Wisteria Lodge
Spoken Secrets


4.0
excellent

Review

by Sunnyvale STAFF
February 25th, 2023 | 29 replies


Release Date: 02/24/2023 | Tracklist

Review Summary: No hay banda

A distinguished gentleman named Sunnyvale had this to say in Sputnik’s discussion thread for Wisteria Lodge’s first release, their 2022 self-titled EP: “it coasts a bit on atmosphere”. Well, plot twist, I am Sunnyvale, and my initial judgment was right. Another plot twist, Wisteria Lodge are back with their debut full-length, and they’ve doubled-down on this tendency.

Spoken Secrets sees eleven new tracks join all five songs from the group’s EP to form a nearly fifty-five minute record. If anything, the Oregon band’s dependence on VIBES is more complete than before, with much of the previously-unreleased material being even more unassuming and often interlude-esque than the EP tracks were. Indeed, the EP’s works stand apart here as more clear-cut and memorable moments. Most would probably assume from those statements that this means Spoken Secrets is a small bundle of quality tunes padded with fluff to complete a full-length record, but that’s really not the case. In fact, the opposite is true, and this format seems to produce maximum effect for Wisteria Lodge’s music. Amid the near-ambient sparseness of various shorter tracks, the more prominent melodies of songs like “Curtains” or the beautifully Gothic “Mercy” are compelling, while a tune like “Magdalena” possesses a bewitching groove. Meanwhile, even the most restrained instrumentals serve a purpose: while “Omen” is soothing enough in the abstract, in reality it feels more than anything like the setup for a jump scare, adding another texture to the album’s overarching sense of the unsettling.

More on that - the best adjective to describe Wisteria Lodge’s style is “Lynchian” - AKA pursuing the form of a David Lynch work. The band makes no secret of this (one of the tags on their Bandcamp profile is “Twin Peaks”, as just one example), and it works. There’s an eerie and ominous feeling which overtakes nearly every track on Spoken Secrets, regardless of the specific musical style at play. Feeling like Mazzy Star taking a weird turn and then soaking in the influences of performing in a faded blues or jazz club, Wisteria Lodge have already found their sound, and Spoken Secrets sees them taking the next step towards perfecting it. An intriguing nocturnal mood awaits.



Recent reviews by this author
Mark Knopfler One Deep RiverHamferd Men Gu​ð​s Hond Er Sterk
Hawkwind Stories from Time and SpaceRide Interplay
Francis of Delirium LighthouseVerwoed The Mother
user ratings (8)
3.4
great
related reviews

Wisteria Lodge


Comments:Add a Comment 
Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2023


5827 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Love this band, but had no idea this was coming out today.



Been listening all afternoon, here's a quick writeup!

pizzamachine
February 25th 2023


26996 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

An album already? :D

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2023


5827 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Indeed! It incorporates all the tracks from the EP, plus a bunch of new material.

pizzamachine
February 25th 2023


26996 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^ indeed. Making my way through the album and gotta say completely agree with the review, nice one Sunnyvale.

Zac124
February 25th 2023


2594 Comments


I need to listen to this. I really enjoyed there EP.

WatchItExplode
February 25th 2023


10447 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I dig it. Only made it halfway through but the drums are busy and I'm fine listening to that while the rest of the band does whatever it is they do

YoYoMancuso
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2023


18849 Comments


it's all. a recording.

WatchItExplode
February 25th 2023


10447 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

...so it is

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2023


5436 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

you are sunnyvale?!?!

listening cuz this seems hype

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2023


5436 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

alright i love the ethereal wave vibes of the instrumentals but those vocals are way too high in the mix (then again most of the instrumental tracks don't rly add much)

following the gorgeous should-be-the-closer 'exit' with a pointless interlude and a strange outro track called 'outro' is either the dumbest or best thing about this album lmao

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2023


10020 Comments


Love the first para lol great stuff

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2023


5827 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks guys!



@Jesper, I do agree that the structure of this album shouldn't really work, but at least for me, it does. Don't really concur with your take on the vocals though, I really dig them.

Trifolium
February 27th 2023


38849 Comments


Interesting, lovely review Sunny! Band name album title combo made me think of Desperate Housewives. Maybe I should check this.

Rawmeeth38
February 27th 2023


2670 Comments


There IS NO BAND

BallsToTheWall
February 27th 2023


51216 Comments


This is really good. Nice review.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
February 28th 2023


60203 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"More on that - the best adjective to describe Wisteria Lodge’s style is “Lynchian” - AKA pursuing the form of a David Lynch work"



this is interesting - i think that on the one hand, it's very accurate re. how stridently this shoots for Twin Peaks-core, but on the other hand these tracks (so far) completely miss the mystique that i feel is ultimately what warrants that adj. gonna keep listening in case that eerie and ominous feeling does surface, but i'm just getting drab dream pop so far :/



but yeah, can uninspiring-stuff-that-sounds-like-it-was-influenced-by-Lynch count as Lynchian? are all unnecessarily detailed paranoid rabbitholes with unseen forces of power whose machinations are materially felt still Kafkfaesque if they don't inspire the same feelings of confused dread? does an artist only become an epithet if they enable/legitimise wave upon wave of mediocre fanfic? discuss?

PotsyTater
February 28th 2023


10101 Comments


The two tracks on winds poem by mount eerie that use twin peaks melodies made it lame for anyone else to even tryn

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
February 28th 2023


60203 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

probably why half of this feels like beach house/chromatics worship instead



was xiu xiu's twin peaks alb any good? heard a lot of good things but never bothered

PotsyTater
February 28th 2023


10101 Comments


I forgot about that. I barely remember it but I gave it a 3 which is basically a 1

pizzamachine
February 28th 2023


26996 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy