Uhr
Salathiel Harms


4.5
superb

Review

by SandwichBubble USER (83 Reviews)
August 25th, 2023 | 21 replies


Release Date: 08/24/2023 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Manchester post-punkers Uhr dance first and think later, to great success.

For the uncultured among us (myself included) who don’t know who or what a “Salathiel Harms” is, it’s apparently the name of a character from the 70s crime drama series Kojak. What does that have to do with anything? No clue. But after listening to Uhr’s fantasitc debut mini-album/EP/whatever, you probably won’t care about inconsequential things like that. Once again, in what seems like a monthly tradition at this point, a newer act I found on Bandcamp has utterly captivated me with little more than noisy guitars, brash drums, and a pinch of plucky punk energy. I’ve said on multiple occasions that when it comes to music, I’m actually relatively easy to please. Give me some fast-paced post-punk and I’m set. That’s really all there is to it.

The closest comparison I can come up with sound-wise for Uhr’s sound is if you took every great 2000s post-punk revival/dance-punk release, boiled them down to their barest components, and then blended it with some art punk (for taste). The result might be less tart than you might be used to, but the trade-off is that it goes down surprisingly smooth. Impressively smooth, actually. One of the record’s best attributes is how accessible it is. Every track is bursting at the seems with memorable guitar lines and hooks. And while the lyrics are all but (intentional) surrealist nonsense to my ears, they’re damn fun to chant along to. I don’t know very much about the band’s members, but they work together well on this record. You can tell they’ve been polishing this set for a few years before finally deciding to put it to tape and the album’s all the better for it. You might hear an album like this, what with the noisy feedback and sporadic vocals, and assume that these guys are amateurs. But frankly, this is as tightly produced as any pop record I’ve ever heard. Tracks like “Eskimo,” “Ugly Children,” and “Reason To” are testaments to this; tracks that (in a better world) would be alternative-radio-ready chart-toppers. Honestly, if some of the tracks weren’t so short, I’d give them all betting odds as fluke indie hits.

Speaking of, if there was a downside to Salathiel Harms, it’d be it’s incredibly short runtime (at just over 16 minutes). You’ve heard it time and time again, and you’re probably tired of hearing it, but that’s a good problem for a new band to have. Especially on their debut. Making super-stylized dance-punk like this is always a gamble, as it’s popularity seems to come and go as quick as the wind. But I think that gamble paid off for Uhr in spades on this record. A single play and you’re guaranteed to be hopping out of your seat and asking strangers to dance.



Recent reviews by this author
Faune Des FantômesBeirut Hadsel
Soft Water Middle GroundAnimal Collective Isn’t It Now?
Deeper Careful!Plastika Plastika
user ratings (10)
3.9
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
SandwichBubble
August 25th 2023


13796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Stream: https://uhr-fyi.bandcamp.com/album/salathiel-harms-2



Wake up, new album to slap a 3.0 on.

someone
Contributing Reviewer
August 25th 2023


6726 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Fine, I'll listen

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
August 25th 2023


6202 Comments


this sounds cool

SandwichBubble
August 25th 2023


13796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@someone

Leave some excitement for the rest of us, party animal.



@insomniac15

It really do.

MillionDead
August 25th 2023


5348 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oo yeah, this my kinda shit.

SandwichBubble
August 25th 2023


13796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice! Glad you dug it.

They really hit gold early with this one.

Pajolero
August 25th 2023


1440 Comments


Dis better be on Spotify

UPD: It's not ):

SandwichBubble
August 25th 2023


13796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not that they're really comparable, but Bandcamp is better anyway.

SomeCallMeTim
August 25th 2023


4276 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

bANDcamp web player sucks if you want to scroll to points in the song more than once, but i support bandcamp way more



this is cool, its dancy bri'ish modern posty punky kinda political nothing new, but really fun n good

SandwichBubble
August 25th 2023


13796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

True, but finding new bands is so much better on Bandcamp. Well worth the limited streaming capabilities.



And again, it's not directly comparable to spotify (and I hope it never is).

MillionDead
August 26th 2023


5348 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Crazy that it got acquired by Epic Games. Made me scared. I made this comparison of it feeling like Disney buying discogs. lol But as long as it stays the same and empowers artists, idc that much.

SandwichBubble
August 26th 2023


13796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hate to say it, but it's probably inevitable that they ruin it somehow. Big companies always find a way to take something completely fine and ruin it.

MillionDead
August 26th 2023


5348 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Expect the worst, hope for the best.

cylinder
August 27th 2023


2687 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sounds great

SandwichBubble
August 27th 2023


13796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm probably overrating it a bit, but it it does jam.

Nice ratings so far, maybe I'm not completely a lost cause.

SomeCallMeTim
August 27th 2023


4276 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you rate it however it makes you feel

SandwichBubble
August 28th 2023


13796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Feelings? Emotions? Sorry, I only consult the ancient scrolls.

someone
Contributing Reviewer
October 8th 2023


6726 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

bump cause i finally checked this and it be good truly

SandwichBubble
October 9th 2023


13796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice. Glad everyone that's checked it has seemed to dug it.

Pajolero
October 24th 2023


1440 Comments


This IS on Spotify now and it RULES, thanks for the review again Bubbles



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy