Tribunal (CAN)
The Weight Of Remembrance


4.0
excellent

Review

by pizzamachine USER (454 Reviews)
January 23rd, 2023 | 24 replies


Release Date: 01/20/2023 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The weight of guitars.

I seem to be making a habit of comparing some doom metal bands to Draconian, and Tribunal are the next victims. Considering the juxtaposition of clean, female vocals with male harsh vox the comparison is astute. With some string work as well in this doom metal release with lengthy tracks I’m reminded of Draconian’s album Sovran. That album attempted to create an old school doom metal experience, and likewise, Tribunal’s latest almost belongs in another era. Both the production and singing style bring me back to another time, and it is wonderful.

The Weight of Remembrance is packed with moody ambience, and heavy, heavy riffs. Take the second track, which enters with a crushing blast and low gutturals. The track continues to dip down darker, yet beautiful strings accompany, and the result is a haunting presence. The lead singer sounds somewhat similar to Draconian’s original singer throughout the album, with an assertive, spectral command. Combined with echoing growls, the haunted setting provides the perfect motif for various elements to sit comfy.

Perhaps the largest drawback of this fairly somber album is its lack of memorable moments. I wouldn’t say catchiness is the band’s expertise, tracks trudge along to the next growl or whistful melodic guitar segment. Go here and do this — don’t forget that cool riff. Ideas are plentiful, but something to ground them aside from the ambience would’ve been welcome. I’m not saying every track needs a catchy chorus, but something is certainly missing. Unless one is already a fan of this type of doom metal, some may wonder which track is the highlight.

Speaking as a fan of this doom metal variant, this album does almost everything right. It was great to hear the constant focus on heaviness, a motif that kept me engaged. The brutal punch was never sacrificed despite blissful strings and melodies. The vocal work impressed continually, and I look forward to seeing their evolution in future albums. Long story short, this album gets a strong recommendation from me.



Recent reviews by this author
Ravenlight ImmemorialCelestial Wizard Winds of the Cosmos
Twilight Force At the Heart of WintervaleMenage A Un Now Everybody–
Mansion Second DeathFairyland Osyrhianta
user ratings (16)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
pizzamachine
January 23rd 2023


18375 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Enjoy

Chippe
January 23rd 2023


197 Comments


I really do, best doom i've heard in a while.

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2023


17517 Comments


That art looks really early 90s and I don't mean that in a positive way.

pizzamachine
January 23rd 2023


18375 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yes, it looks ancient

clavier
Emeritus
January 23rd 2023


1122 Comments


good to see these folks getting some attention - they're from my town and have been working hard on this project

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2023


17947 Comments


I've been meaning to check this for a couple of weeks now.
Keep them coming, pos'd.


Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2023


28867 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You did it you madman!



I was halfway to write this one but no need now!



Loving this obviously.



@clavier that's really cool!

DDDeftoneDDD
January 23rd 2023


21185 Comments


Will this be the year of doom?

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2023


28867 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I truly hope so.

pizzamachine
January 23rd 2023


18375 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Dewinged: hah beat you to it ;)

@Deftone: it’s looking like it

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2023


17517 Comments


I was halfway to write this one but no need now!

You don't have permission to stop sir!

DDDeftoneDDD
January 23rd 2023


21185 Comments


Yeah pizza jam Ahab again


And maybe again...

Louder

Its awesome

pizzamachine
January 23rd 2023


18375 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Je refusé

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2023


28867 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"You don't have permission to stop sir!"



I'm gonna finish up the Dryad one first and if there's nothing impending next week I may drop it too!

CaptainDooRight
January 24th 2023


78 Comments


Listening now

pizzamachine
January 24th 2023


18375 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Does it riff

CaptainDooRight
January 24th 2023


78 Comments


sounds way sick so far

pizzamachine
January 24th 2023


18375 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That is also my opinion twinsies

manosg
Staff Reviewer
January 24th 2023


12575 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Great stuff, sounds like a cross between My Dying Bride and Jex Thoth.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
January 24th 2023


28867 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Guess I'll have to check Jex Thoth



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2022 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy