Mac DeMarco
Five Easy Hot Dogs


2.5
average

Review

by SandwichBubble USER (69 Reviews)
January 22nd, 2023 | 71 replies


Release Date: 01/20/2023 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Mac takes it even easier.

It’s been over a decade since the release of Mac DeMarco’s 2. It feels like ages ago, but on release, that album practically redefined 2010s indie, for better or worse. His particular brand of jangly, low-key soft pop toed the line between D.I.Y. basement recordings and safe-for-work backyard BBQ tunes in a way that seemed to cast an impressively-large net. The success he’s seen up to the present day only proves that notion, with a dedicated fanbase/hatemob at his beck and call whenever either is needed.

There is a lot you can say about the man’s more recent output (and I’m sure those people won’t be shy in saying it), but for what it’s worth, I didn’t think 2019’s Here Comes the Cowboy was the career self-destruct a lot of people portrayed it as. It is certainly a step down from DeMarco’s previous efforts, and there are some questionable choices here and there, but it didn’t stray from the direction he was trending towards for years. I’ve probably said as much at some point in the past. Everyone seemed to disagree with that opinion, but I can live with that.

Well, I hate to be a broken record, but Five Easy Hot Dogs is the exact same beast. Forgoing vocals or hooks, and possibly good taste, Mac DeMarco has completed another phase in his Jimmy-Buffett-ification. Someday very soon, I expect to see him touring on a Carnival cruise ship to a gaggle of very happy 30-somethings, practically soggy with nostalgia. Because while this album may not be as outwardly offensive to some people as Here Comes the Cowboy was, it is the one thing that Mac hasn’t been since he started out: completely ignorable. An artist, who at one point was impossible to escape hype/anti-hype for, quietly slinks into the background on Five Easy Hot Dogs, like wisps of cigarette smoke into a 3mph wind.

Okay, I’m being hyperbolic. I don’t even particularly hate this record. Parts of it are actually pretty alright (“Victoria,” “Chicago,” “Rockaway”). But other than those few select tracks, it’s difficult to even conjure words about this release. It’s exactly what you would expect an album of Mac DeMarco instrumentals would sound like. It’s exactly what DeMarco himself described it as. And it’s exactly what most of the internet was prepared for. A curiosity or a nice stopgap between now and his next release, but nothing else.

Mac DeMarco’s steady, awkward shuffle towards elevator muzak has me expecting some sort of rug-pull at any moment. It’s hard to view Five Easy Hot Dogs as anything more than a “gotcha!” to punk his cloying fans for asking for the same old shtick for so long. From what I’ve seen, the man’s self-aware enough to be in on the joke (that is, himself). And that’s fine. Maybe this really is the kind of music he wants to make. All I know is that this just doesn’t sound like any fun.



Recent reviews by this author
Palm (USA-PA) Nicks and GrazesThe Orielles Tableau
The Wedding Present BizarroArcade Fire WE
Femme Generation Brothers and Sisters, Alone We ExplodeFACS Present Tense
user ratings (21)
2.7
average


Comments:Add a Comment 
SandwichBubble
January 22nd 2023


13432 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Stream: https://macdemarco.bandcamp.com/album/five-easy-hot-dogs

Been a while since I wrote anything, but I was bored.

Perfect album to review then, amiright fellas? Leave a like.

theBoneyKing
January 22nd 2023


23164 Comments


So this is an objectivity booster eh?

SandwichBubble
January 22nd 2023


13432 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

People seem to like it more than Here Comes the Cowboy going by early RYM ratings, which is baffling to me, but it's something. Maybe try it if you like instrumental soft rock?

It's not really bad, it's just really nothing.

AnusNballs
January 22nd 2023


183 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It’s as if he’s telling fans to move on lol

SandwichBubble
January 22nd 2023


13432 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Honestly feels that way, yes.

We're gonna have eggs on our collective faces when he releases his surprise jangle pop masterpiece next month.

normaloctagon
Contributing Reviewer
January 22nd 2023


1772 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice write up sandwich. always nice to see mac covered on the site. predict i'll feel similarly but with a slightly higher rating

SandwichBubble
January 22nd 2023


13432 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks man.

The consensus on RYM seems to be "this would be good music to study/shop/sunbathe to," so if that's your heart's 3/5, go for it.

Cormano
January 22nd 2023


3802 Comments


"that album practically redefined 2010s indie, for better or worse."

oh it was definitely for worse

didn't know this was out already, might check out of curiosity

SandwichBubble
January 22nd 2023


13432 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

You said it, not me.

I should add that I was referring to "popular 2010s indie" with that line, if such a term exists. Plenty of darlings with 2 ratings in there.

DoofDoof
January 22nd 2023


12468 Comments


It is funny that everything about this release screams ‘don’t bother’ - fact it’s instrumental, fact the track names tell you next to nothing, fact the cover art tells you next to nothing, fact the album title tells you next to nothing…

SandwichBubble
January 22nd 2023


13432 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm already over this. I'm just wondering what interesting element is next on the chopping block. This time we got rid of the vocals, so guitar's the next to go? Or maybe the drum machine? The possibilities are countable on one hand.

SandwichBubble
January 22nd 2023


13432 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Also, I don't know why I noticed this, but Gualala 2 has a part that sounds exactly like Wind Scene/600AD from Chrono Trigger.



I'm a fuckin loser, wow.

Good game though.

butt.
January 22nd 2023


10192 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I’m boarding a flight to St Lucia, so this is the perfect thing to doze off to.

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
January 22nd 2023


4559 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Real nice review. Album is pleasant enough but pretty forgettable.



It's interesting to me that This Old Dog was by far his best from my perspective and then everything as been downhill from there.

normaloctagon
Contributing Reviewer
January 22nd 2023


1772 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

heck yeah sunny this old dog was a marvel i agree

Cormano
January 22nd 2023


3802 Comments


oh I didn't realise this had no vocals, bit weird that one of my favorite songs of his is instrumental hah, now I'm genuinely curious about this

@sunny agree hard about This Old Dog

Manatea
January 22nd 2023


857 Comments


My interest is piqued. Will check later today. Nice rev tho! Pos’d. :]

SandwichBubble
January 22nd 2023


13432 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks all.

I don't agree with all the people saying this old dog is his best, but I can at least understand it. Seems to be the middle ground that a lot of people want from him. I dunno, maybe this will play better with you all.

GhandhiLion
January 22nd 2023


16270 Comments


woah rare bubble review. pos

Colton
January 22nd 2023


17768 Comments


ain't no such thing as an easy hotdog. my uncle tried to teach me that as a kid, had to learn the hard way though



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2022 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy