Converge
Halo in a Haystack


4.5
superb

Review

by Philthereaper USER (12 Reviews)
June 16th, 2023 | 23 replies


Release Date: 1994 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Reject modernity; embrace Halo in a Haystack

In an era where digital wizardry and overproduction dominate the music scene, Converge's debut album, Halo in a Haystack, stands tall as a testament to the raw power and untamed energy that characterized the early days of hardcore. While the production values and mixing on this record may be deemed almost absent and amateurish by modern standards, it is precisely these qualities that make it a hidden gem, far superior to the overproduced works that often attempt to mask a lack of true talent.

From the moment you press play, it becomes evident that Halo in a Haystack is a work of unapologetic authenticity. The lack of polished production actually becomes a strength, allowing the true essence of Converge's music to shine through. It embodies the DIY spirit that hardcore was built upon, capturing the band's raw, unfiltered energy and delivering it with an unrelenting force that hits you like a punch in the gut. This album's influence on the hardcore genre cannot be overstated. It laid the foundation for countless bands to follow, pushing the boundaries and expanding the sonic possibilities of hardcore music. Converge's fearless experimentation and disregard for conventional norms are exemplified in the wonky instrumentals that permeate the album. Each track is a whirlwind of chaotic riffs, frenzied drumming, and dissonant melodies that merge to create a beautifully disorienting soundscape.

One of the most striking elements of Halo in a Haystack is the banshee-like screams of vocalist Jacob Bannon. His visceral, gut-wrenching delivery cuts through the mix with a ferocity that sends shivers down your spine. His vocal performance, combined with the unpolished production, creates a dark and foreboding atmosphere that engulfs the listener, drawing them deeper into the album's world. What makes this album truly special is its ability to challenge our preconceived notions of what "good mixing" should sound like. While it may take a few listens to fully appreciate the nuances hidden within the mix, once you let go of your expectations and embrace the rawness, you'll discover a level of intensity and authenticity that is often lacking in today's highly polished releases.

Halo in a Haystack is an underappreciated masterpiece that deserves recognition as a pivotal moment in hardcore history. It serves as a reminder of the genre's roots, when music was created with passion and a do-it-yourself attitude. Converge's debut album is a testament to the power of authenticity, showcasing the beauty that can emerge from imperfections and unfiltered expression. So, crank up the volume, let the banshee screams and wonky instrumentals wash over you, and allow yourself to be transported to a time when music was pure, raw, and undeniably powerful.



Recent reviews by this author
Asking Alexandria Where Do We Go from Here?Inanna Converging Ages
Tom MacDonald DeathreatsScene Queen Bimbocore
Possessed Seven ChurchesBring Me The Horizon POST HUMAN: SURVIVAL HORROR
user ratings (591)
2.7
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mort.
June 16th 2023


25561 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

its been a very very long time since ive heard this

90m80s
June 16th 2023


1523 Comments


nostalgia piece

MillionDead
June 16th 2023


5343 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I really don't think they'd found themselves yet. Some metalcore records that came out before and around the same time kick this albums ass. Rorschach's LPs comes to mind. It's even derivative in that context. But it's not as bad as this site thinks it is.

90m80s
June 16th 2023


1523 Comments


dude thinks bill ward played on BS's 13 . nuff sed

FadedSun
June 16th 2023


3196 Comments


Some of these songs still hit hard. I love Two Day Romance, Fact Leaves its Ghost, I Abstain, and Shallow Breathing. A lot of these were remastered and put on the re-release of Caring and Killing.

90m80s
June 16th 2023


1523 Comments


caring and killing slips

ffs
June 17th 2023


6246 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

thrashes ahrd

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 17th 2023


60885 Comments


chatgbt-ass review

Havey
June 17th 2023


12162 Comments


Converge's fearless experimentation and disregard for conventional norms are exemplified in the wonky instrumentals that permeate the album.

Mort.
June 17th 2023


25561 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

1. havey is still here wooah??



2. haveys profile plays music



3. haveys profile has dog

ConcubinaryCode
June 17th 2023


7623 Comments


I still need to listen to this actually.

Flugmorph
June 17th 2023


34536 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

actually insane that a studio album by one of the prime sputcore bands with like 500 ratings never got a review until now. must be a record.

veninblazer
June 17th 2023


16839 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Humble beginnings tbh

Kompys2000
Emeritus
June 17th 2023


9471 Comments


In an era where digital wizardry and overproduction dominate the music sceneIn an era where digital wizardry and overproduction dominate the music sceneIn an era where digital wizardry and overproduction dominate the music sceneIn an era where digital wizardry and overproduction dominate the music scene

veninblazer
June 17th 2023


16839 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This reads so weirdly

ffs
June 17th 2023


6246 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

actually insane that a studio album by one of the prime sputcore bands with like 500 ratings never got a review until now. must be a record




i'm not convinced that this never had a review as so many have been deleted over the years but the caring and killing compilation which is basically this + some of their other early very rudimentary tracks has had a rev since 2009

Spec
June 17th 2023


39656 Comments


i should listen to this again because i can’t remember anything from it

FadedSun
June 17th 2023


3196 Comments


"actually insane that a studio album by one of the prime sputcore bands with like 500 ratings never got a review until now. must be a record."

It doesn't matter, because as others have said Caring and Killing has all of these tracks, plus other ones from their early days.

Flugmorph
June 17th 2023


34536 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

why did you feel the need to repeat exactly what ffs had already said

ConcubinaryCode
June 17th 2023


7623 Comments


"caring and killing compilation which is basically this + some of their other early very rudimentary tracks"

Oh cool I didn't know that. I guess I have heard it then, it's ok fwiw




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy