Ellende
Ellenbogengesellschaft


3.8
excellent

Review

by manosg EMERITUS
March 14th, 2023 | 12 replies


Release Date: 2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A post-black metal journey to catharsis.

Mortality, individualism, loneliness, lack of empathy, courage, fear, and loss are some of the themes on Ellenbogengesellschaft. The fourth album by the Austrian post-black metal outfit is distinct from its previous releases; it feels more anthropocentric, direct, and personal. Even the word Ellenbogengesellschaft stands for "Elbow Society", which refers to the current egotistical culture. Just by watching the video of “Abschied”, in which a daughter is slowly losing her father from dementia, one can understand why Ellenbogengesellschaft is so intense and heart-wrenching at times. However, it is also therapeutic; it draws you into its sweet melancholy and when those claustrophobic feelings begin to creep in, a captivating melody provides some breathing space. In fact, the entire album is an emotionally draining experience that leaves you feeling invigorated.

Dynamics play a crucial role, as the band’s mastermind, L.G., has seamlessly blended harsh sections with melodic passages; black metal tremolo-picking riffs and blast beats are succeeded by mournful guitars and beautiful choral segments that might bring Empyrium to your mind. In fact, the vocal work here is immaculate, as it effectively communicates emotions such as frustration, disappointment, and anger without even knowing the lyrics, which are as essential as music. Although a translation is necessary for some of you because they are in German, doing so is paramount to enjoying this album entirely. Overall, it has a great flow and a brilliant sense of melody which makes it a great listen even to those who don't identify as fans of the aforementioned genre. As a result, Ellenbogengesellschaft is a captivating listen that grows with each spin and will delight black and post-metal fans alike.




Recent reviews by this author
Sacred Outcry Towers of GoldShores of Null The Loss of Beauty
Fredlos FredlösJeff Beck Truth
High Command Eclipse of the Dual MoonsStone Axe Stay of Execution
user ratings (50)
3.9
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
Emeritus
March 14th 2023


12703 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

A short review for those of you who, like me, missed this one last year.

Chippe
March 14th 2023


389 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

... and for me, who spinned this over and over again. Great and addictive album and the review captures my impressions in most ways.

manosg
Emeritus
March 15th 2023


12703 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Yeah, this is really addictive, great dynamics and melodies. Surprised it didn't get more traction on here tbh.

Chippe
March 17th 2023


389 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yea. Had some hope your review would change that, but well... This record deserves some more recognition.

Rastapunk
March 17th 2023


1526 Comments


Ellende always delivers! Outstanding record again. Ruhelo is my fav on this one!
Been playing this one a lot since it came out.

Sharenge
March 17th 2023


4757 Comments


why he hoggy?

Heppasodge
April 14th 2023


549 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice punchy review. Emotional force on this thing is among the strongest ive heard in bm. The hooks are pretty amazing and it's so clean and sophisticated. drumming is also quite impressive. His vocals are a highlight

manosg
Emeritus
April 14th 2023


12703 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Thanks! Lots of staying power as well.

Rastapunk
April 16th 2023


1526 Comments


Apparently they're touring what they have sheduled then there will probably be a time off due to touring costing a lot of money... Form their facebook page:
"Dear followers, organizers and supporters,
It's time for some real talk about the future of Ellende. Some organizers may have realized that booking us for 2024 is not possible at this moment. It was my personal decision, as well as a mutual decision supported by my dear session-musicians. There are several factors which led to this decision for now, as well as some other changes that have to be done.
As you might know I'm very passionate about doing what I do. Creating music and art has always been a main driving force in my life. A personal recreational tool and an attempt to make sense of this world. Experienced in the same intensity today as all these years ago.
About 27 years of musicianship (starting with 5) and 11 years of Ellende I am now sitting here, seven records lie in front of me, beside many other releases I have collaborated on with incredibly talented musicians. Countless shows played with close friends and gifted musicians, something which makes life as rich as nothing else.

Rastapunk
April 16th 2023


1526 Comments



What has also happened outside of this universe, is that I graduated from university some years ago, doing PHD now and working in my field of research to sustain my life, as music does not provide sustainability. I was very aware of that and never needed my music to do so anyway.
This approach though has led me processing orders, doing invoices, toll declarations, tax declarations, accounting and countless other "business things" on my weekends and evenings, where I would actually need time to recharge and/or make music as intended with this project. All beside also planning, organizing and rehearsing for shows, and touring, so you can experience high quality concerts. My strong urge in doing things correctly has driven me into a corner which I tried to free myself for several years now. I ended up having three different tax accountants which didn't help me or answered my questions at all but simultaniously sucked out the last remaining cents of Ellende anyway.
As said, it was never about the money, Ellende evolves from strong intrinsic motivation but I don't have energy to do all this at once anymore. I am tired, desperate and angry.
Said that, it is not my style to give up or complain, never has been. I have experienced many lows in Ellende (which are usually kept hidden in this fake a** social media world), such as getting sued (illegitimate as it turned out) or being blocked to re-release some of my own records with my selfmade artworks.
Things are as they are and I will find a way, as always.
The only thing I would ask you is just to have patience with Ellende in this moment. A decision about how to proceed and what to do about all this will be made in some months. All announced and yet unannounced shows of 2023 will be played of course. Decisions will also be discussed as a group with my session-musicians and crew, as recent developments in their personal lifes haven't been easy for them as well. The only constant in life is change, blablabla.
Otherwise thank you for taking time to read this monster of a statement and thank you for your strong support towards Ellende! ❤
L.G. & Crew"

Hawks
September 5th 2023


85102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn. Hope he keeps making music. Band slayz.

Rastapunk
September 6th 2023


1526 Comments


It seems like he will

Here is another update from the 29th of August:

"Dear followers of Ellende,
a short update about our decision as how to proceed 2024 and the statement I wrote in April. Thanks to all appreciating our honesty and your kind words online and in person. There have also been rumours Ellende cease to exist after 2023, which was absolutely not what I intended to say with that.
To keep things short we will pursue what was intended in the first place with this project: A few selected shows and one tour per year. This way we can keep shows special and I can do songwriting again while not burning out instead of doing so many weekenders beside our jobs.
Our Bandcamp distribution will be handed over to professionals which will result in many advantages for customers, such as quicker and cheaper shipment as well as more elaborated customer service. You can still support us there and buy exclusive articles.
If you want to book one of these shows/tourstop please get in touch with District 19. Special thanks to them and also to AOP Records standing behind our decisions, supporting us.
Thanks also to you who listen to out music, joined our shows and approached us at signing sessions. It means a lot to us and this year already feels surreal.
🖤
L.G. & Ellende"



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy