Spoon
Memory Dust


3.7
great

Review

by Sunnyvale STAFF
June 14th, 2023 | 9 replies


Release Date: 06/13/2023 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Just another spoonful

Spoon’s new EP Memory Dust shares artwork colors with last year’s excellent LP Lucifer On The Sofa, an immediate signal that this is one of the those little releases which often follow in the wake of album cycles, featuring various tracks which didn’t quite make the cut. And sure enough, the slight tracklist here consists of two tunes which narrowly missed inclusion on the 2022 record, plus a cover. All three songs are good, but approximately 66.7% of the tracklist is fairly unremarkable - “Sugar Babies” maintains a nice bouncy feeling and features an extended trippy outro, but seems like a textbook case of a band admirably doing something different without revelatory results, while a rendition of Bo Diddley’s “She’s Fine, She’s Mine” adds a decent touch of old-timey blues to the proceedings. It’s closer “Silver Girl” which makes this EP, though. Here, Britt Daniel sounds impressively like Tom Petty, and it works, bringing a heartland Americana vibe to a song which more clearly resides in the realm of sensuous, airy, pop-adjacent indie rock. Riding a catchy melody and all-around tight presentation, it’s one of latter-day Spoon’s best tunes. All told, Memory Dust might be largely just “pretty solid”, but this is one of those short EPs in which a single song alone makes it worth the price of admission.



Recent reviews by this author
Janelane Love LettersMark Knopfler One Deep River
Hamferd Men Gu​ð​s Hond Er SterkHawkwind Stories from Time and Space
Ride InterplayFrancis of Delirium Lighthouse
user ratings (17)
3.2
good


Comments:Add a Comment 
Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
June 14th 2023


5840 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Short writeup for a short release.



This isn't amazing, but very solid and Spoon fans are well advised to not pass it by.

Sowing
Moderator
June 14th 2023


43942 Comments


Nice review

I thought Lucifer on the Sofa was just mediocre so not sure how excited I am about this

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
June 14th 2023


5840 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Thanks Sowing!



I was a big fan of that album, so our opinions differ there. If you generally like Spoon, probably still worth checking this (less than fourteen minutes needed), but if you've only occasionally enjoyed their stuff then probably skip-able.

SomeCallMeTim
June 14th 2023


4061 Comments


love me a short review

def gonna check out at least the last track based on this review, listening to a playlist rn with some spoon on it so maybe something here can get added

Piglet
June 15th 2023


8474 Comments


spoon



spoon

Sowing
Moderator
June 15th 2023


43942 Comments


@Sunny: I'd say I'm hit or miss with these guys. The only album I still love and return to frequently is They Want My Soul, but they've also never put out an album lower than a 3 for me (out of the albums I've heard!). So, considering this is just 14 minutes, I'll probably listen to it.

VacantTool
June 19th 2023


202 Comments


Yep, Silver Girl just became one of my favorite songs! What a tune!!

Pretty much agree with everything you said. Silver Girl!!

MaximeDemian
January 10th 2024


8 Comments


..don't appreciate them ripping off the Sleeping With Sirens "With Ears To See.." cover art so blatantly but who am I to judge

theBoneyKing
January 10th 2024


24378 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just looked up that cover and I can kind of see what you're getting at but it's a reach and a half lol



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy