Hot Mulligan
Why Would I Watch


3.6
great

Review

by jesper STAFF
May 10th, 2023 | 99 replies


Release Date: 05/12/2023 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Stagnation Imminent or Good Music Division on 3rd (But Nice Quality Does!)

What is a Hot Mulligan? Idk, but I do know that #1 hot new band Hot Mulligan’s appeal is twofold: they are adorably awkward, and in spite of and thanks to this the emo bois are capable of writing killer tunes [from time to time]. This former aspect renders writing super srs music criticism about them somewhat, uh, difficult at times, but let’s try anyway. While the bulk of Hot Mulligan albums are solid semi-twinkly emo-yell takes on pop punk, older cuts like (sigh) “How Do You Know It’s Not Armadillo Shells?” and “Digging In” showed emotional depth that most of their peers lack on top of the trademark catchy hooks.

Unfortunately, this depth is often relegated to the sonic background and reserved for a song here and a moment there: the brand new Why Would I Watch is no different. It’s not a bad album by any means - it’s pretty damn good - but the typical glimpses of pure excellence sprinkled throughout are starting to show that the band likely won’t be realising their full potential any time soon. Opening cuts (sigh) “Shouldn’t Have a Leg Hole But I Do” and “It’s a Family Movie She Hates Her Dad” are passable songs, blending shouty hooks and peppy rhythms, but feel like Hot Mulligan on Autopilot capital A. There’s really only so many songs that can be written with this formula (= have vocalist sing liKE THIS, noodly guitars, pop punk vibes, self deprecating lyrics) and after two full lengths it’s starting to feel a lil too saturated (and let’s be real: what’s the point when *Equip Sunglasses* exists?). Thankfully, not all of Why Would I Watch follows the footsteps of these first two songs.

The spicy (no sigh!) “And I Smoke” adds delightful touches of post hardcore to the band’s palette, while retaining all of Hot Mulligan’s typical catchiness. Elsewhere, (sigh) “This Song Is Called It’s Called What It’s Called” presents itself as the record’s most dynamic track: it is quiet and loud and then quiet and then loud again! This is an excellent thing, but as is tradition, the band do not manage to stretch this excellence beyond the confines of the song. Rather than implementing the dynamically dreamy flourishes of this cut throughout the record, it represents a microcosm of could’ve-beens. As such, (sigh) “No Shoes In The Coffeeshop (Or Socks)” forms one of the album’s highlights by virtue of being as multifaceted as Hot Mulligan get: it encompasses both a pensively memorable chorus and a catchy-as-hell cute singalongable riff! Yay!

In spite of all these mildly backhanded compliments, Why Would I Watch is a great, highly listenable experience (outside of that whistle in “Betty”, but even that gets a pass for being adorably awkward and who am I to tell people not to grieve by whistling into a microphone right after “Christ Alive My Toe Dammit Hurts”, you know). There’s plenty of catchy choruses and punchy patterns to be found here (AM I THE PROOOBLEM?) - it’s just a pity that there isn’t all that much more. At the end of the day, Hot Mulligan are in increasingly desperate need of stretching their legs more and further and deeper and coolerer. They don’t need to be making good albums: they could be making fantastic albums.




Recent reviews by this author
In Hearts Wake IncarnationThe Dangerous Summer Gravity
Alcest Les Chants de L'AuroreThe Story So Far I Want to Disappear
Bathe Alone I Don't Do HumidityDIIV Frog In Boiling Water
user ratings (122)
3.6
great
related reviews

You'll Be Fine


Comments:Add a Comment 
JesperL
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2023


5550 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

it's a blast but could be blaster! out this friday!

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2023


18258 Comments


What a mulligan!

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2023


5550 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

chef can you make me a hot mulligan please

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2023


18258 Comments


Best I have right now is chowder.

YoYoMancuso
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2023


19034 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Good cartoon

Atari
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2023


27993 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh fuck yes. one of my favorite bands. doubt they'll top the last one but insanely stoked for this



great review too

Calc
May 10th 2023


17382 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ohh didn't know this was coming I got my 3.5 ready

Snake.
May 10th 2023


25303 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

more like why would i listen boom roasted

Odal
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2023


2313 Comments


I saw this band before they really blew up in 2019 and they absolutely killed it. Strangely enough though, this performance basically killed my ability to take this band seriously and give them my stamp of approval. Shaylee, Shanel was the song that they closed with and had members from Belmont come up and help them out. They put their heart and soul in that song and jammed on it for a long time, the crowd loved it, the energy was perfect.

But, goddamn, does that song have the worst lyrics I have ever heard. Like, so bad that I just can't with anything that they do. They have a few songs I like and I've added to various playlists here and there, but every time I see the name Hot Mulligan I think of those Shaylee, Shanel lyrics and I am just taken out of it. I think their whole quirky schtick is pretty tiresome, but I'm also in my thirties now so I know I'm on the outside looking in. I'll give this album a listen, but I can't say I have the highest of hopes

Atari
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2023


27993 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've never even heard of Shaylee, Shanel

Odal
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2023


2313 Comments


Probably best to keep it that way

Atari
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2023


27993 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

But now I’m morbidly curious 🧐

Odal
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2023


2313 Comments


So come visit my place
We'll sit and talk about the stupid shit that your boyfriend says
'Cause I did love you, and I still do
And how my standard of girls is based completely around you
So come visit my place
We'll sit and talk about the stupid shit that your boyfriend says
'Cause I did love you, and I still do
And how my standard of girls is based completely around you


SlothcoreSam
May 10th 2023


6260 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Looking forward to this one tomorrow!

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2023


5550 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

hell yeah atari, i'm sure you'll dig this! it's probs their least goodest album but still a whole lot of fun

and ye shaylee is rough lol

Atari
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2023


27993 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You'll Be Fine is a 5 for me so I'm sure I will too, haha



That album helped me get through all the initial covid bullshit - I distinctively remember jamming *Equip Sunglasses* religiously when everything was shut down and it was just the dumb, feel-good track I needed

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2023


5550 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

yeah same haha, that album was the perfect little escape from life as it went from a breakup to a lockdown for me! equip sunglasses was one hell of a song to experience live as well lol

also hope you're all ready for how much tades sounds like he's about to absolutely destroy his vocal cords

ohtheurgency
May 10th 2023


128 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

How are the singles compared to the rest of the album? I didn't enjoy the recent singles because it sounded too flat for me.

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
May 11th 2023


5550 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

the album has a lil more flavour than the two singles, tho if you didn't fw gans media i doubt you'll get much out of this

Rawrz
May 11th 2023


223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn I love this. Cock Party 2 shouldn't be as good as it is, definetly better than the first.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy