">
 

Eminem
The Slim Shady EP


4.5
superb

Review

by Onewaytrip2hell USER (4 Reviews)
August 9th, 2006 | 17 replies


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist


Eminem wanted to prove that white people can rap. He was desperate for success, after making quite a few underground tapes, making Infinite, which sadly only sold about 900 or 1,000 copies, attempting suicide,(by legend the night that he wrote Rock Bottom, which is on The Slim Shady LP) and being kept away from his daughter, Hailie, at the time. Finally, he got with the famous producer and rapper, Dr. Dre. He bought a mansion, and released this EP in 1998.

His EP's seem more innovative and fearless than his full productions, especially this one. Songs like If I Had, Just Don't Give A ****, and Just The Two Of Us made it to The Slim Shady LP. They seem slightly differnt on the LP version, but not much. Just The Two Of Us was renamed 97' Bonnie & Clyde, after one line he says about him and Hailie being like Bonnie and Clyde. Here, he talks in baby talk to Hailie, and her voice is used once and a while. This is one of those fearless moments, rapping about how he fantasises to murder Kim, and taking her body in the trunk to dump it in the lake, with Hailie in the car.

My favorite here is No One's Iller than me, which is probably one of the first times Eminem appears on an album with, D12 members, Bizarre and Kuniva, also a rapper called Fuzz. Everyone's raps are good, and the beat has a strange yet irresistable sound to it. The chorus sounds great, with Bizarre rapping it for some reason. It sounds serious, but it's funny when you listen to the lyrics. That's also the case with Murder Murder II, a song about slightly funny violence.

Low, Down, Dirty is also very good. The chorus is catchy, the beats are great, and the production sounds like there's an echo in the background. It's in my opinion the 2nd best on here, and is hilarious. If I Had is very serious, and has the type of idea that Rock Bottom has. It's about what Em wishes he had, and how terrible his life is going. Much like Rock Bottom, it makes you feel sorry for him, instead of making you laugh or smile, like the majority of his songs.

Just Don't Give A **** is hilarious, and came out to be this album's most popular, once TSSLP came out. It has a good beat, and is funny, but also is rapped in a serious tone. I think that rapping amusing lyrics with a serious tone, and even a beat that almost sounds serious makes it even funnier.

Overall, his EP's are just a little bit better than his full productions, because of the fact that they usually have no filler, and just seem less held back. The beats even sound more underground-like sometimes. In my opinion, that's a good thing. This was released right before he got famous making it a good album for any fan to own.

Reccomended tracks: #1: No One's Iller Than Me
#2: Low, Down, Dirty
#3: Just Don't Give A ****
#4: If I Had


user ratings (285)
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Nihilum (4)
Relentlessly dirty in a fresh style, this EP is where Eminem first developed the infamous Slim Shady...

scyther (5)
...

Peter (3.5)
The transformation is complete....



Comments:Add a Comment 
Onewaytrip2hell
August 9th 2006


508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Man, this is short. this actually isn't my first review. Just my first with this account...This Message Edited On 08.09.06

Onewaytrip2hell
August 14th 2006


508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

What the hell, this never showed up on recent posts for days...

The Jungler
August 15th 2006


4826 Comments


Not a bad review, I suppose.

There is alot more eminem I have to look into before this. Including The Slim Shady LP.

Onewaytrip2hell
August 16th 2006


508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks.

Brain Dead
August 28th 2006


1150 Comments


Man, this is even harder to find than the elusive Infinite. I want this so bad, where the fuck can I find it?

Onewaytrip2hell
August 28th 2006


508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sorry, but I downloaded the songs. I actually did see a few on ebay when I looked it up though.

Onewaytrip2hell
August 28th 2006


508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cool; I never saw it in Wal-Mart up here. All I've seen are the five "real" albums at Wal Mart.This Message Edited On 08.28.06

Onewaytrip2hell
September 28th 2006


508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Did Tomohawk34 whatever spam this review? I haven't been on here for a few days, I checked recent posts on my reviews, and his came up for September 27th, but when I clicked on it it wasn't there... Edit: I checked report problem users, to see if anyone said anything about him, and they just said "dumbass posting."This Message Edited On 09.28.06

CanonInD
September 28th 2006


359 Comments


does it matter?

Onewaytrip2hell
September 28th 2006


508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not much. I just wondered what I missed is all.

Phatwoodz
January 2nd 2009


7 Comments


haha, i have the rare vinyl single release for this EP
uhh, when I was reading this I noticed in one line you made it sound like he was already signed by Dr. Dre when he released this
"Finally, he got with the famous producer and rapper, Dr. Dre. He bought a mansion, and released this EP in 1998"

no he was still on Jeff Bass's Web Entertainment label when this was released. thats why it was released in small quantities and (sadly) a rare item nowadays (I want this CD or cassette SO BAD)
oh and to clear things up, Fuzz Scoota (who was featured on No Ones Iller) was a founding member of D12 who later got kicked out after a feud with Bizarre.
AND No Ones Iller samples the beat "Shorty Wannabe A Thug" by 2Pac

JAM3S
May 9th 2009


1 Comments


Actually the Slim Shady EP was released December 06, 1997.
He also wrote it before he became rich, and this one was the tape that got Dre's attention. He didn't buy a mansion and do this EP, he did it in Detroit while still poor. He also made this EP and took it to the rap olympics where he also got noticed by Interscope Records. Jus thought I'd add some right to wrong.

Hollow
May 9th 2009


263 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just Don't Give a Fuck is one of the best tracks ever.

NYdubber
May 13th 2009


99 Comments


nevermindThis Message Edited On 05.13.09

AtavanHalen
May 13th 2009


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

AHM LOW DOWN AN AHM SHIFTY

BASTAG
August 5th 2013


43 Comments


"Finally, he got with the famous producer and rapper, Dr. Dre. He bought a mansion, and released this EP in 1998."

First of all.

He met Dre in 1998, bought a mansion in 1999 and released the EP in 1997. Idiot


DikkoZinner
August 5th 2013


5350 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

He kills it on No One's Iller Than Me



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy