Oozing Wound
We Cater To Cowards


4.0
excellent

Review

by Atari STAFF
January 30th, 2023 | 28 replies


Release Date: 01/27/2023 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Playing in the dirt

Elevated by a dark sense of humor, Oozing Wound’s follow-up to High Anxiety is a spastic good time with one very welcome return feature: even more anxiety! Each track on We Cater To Cowards is a compact-as-fuk mixture of atonal guitars, strung out drum patterns, and Zack Weil’s earsplitting vocals. The impressive deadbeat trio from Chicago have been doing their thing for over a decade now, and it shows. They really nailed the atmosphere on this one, maintaining a sneaky focus even when things feel they’re about to fall apart. Much of the guitar noodling here is unlike anything I’ve heard; the distortion-filled notes seem to grow their own unpredictable tendrils during the most chaotic peaks. That’s not to say it’s always all over the place. Several highlights on We Cater To Cowards”are meatier cuts full of droning, mid-tempo guitars that often feel stuck in a time loop.

Thanks to top-notch production touches, the intense beatdown on instruments at hand feels both muddy and in-your-face at the same time. You can just feel the tension throughout Oozing Wound’s most massive album to date. The best example of this must be “Between Cults”, which continuously builds upon its uneasy layers of sound until it’s robotic, amplified finale that has retro written all over it. I’m not sure if the whacky trio hit up some sleazy Chicago slot machines or played an 80s video game in their basement for inspiration, but it’s some impressive guitar finesse if I’ve ever heard it. Even the most skilled musicians would have a hard time replicating it on a good day. Bottom line: they’re some of the most sci-fi sounding guitars I’ve heard in a hot minute. The album’s relentless and inhuman sound is what sold me: whether it’s the irate and mildly cryptic vocals throughout or the constant swarm of clashing instruments. This thing is a beast. If nothing more, We Cater to Cowards has convinced me that I need more of this kind of noisy bullsh*t in my life. After wading through all this thick sludge, at least two showers will be necessary, but I’m in no rush; I’d almost forgotten how much fun it can be to play in the dirt.



Recent reviews by this author
Spanish Love Songs No JoyTenhi Valkama
Yellowcard Paper WallsThe Hold Steady The Price Of Progress
Fireworks Higher Lonely PowerFlogging Molly Anthem
user ratings (60)
3.7
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2023


27945 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

just a quickie cuz I thought this was a crazy good time. a killer hybrid of noise, metal, hardcore, and more!



https://oozingwound.bandcamp.com/album/we-cater-to-cowards

SlothcoreSam
January 30th 2023


6195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This oozes greatness. Best workout music of the year so far.

TheTripP
January 30th 2023


4495 Comments


great review, definitely checking

SlothcoreSam
January 30th 2023


6195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

More people need to get on this, it's got something for everyone.

BitterJalapenoJr
Contributing Reviewer
January 30th 2023


1023 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Checking first thing tomorrow - great review

Atari
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2023


27945 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the Sloth has spoken



and cheers TripP and BitterJalepenoJr - hope you both enjoy it!

WalrusTusk
January 31st 2023


1800 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Recently dug Mouthbreather's "Too Many Puppies" cover and have been looking for something to scratch that itch since. This is doing it.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
January 31st 2023


27945 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

right on! I'll have to check out Mouthbreather

botb
February 1st 2023


17775 Comments


This sounds sick, good write up!

GhandhiLion
February 1st 2023


17641 Comments


Oh nice, I didn't know they were back

normaloctagon
Contributing Reviewer
February 1st 2023


3954 Comments


nice write up. def gonna peep

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
February 1st 2023


10701 Comments


What I really dig in the album is its "ad infinitum" recursive noise rock patterns.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 1st 2023


27945 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cheers everyone!



and special thx to you for posting the news on this album, Voivod. had no idea this was coming out until you did. definitely a noticeable step up from their last album

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
February 1st 2023


10701 Comments


^^Don't mention it man :-)

I was always checking out Oozing Wound whenever they had a new album out, so here we are, but I was surprised when their sludgy thrash receded for noise rock.

With all analogies accounted for, this album reminds me of the most recent This Is Nowhere album.

BitterJalapenoJr
Contributing Reviewer
February 2nd 2023


1023 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This has passed the 3-listen test with flying colours

Arctick
February 2nd 2023


17 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Slaps



I would also say this review is well written and slaps aswell.

MarsKid
Emeritus
February 2nd 2023


21030 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Some righteously unhinged shit! Enjoying it.

Zac124
February 2nd 2023


2612 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This didn't quite click with me but it certainly had it's great moments. I think I may need to give this another go.

Blizzink
February 2nd 2023


235 Comments


Band rips. Glad they finally got a full review.

rabidfish
February 3rd 2023


8689 Comments


damn, nice to see that this is getting some positive feedback. Earthsuck is a fun album but it feels like they never really did anything interesting after that.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy