Craven Faults
Standers


4.0
excellent

Review

by Trifolium USER (33 Reviews)
May 12th, 2023 | 46 replies


Release Date: 05/12/2023 | Tracklist

Review Summary: “Now I love, and will love. But do not be afraid of too much expression on my part.”

The Yorkshire moors are famous, at least in literature. They are wet, hilly, and sparsely populated, all of which makes them a perfect setting for… whatever psychological drama writers wish to explore, really. Fragrant, gnarly shrubs as far as the eye can see, and a relentless, never ceasing gale, you just never know when you might bump into Heathcliff or any of the other Brontë cast. And, since 2017, the area has their own Techno Brontë as well: Craven Faults. But this Yorkshireman does not stop at depicting the awesome powers of nature found in the northern UK or the internal turmoil of the protagonist. His second full length, Standers, also explores the effects of the first industrial revolution, or, in his own words, “the heavy industry that’s grown up around the mouth of the river, stands out in this ancient landscape”. In that sense, you could say his work is more akin to Gaskell’s North and South than to Wuthering Heights. It seems C. Faults found a way around the struggles of Gaskell’s heroine, Margaret Hale, when she exclaimed: “Oh, I can’t describe my home. It is home, and I can’t put its charm into words”. The end product of his descriptive work was released today.

What Craven Faults has delivered here is first and foremost an incredible work of slowly evolving, brooding, introspective techno that manages to be both hypnotizing, yet which can easily withstand active listening. And, indeed, there is a taste of coal smoke in the air. In Craven Faults’ view, the pristine moors go hand in hand with the stamping fulling mills and cotton factories that Miss (no spoilers) Hale has first-hand experience with. That is not to say this record is Victorian in any sense. Cyclic washes of analogue synths and lovingly crafted beat patterns come at you from all sides, recalling (according to the man himself) a “journey across northern Britain, viewed through the lens of a century in popular music”. I, personally, do not entirely hear how this recalls the past century in pop, but this thing surely confers a deliciously introspective state of mind. Is that entirely what he was after? I don’t know, nor do I care. I just press play, lay down in the wet heathland, staring into the grey overcast sky, and let it all wash over me.



Recent reviews by this author
Panghalina LavaBill Evans Live In Paris 1972 Vol 3
Bill Evans Live In Paris 1972 Vol 2Bill Evans Live In Paris 1972 Vol 1
Weval RememberBedhead WhatFunLifeWas
user ratings (12)
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Emmanuel Petit (4.5)
Standers is the most natural and texturally melodic take on Craven Faults....



Comments:Add a Comment 
Trifolium
May 12th 2023


39291 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Love love love his stuff, glad with this one too! You should all make sure to check this if you're in the mood for some fantastic repetition.



(P.s. Quotes are from Gaskell and Faults' Bandcamp, I'm sure you'll be able to figure out who said what.)

Demon of the Fall
May 12th 2023


34453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cheers Trif, nice review… will check this out because YORKSHIRE (but to be fair this also sounds worth listening to regardless of personal affiliations / residence)

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
May 12th 2023


5984 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This sounds intriguing, great review Trif!

dedex
Staff Reviewer
May 12th 2023


12788 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

"Techno Brontë" lmao yes Trif! I remember jamming the 2020 record, will jam this one too!

Trifolium
May 12th 2023


39291 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks cuties!



And dedex if you 3.5d that one you'll certainly 3.5 this one too. They're alike in both sound and quality.

DadKungFu
Staff Reviewer
May 12th 2023


5008 Comments


V nice rev, really made me want to hear this

Koris
Staff Reviewer
May 12th 2023


21311 Comments


Great review! I really like how much you were able to pack into only two paragraphs

I'll give this a check over the weekend

Trifolium
May 12th 2023


39291 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

How nice that you're both here!!



Hope you enjoy it if/when you decide to check. It's lovely.

Sabrutin
May 13th 2023


9810 Comments


heey 🌿✨

Didn't expect a review for this. The previous material was pretty good, I will check this out for sure.

Trifolium
May 13th 2023


39291 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh yeah! Thanks to the powers that be for giving this some time under the sun!



Agreed Sabrutin, loved the previous stuff too, this is absolutely on par with that. I thought it deserved the review so at least there's one CF thread here.

BitterJalapenoJr
Contributing Reviewer
May 14th 2023


1049 Comments


This sounds fantastic. Big Pos.

We all need more Trif reviews in our lives.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 14th 2023


6201 Comments


Listened to Odda Delf, enjoyed it. Will check the rest, great review

Trifolium
May 14th 2023


39291 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hihihihi Jalapeno 🤭💕



Odda is lovely, you're bound to like the rest as well if you enjoyed it.



Really good album!

Trifolium
May 15th 2023


39291 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Idols & Altars is so nice and comforting and calm.

Demon of the Fall
May 15th 2023


34453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I listened to this a significant amount today and a lovely time was had. Interestingly not as sparse and minimal as I expected (at certain points anyway).



Nice work Trif!

Trifolium
May 16th 2023


39291 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Very true! I think this one is a little more diverse than his debut, there's enough progression here to prevent it from floating by unnoticed.



Glad you enjoyed it!

dedex
Staff Reviewer
May 16th 2023


12788 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

indeed it does flow nicely with enough variations to stay interesting

Trifolium
May 16th 2023


39291 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This probably most clearly shows on Sun Vein Strings, a huge high here, which makes those 18+ minutes flow by like crazy! Lovely tune.

Trifolium
May 16th 2023


39291 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love love.



The 4.5 is already happening... I can feel it. That combo of Sun Vein Strings/Idols & Altars alone is worth it.

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
May 16th 2023


5984 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really dug this on first listen, great vibes while working



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy