TEETH (CAN)
A Biblical Worship Of Violence


4.5
superb

Review

by Mike K. CONTRIBUTOR (44 Reviews)
May 8th, 2023 | 39 replies


Release Date: 05/05/2023 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Not wasting any time getting started here.

Fifteen minutes. That’s the runtime of the debut EP from Canadian metalcore outfit, Teeth. The fact that it’s short means nothing though. A Biblical Worship of Violence doesn’t pull any punches, it doesn’t hold back from being as insane as it can, it doesn’t ever let up, and let me tell you, it is one hell of an introduction.

From the opening seconds of “We Eat Our Young,” the energy that bleeds from the record is practically palpable. All you get is four short snare taps, and the wall of blast-beats, riffs, and screaming instantly begins, leading into just over three minutes of chaotic riffs, frenetic drumming and (in my humble opinion) a top-notch vocal performance. It all builds into a breakdown that feels like it’s trying to break your soul, before going straight into “Hate Me,” at which point the process repeats.

Of note are the guitar work and the vocals. Blake Prince does a fantastic job and delivers an unhinged performance that embodies raw fury. The tone of the guitar and the riffs throughout the EP are frenzied in the best way, and between the grind-like segments and breakdowns, there is a nasty Every Time I Die sort of vibe winding its way through the record that stitches the whole thing up very nicely.

I guess my only complaint is that the brevity of the EP left me wanting more. The way it muscled, kicked, punched, and knifed its way through my eardrums was something I don’t always get to experience and despite listening to it three times straight, I felt like it wasn’t enough. But hey, it’s only the beginning, and as of this moment I’m signed up for the ride.



Recent reviews by this author
Centralya That Which Feeds On LifeThe Funky Knuckles The Way It Is
Sasaki Kaishin Creation Soundscapes of MineAs Everything Unfolds Ultraviolet
Attack Attack! Dark WavesEndless, Nameless Living Without
user ratings (69)
3.8
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
Manatea
Contributing Reviewer
May 8th 2023


1262 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Review is shorter than usual but I had to bang it out. This is really fun. I hope you agree with me.



Edit: Note to self, don't write reviews when tired. Fixed it up. Also now fixed the formatting…

Glintingbeetle
May 8th 2023


9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

banger EP!

definitely one of the 'nu-metalcore' acts that one should keep an eye on

Ecnalzen
May 8th 2023


11825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ooooo, is this the same Teeth that is remnants of Straight Reads the Line?



I'd be very excited if so. Last I checked they just had a bunch of singles

Manatea
Contributing Reviewer
May 9th 2023


1262 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I believe it is. It’s a blast man

bigweinerdon
May 9th 2023


2495 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hauls ass

Manatea
Contributing Reviewer
May 9th 2023


1262 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Need an LP of this really

mkmusic1995
Contributing Reviewer
May 10th 2023


1139 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This sounds like it's right up my alley. Very nice write up! :D

Ecnalzen
May 10th 2023


11825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice will have to checks. I had been hoping for something beyond the few songs I got off bcamp

Manatea
Contributing Reviewer
May 10th 2023


1262 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Boys it’s too good. I’ve been spinning it practically nonstop.

mkmusic1995
Contributing Reviewer
May 10th 2023


1139 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm digging, the last two tracks slap crazy hard.

calmrose
May 10th 2023


5954 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hauls ass [2]

Christbait
May 10th 2023


100 Comments


Got a whole lot of Alpha Wolf and Dealer vibes based off the first song.

Christbait
May 10th 2023


100 Comments


oh my god he even barks lol

Eyes4you
May 10th 2023


10 Comments


I will check this out. It sounds like a great time to my ears.

goblinilbog
May 10th 2023


1050 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is scratching that unhinged messy metalcore/hardcore sound that has been lacking since Sectioned's last album.

Ecnalzen
May 11th 2023


11825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm only a minute in and I love it

goblinilbog
May 11th 2023


1050 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A ~15 minute long EP is perfect for these types of bands. All killer no filler.



Which band has the better spiky album cover - this or Unloved by Frontierer?





Wildcardbitchesss
May 11th 2023


8626 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Damn this goes fuckin hard

Manatea
Contributing Reviewer
May 11th 2023


1262 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks for stopping by y’all. Love how much love this is getting.

Spec
May 11th 2023


36952 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Vocalist from SRTL and Skynet right?? This fucking rips.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2022 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy