roll album. As DWYE is listened to, the listeners are sometimes brought back to the 1980s theme of music. Just listen to Enemies, it brings back some sounds from then but many couldn't put their finger on it. I just guess these qualities is what makes DWYE so fantastic in my opinion. But the step PM5K took with this album was so unexpected I honestly didn't like it at first. Honestly, I hated it.. but then it grew on me and I can't stop listening to it. People are like it's good, it's bad, can't stop listening to it, can't stand it, don't really care and it's how this album was perceived to be made and how it was produced. Spider and the crew did a really good job at portraying this album for what it was and are doing it with their current live shows.. I saw them on September 28th and damn what a fucking awesome show it was and I loved it. DWYE marks a new direction for PM5K to what I think, to what whoever knows, but whatever it is I look forward to it and am expecting some change.



Bottom line is I love DWYE. Yeah, the sound is different and people are more adept to listening to the same kind of sound a band does from album to album with little change over time. It's why Anyone for Doomsday? was cancelled, Spider thought it sounded too much like TTSR! and thus it was cancelled and transform was made.



My two cents.

burton.and.gas
November 8th 2006


641 Comments


if a band chanegs their soudn within one album in a very original way st cool, i know these guy and doubt they are capable of that level of originality. but i only know two songs so i coudl be being mean (the songs are on a wrestling game)

Iamtheafterburn
November 8th 2006


2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Not capable of originality? How ignorant are you?

iarescientists
November 8th 2006


5865 Comments


Iamtheafterburn, I'm not sure if that rant was really worth making a comment. You probably should have saved it to write a sound off, or a whole review.

At least if that's how strongly I felt about something, that's what I would have done.

Tinman
April 10th 2007


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is just fun to listen to. I feel like PM5K have always thrived off going in new directions, and this is certainly new. I mean, you say you like Powerman's old stuff, but have you hear their OLD stuff? Have you listened to to True Force, or Mega! Kung Fu Radio? You said you like TTSR! and Transform, well, you don't sound like a huge Powerman fan as those make up not even half of their realeased material. No offense. And in MY opinion, TTSR! is their most out of character album. DWYE has just opened up new doors for PM5K. They have proven that they can do punk better than anyone else in our country, and the lyrics for this album are just great. Miss America is so sarcastic it's awesome. I completely agree with Iamtheafterburn. And as for burton.and.gas...well...maybe if you learn how to use a keyboard then people will take you seriously, but until then just try to keep away from the computer and your own opinion.

Tinman
April 10th 2007


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Also, the drastic change in sound has to be considered alongside the fact that everyone except for Spider from the Powerman of Transform is now gone. There is an entirely new line-up. Not sure if it's a better line-up yet or not.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy