Motorpsycho
Yay!


4.0
excellent

Review

by Sunnyvale STAFF
June 19th, 2023 | 35 replies


Release Date: 06/16/2023 | Tracklist

Review Summary: New Motorpsycho? Yay!

To say that Motorpsycho has been busy lately feels like an understatement. The veteran band from Norway has been pumping out a full-length per year since 2019, and all that material ranks at least decently high within their lauded discography. With Yay!, the trend continues into 2023, although the group’s latest project marks both continuity and change.

Continuity first: Yay! demonstrates once more that Motorpsycho still brims with ideas and the ability to execute them at a high level (in the unlikely event that there remains any doubt). In terms of change, though, this latest record marks a dramatic shift from the group’s recent output. While albums like The All Is One andAncient Astronauts could be characterized as heavy-ish psych/prog, Yay! sees the band lean strongly into mellow folky psychedelia, a sound which isn’t absent from Motorpsycho’s previous works, but hasn’t been their focal point in quite a while.

As with any notable shift in musical direction, this transformation will please some fans and disappoint others. This is yet another quality record to emerge from Motorpsycho’s late era, but it scratches a very different itch than its recent predecessors. The deft sense of execution which the band tends to possess, though, remains intact. Opener “Cold & Bored” spells out what to expect with its easy-going and mildly trippy feel, while “Patterns” marks an early highlight with its pretty vocals and compelling closing guitar solo. Later on, “W.C.A” brings the pervasive ‘60s-influences even more to the forefront as one of the record’s strongest tracks. In the latter half of the album, “Hotel Daedalus” and “The Rapture” stand apart with their heavier textures - the former, in particular, wouldn’t have been out of place on Ancient Astronauts.

The key takeaway from this review should be to not go into Yay! expecting great grooves, headbanging material, or generally high-energy pieces (even though you’ll find all those attractions on rare occasions). Instead, this is a laid-back kind of record, inclined towards porch sitting or walks in the woods. There’s still plenty of exceptional musicianship on display, though, with the guitar work remaining immensely appealing. In addition, despite the mellowness of the material and the seemingly-throwaway album title, Yay! can be surprisingly emotionally potent upon occasion - the murmured line “I can see the light growing dim in your eyes” in the subdued and pretty “Real Again (Norway Shrugs And Stays Home)” being a prime example. And it’s the final verse of closer “The Rapture” which spells out the album’s thesis clearly: “the days are getting longer, summer’s almost here, I thank my guardian angels, we survived another year” Really, who can ask for more? It’s fitting then, that Yay! is a perfect soundtrack for the kind of everyday moments which, while simple and understated, help make life worth living.



Recent reviews by this author
The Decemberists As It Ever Was, So It Will Be AgainJoana Serrat Big Wave
Villagers That Golden TimeThou Umbilical
Young Jesus The Foolahem Avoider
user ratings (45)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
June 19th 2023


5975 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Late era Motorpsycho strikes again, very different vibe this time around but still excellent

Zakusz
June 19th 2023


1618 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

This album is still great and Hotel Daedelous is a top tier song of theirs for sure. Love jamming these guys!

BitterJalapenoJr
Contributing Reviewer
June 19th 2023


1044 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A very peasant listen for sure. Nice review - nailed it.

Mad.
June 20th 2023


4916 Comments


Seems enjoyable so far! Nothing to blow the socks off though, but a welcome change-up of the formula

Zakusz
June 20th 2023


1618 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yeah kind of a fresh re-hash if you will

Pikazilla
June 20th 2023


30044 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"A very peasant listen for sure."



reported

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2023


26311 Comments


every year these guys drop an album and every year i consider checking it

Pikazilla
June 20th 2023


30044 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

your wheelhouse is that way *points at qotsa thread*

Veldin
June 21st 2023


5289 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lovely review and awesome album. Been jamming every day while on vacation. Very chill

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
June 21st 2023


26311 Comments


ur a bitch pika

Zakusz
June 21st 2023


1618 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

yeah u a bitch

Zakusz
June 21st 2023


1618 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

and mariner rules

MunsuLight
June 21st 2023


719 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

First time listener to the band .Is that sound more from late era of this band, because the one track i got from spotify was pretty different sounding.



I do like the sound here, but the track Sinful, Wind-Borne was the one I got while listening on spotify was so more my jam



(I still like it there, Hotel Daedelus is wonderful, even some chords progressions on the heavy riffs seems almost like a copy pasta of Led Zeppelin)





Shiranui
June 21st 2023


1048 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

And here's another one from these guys. Jeez they never sleep, though I won't complain lol

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
June 22nd 2023


6200 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice record and a welcomed pause from the proggy stuff.

Zakusz
June 22nd 2023


1618 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yeah kind of a nice reset. I think if they had another album similar to this one come out next I would be welcome to the idea pretty easily

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
June 22nd 2023


6200 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They mentioned there were more songs recorded with this one, so who knows. I'm sure by next spring they'll have something new out lol.

Zakusz
June 23rd 2023


1618 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yeah give it eight months and they will drop another 50 minute album of straight consistency

rabidfish
June 25th 2023


8724 Comments


niceeeeeee. me likey.

Shiranui
June 27th 2023


1048 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Album feels a lil backloaded if I may say so. Real Again has become like a top 3 for as cheesy as it is. Album is definitely suited for good summer vibezzz.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy