Hyperdontia
Deranged


3.8
excellent

Review

by Fernando Alves STAFF
March 15th, 2023 | 54 replies


Release Date: 03/15/2023 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Supernumerary riffing

Humans normally have 20 baby teeth and 32 permanent teeth, but people with hyperdontia may develop one or more extra teeth, which can appear anywhere in the mouth and vary in size and shape. It is a medical condition that, when combined with old-school death metal, can result not only in supernumerary teeth but also in chronic disorders that cause severe skin reactions and excessive production of riffs - symptoms that tend to scare the average listener. European death metallers Hyperdontia were diagnosed with the condition in 2015 and have since spawned two full-lengths and a couple of EPs, splits, and singles exposing their chronic symptoms that combine the cavernous infections of peers such as Phrenelith and Mortiferum with a taste for flesh reminiscent of Cannibal Corpse. A cannibalistic tendency evidenced in 2022's track 'Season of Rot' and now categorically enhanced in Deranged's four tracks. With sharper production and a more straightforward approach than Hideous Entity, Hyperdontia delivers a 20-minute death metal feast that swings between infectious slow-paced sections and overwhelming tremolo picking blast beats, which would not be out of place on a Severe Torture release or some other Dutch BDM pack from the turn of the century. Add to this strong, visceral gutturals and an omnipresent bass, and you stumble upon a formula that is sure to grow extra teeth in the mouths of any metalhead who won't mind a meatier, more straightforward menu than previous meals.

Enjoy your new fangs.




Recent reviews by this author
Suffocation Hymns From the ApocryphaAfterbirth In But Not Of
Cannibal Corpse Chaos HorrificTomb Mold The Enduring Spirit
Dying Fetus Make Them Beg for DeathCryptopsy As Gomorrah Burns
user ratings (50)
3.8
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
March 15th 2023


18936 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

It's basically an extended soundoff. Good stuff. More straightforward than Hideous Entity.



The EP is out now.

YoYoMancuso
Staff Reviewer
March 15th 2023


18849 Comments


EXTRA TEETH

pizzamachine
March 15th 2023


26996 Comments


Review has nice filling.

Demon of the Fall
March 15th 2023


33540 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hideous Entity was one of my absolute faves of this new wave of OSDM. I didn't realise they had an EP coming out, so thanks.



Will sink my gnashers into this beauty for I also, have too many teeth (it isn't Hyperdontia though - looking at this ^, just baby teeth that never left, lol)

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
March 15th 2023


18936 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Yeah Hideous Entity rules, easily among the best OSDM of 2021

Pon
Emeritus
March 15th 2023


5979 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm going to get one of those musical toothbrushes and exclusively play this when brushing my chompers

combustion07
March 15th 2023


12822 Comments


Excited to dig into this one

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
March 15th 2023


18256 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Great Soundoff Fern. Added to the list : ]

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
March 15th 2023


18936 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

🤘

ffs
March 15th 2023


6213 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice write up. band will put teeth on yr chest

Pikazilla
March 15th 2023


29712 Comments


I bet this slaps

MO
March 15th 2023


24014 Comments


"Humans normally have 20 baby teeth and 32 permanent teeth, but people with hyperdontia may develop one or more extra teeth, which can appear anywhere in the mouth and vary in size and shape"

had to google image this bitch, awesome

Azog
March 15th 2023


1070 Comments


"infectious slow-paced sections and overwhelming tremolo picking blast beats, which would not be out of place on a Severe Torture release"

Also, like thousands of other death metal bands.

But then again, this is good old fashioned fun, and sometimes that's all we need.

botb
March 15th 2023


17762 Comments


Loved their last LP, will czech

Hyperion1001
Emeritus
March 15th 2023


25717 Comments


i kinda think these are the strongest tracks theyve written so far.

although that little bass riff drop in the first track is 100% lifted straight out of breeding the spawn.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
March 15th 2023


18936 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

If you haven't already, take a peek at their track from 2022, Season of Rot. Good jam

http://desiccatedproductions.bandcamp.com/track/season-of-rot

Pon
Emeritus
March 16th 2023


5979 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don't think these dudes are capable of writing a lacklustre riff

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
March 16th 2023


18936 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

It's probably their biggest strength

FadedSun
March 17th 2023


3196 Comments


"EXTRA TEETH"

What a terrible band name haha

Pon
Emeritus
March 17th 2023


5979 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Breh when the debut dropped I Googled the band name not knowing what it meant, I was shook



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy