DreamWeaver (JP)
blue garden


4.0
excellent

Review

by jesper STAFF
June 15th, 2023 | 157 replies


Release Date: 06/09/2023 | Tracklist

Review Summary: dream n bass

As the best season of the year unfolds for us northern hemispherians, I persistently find myself looking for The Most Pleasant Sounds Possible to enhance my sun-drenched experiences. This primarily results in the consumption of truly unhealthy amounts of dream pop and vibey shoegaze: with this in mind, blue garden by Japanese producer DreamWeaver seemed to be a perfect fit on first inspection. It’s chill; it’s warm; it’s a delightful dose of d’n’g (drum n gaze).

However, for all its shimmery properties, blue garden manages to expand beyond the realm of the Merely Pleasant as its songs unravel. The unassuming ‘cloud 9 hypnotics’ spends six patient minutes twisting and transforming trippy, engaging textures into an excellent ambient piece that carefully embraces its eerie tendencies. While the record seems incredibly bright and summery due to the wonderfully clean production, these haunting vibes are present all throughout - both in spite of and thanks to the angelic vocals provided by Botanical Anomaly on several tracks. ‘i love the rain’ finds a brilliant intersection of quiet whispers and glistening melodies, while ‘future perfect’ adds doses of gaze-heaven to a driving breakbeat. This envelopment of such contrasts in a consistently gorgeous aesthetic makes blue garden as captivating as it is, in spite of its focus on ambience. Sit back, relax, be entranced, feel the vibes, but don’t be surprised when DreamWeaver demands a little more from you than what that cover art/artist name may imply.




Recent reviews by this author
The Story So Far I Want to DisappearBathe Alone I Don't Do Humidity
DIIV Frog In Boiling WaterGraywave Dancing in the Dust
Bring Me The Horizon POST HUMAN: NeX GEnKnocked Loose You Won't Go Before You're Supposed To
user ratings (53)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
JesperL
Staff Reviewer
June 15th 2023


5507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

quick lil boi for this great alb

ok i am back to enjoying as much of the sun as i can now!!

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 15th 2023


60894 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

JESPER is this a 5 or a 3 help

Ryus
June 15th 2023


37267 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

cloud9 ruled

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
June 15th 2023


5507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is a 5

rabidfish
June 15th 2023


8723 Comments


looks nice, i like the name too.

Project
June 15th 2023


5841 Comments


this is out of my normal wheelhouse but i love the sound of drum 'n' gaze

nightbringer
June 15th 2023


2730 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This description has me very excited.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 15th 2023


60894 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh shit yes this is hitting just right. can be my unofficial follow-up to Glitch Princess along with Yune Pinku, and we know what that means amirite



ed. okay maybe not (track 4 onwards is Actual Breaks) but we move and this is great. Angel Trance 5 when?

Hyperion1001
Emeritus
June 15th 2023


26275 Comments


this looks sick. gonna check asap.

also a really great review. i love this format and you know it’s good writing if I actually read it all the way through lol.

Kompys2000
Emeritus
June 15th 2023


9471 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

OMG no idea how I missed this, so fuckin hyped to hear it's good! Cloud9 absolutely rocked my world late last year, expectations are high but hell I'm just glad to have high expectations for a new album for once

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 15th 2023


60894 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is realistically like a 3.9/4.0 - first half is an absolute treat, second half is really solid dreamy breaks but not quite on the same level creatively -- but yes yes yes this album is a perfect surprise highlight at time when i think many of us desperately needed one

rabidfish
June 15th 2023


8723 Comments


Yeah, basically
saem

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 15th 2023


60894 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

jesper can you add doss s/t and angel trance 1 to the recommend artists tab or i will cry :[ dream trance pantheon needs U !

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
June 15th 2023


18258 Comments


I too dream in bass.

Kompys2000
Emeritus
June 15th 2023


9471 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

righteous 4.5 im hacking the mainframe im surfing the dot com waves

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 15th 2023


60894 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

4.9 bump or I'm smashing every mirror I see for the next week

Ryus
June 15th 2023


37267 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

where are my tasty dnb beats

Ryus
June 15th 2023


37267 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

oh there they are

bellovddd
June 16th 2023


6375 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is juicy

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
June 16th 2023


5507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

aw hell yeah, glad ur all mostly enjoying this

and ty hyperion!!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy