Obituary
Dying Of Everything


3.7
great

Review

by Dewinged STAFF
March 9th, 2023 | 19 replies


Release Date: 01/13/2023 | Tracklist

Review Summary: But us.

What always has fascinated me about Obituary is that the feeling of your flesh being ripped to pieces by John Tardy's growls is almost guaranteed, no matter the decade, the album or the song. The Florida squad is pretty much alien to the old motto re-invent or die. They have never boasted impressive technicality with their instruments or excel in writing songs that would make your brain bleed while elaborate structures and clever transitions put your IQ to the test. Nope. They have brute forced their way through more than 30 years of uncooked death metal with stunning resolve and a very simple but effective formula. Obituary was there when the pot containing the genre's broth started to boil out of control, overflowing its filthy charms to the rest of the world. While their contemporaries chose different approaches, with Morbid Angel focusing on speed and in being as esoteric as possible, and Cannibal Corpse just being chaotic and utterly disgusting, Obituary chose to bulk it up, at their own crawling pace.

Eleven albums into their career, no one expects them to pull off a 180º, I surely don’t. Obituary is a band very aware of their strengths and their limitations, and in Dying of Everything, they act accordingly. "Barely Alive", which starts the album at probably the fastest tempo they have performed in years, is already way above the material they have released in their last two albums. The opener is an absolute ripper, with Donald Tardy showing he hasn't forgotten how to go on full throttle on his drum set while Trevor Peres and Ken Andrews blast out stomping riffs and piercing solos at will. In spite of this solid start, the band's eleventh release doesn't keep the speed up for long, and so "The Wrong Time" rolls next with a power chord phrase that belongs to death metal as much as it belongs to a high school graduation ceremony teen metal band. It’s silly, it’s bumpy, but it’s also strangely engaging. What this second track undoubtedly achieves is putting you in Obituary mood instantly, because from there, the album just flows like a torrent of toxic lava all the way up to your brain, and it's just auto-headbanging mode all the way to the end.

There are a few pleasant surprises though. After four tracks I didn't expect the thrashy approach of the title track's first half, which brings the album back to speed, so to speak, or the inspired display of rifferies in "Torn Apart". Some tracks like "Without a Conscience" or "Weaponize the Hate" certainly bring the OG feel of classic Obituary, with John Tardy roaring in tip top shape like not a year has passed since their 90s golden era.

For old school fans of the band, Dying of Everything would be more than enough. It features amazing artwork from Polish artwork master Mariusz Lewandowski from before he sadly passed away last year, and a solid collection of tracks that range from blistering bangers to ground-shaving heavyweights, with none of them deviating not even an inch from the band's unmistakable sound. For newcomers, this might be an issue, as we're not in the 90s anymore, and to impress a new generation of metalheads that think this or that deathcore album “could use more blast beats”, Obituary would need to submit themselves to a change that isn't feasible or realistic. In fact, they don't need to, as Dying of Everything very much proves that the Florida crew has already engraved their brand in the genre's tombstone, if the time ever comes to bury it, and that's more than many can say.




Recent reviews by this author
Fvnerals Let the Earth Be SilentDryad The Abyssal Plain
Katatonia Sky Void of StarsMansion Second Death
Nicole Dollanganger Married in Mount AiryMechina Cenotaph
user ratings (126)
3.3
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
March 9th 2023


29258 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Not the most indicated reviewer to tackle Obituary but couldn't let pass this one not having a single review here, so I hope it's readable, to say the least.



Album grew on me, honestly, pretty much the best they have done in quite a while.



"The Wrong Time": https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AoKRsHSPfw4&ab_channel=RelapseRecords

Effigy
March 9th 2023


311 Comments


Great review. Their best since cause of death if you ask me, although their self titled was great also.

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
March 9th 2023


17713 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

Glad you got this done babe : )

Advancetimes
March 9th 2023


1 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeh this one is solid best since the 90s prob. Not big on most the obituary releases other than the first 3 but they did good here

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
March 9th 2023


29258 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Self titled is good, their 00s run was ok, I agree this may be my favorite since their 90s run which is pretty much untouchable.

combustion07
March 9th 2023


12673 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review man! Very to the point for an album that has the same approach. Glad to see this end up getting a review. I've always had a soft spot for Obituary. Frozen in Time was one of the first dm CDs I bought. Bought it off the strength of the cover art even though it isn't an album that gets much in terms of praise. I was hooked when I heard Redneck Stomp on it which became the first song I learned how to play on my recently acquired guitar. Still chug that one out every now and then when I play.

Agree on this being their best since the 90's run. I'd say it's pretty neck and neck with The End Complete

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
March 9th 2023


29258 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

yeah I honestly thought someone would eventually write smth for it, so I was re-visiting it today and to my surprise no one had done it yet.



But here we are now!

combustion07
March 9th 2023


12673 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'd considered it but didn't feel like I had enough to say to warrant a review with how straight forward the album is. Gonna go ahead and mention that anyone that gets the chance should catch these guys live because out of all of the old school dmnacts still at it these guys have held up in that setting extremely well and I honestly think that they're better live than they are on record

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
March 9th 2023


29258 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I totally believe you.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
March 9th 2023


18175 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

Glad you picked this up

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
March 9th 2023


29258 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

It's the least I could do. Legendary band. Couldn't go unreviewed!

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
March 9th 2023


18175 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

Facts

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
March 10th 2023


10026 Comments


Great review, will listen to this.


Edit:

This album is soaked in groove metal, not bad but not terribly good either.

Purpl3Spartan
March 11th 2023


5458 Comments


Great rev will check

ChaoticVortex
March 11th 2023


1443 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Groovy.

Orb
March 11th 2023


9158 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah this grooves hard. Just a straight up good time.

Wizard
March 12th 2023


20410 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Been on an Obituary kick lately.....this and The End Complete are top tier in their discography.



This album is soaked in groove metal, not bad but not terribly good either.



Not groove metal in the least. This is how they've always been.

Muzz79
March 17th 2023


2296 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Back half of this m/

Michal4Srnka
March 20th 2023


165 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, this is good. Defo better than most of their releases



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2022 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy