Zulu
A New Tomorrow


4.0
excellent

Review

by Paul Quinones USER (8 Reviews)
March 3rd, 2023 | 35 replies


Release Date: 02/24/2023 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Blending the ignorant and intelligent styles of hardcore for 28 minutes of fun.

When I stumbled into my neighboring city's local venue last Saturday for a night of hardcore madness, I didn't know what was about to hit me with Zulu. The performance was stellar and it was only the beginning, because A New Tomorrow had yet to even drop. Experiencing it live is one thing, but I was curious to see what the full album would be like from a studio perspective. Much like the blissful sections of merriment dispersed throughout this new Zulu record, I waited for the pin to drop. Come today, ANT has arrived and I couldn't be more happy with the result.

As the album kicks off, the listener is immediately brushed with a sense of grace and passion trickling in from album opener "Africa" before immediately being thrown to the wolves. This serves as a perfect lead-up to the emotions that sum up the feelings of A New Tomorrow. Throughout the record it becomes evident that Zulu's point is not to be the heaviest, darkest, or even the most intelligent of the hardcore bands out there. Deep is not the point, though it strikes all the right chords. Different is not the point, though different they are. They're in it for the simple fun. Living and breathing with each track is the feeling that these songs were not just "thrown" together, but were led to their most sensible conclusions by the way the band's members felt it should be done. The album is loaded with crushing breakdowns and with the semifinal track on the album, they take the time to call out culture-jacking culture to keep things real and you'd be hard-pressed to find a set of harder hype tracks. Especially impressive is the fact that A New Tomorrow is self-produced which, while more common in this day and age, is a gargantuan task with all the nuance the album presents itself with. The sharing of vocal duties, frenetic pacing and structuring of each song, landmark features, and beautiful breaks between the brutality keep each song dynamically its own and serve as evidence that this is an album led by a good feeling, not a wisecracker's financial plan.

Compared to each other recent hardcore darling's journey, one could only assume that this is just the beginning for the Los Angeles HC group. As we enter a new era for heavy music, the world is their oyster. If you want a band who straddles the line of heavy genres with accessible appeal and creativity out the wazoo, Zulu is for you.



Recent reviews by this author
The Devil Wears Prada Color DecayYotsuya Kaidan Four Writings To An Elf
Wovenwar Honor Is DeadPhinehas Till the End
Phinehas The Last Word Is Yours to SpeakAlesana A Place Where the Sun is Silent
user ratings (103)
3.5
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
pjquinones747
March 3rd 2023


4244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

go easy on me i aint ever reviewed hardcore before :-) some sites and people refer to them as partially being PV but i figured it wasnt enough to include it in the review. im a huge fan of this album but tried to keep my rating fair!

pizzamachine
March 3rd 2023


27395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Review sux die noob. JK GOOD REVIEW, also good to have you kicking around.

pjquinones747
March 3rd 2023


4244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hey thanks pizza! likewise. i'm a permanent fixture even if its mostly lurking haha

kevbogz
March 3rd 2023


6160 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nice rev my boy. band’s tits

pizzamachine
March 4th 2023


27395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

“i'm a permanent fixture”

Hell yeah!

botb
March 4th 2023


18052 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Band rules but I’d feel weird about describing them as simply powerviolence as well

kevbogz
March 4th 2023


6160 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i mean their skits are longer than their actual music and that’s pretty pv lol (i haven’t heard this yet)





Calc
March 4th 2023


17378 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm excited to listen to this. hope it's as good as people are saying

pizzamachine
March 5th 2023


27395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is quite fun indeed.👨🏻‍🍳

kevbogz
March 6th 2023


6160 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

so good. the subtle additions to their kit (where i'm from, shine eternally, we're more than this, closer) are tasty and appreciated



there was also that metallic lick in one of their songs that hand me white knuckling my steering wheel

MillionDead
March 6th 2023


5366 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, it's bit disjointed because of all of the disparate sounds on display, but they're using all of the extra bits to say something. You talking about 52 Strikes with the metal lick? That shit was pretty tight. On first listen, this is hitting me in a good spot.

pjquinones747
March 6th 2023


4244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Million yep you nailed it!

bigweinerdon
March 6th 2023


2724 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wish there was more ass beater run time on this outside the chill parts but still great

pjquinones747
March 8th 2023


4244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i feel you don, it does feel rather short even with 15 tracks and nearly 30 minutes.

cvlts
March 8th 2023


9940 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

just seen these guys last night in seattle. might have been a top 5 show of all time.

MillionDead
March 8th 2023


5366 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Saw them in Baton Rouge. It was just a hardcore show I guess, but it was cool to finally see them. Their drummer, she is such a huge badass lol.

cvlts
March 8th 2023


9940 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well i only really go to hardcore shows so lol



yeah that girl is a bowling ball of energy. she needs to front her own band asap

pjquinones747
March 8th 2023


4244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

facts, christine is a monster on the drums. that SMTB, jesus piece, scowl, zulu tour hit my town last weekend and it was something else. my favorite this year so far.

bigguytoo9
March 11th 2023


1425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Saw these guys open for Show Me The Body and it was insane!!!

YuriZakhaev
March 11th 2023


1068 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Band curbstomped me



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy