The Murder Capital
Gigi's Recovery


4.0
excellent

Review

by Sunnyvale STAFF
January 21st, 2023 | 33 replies


Release Date: 01/20/2023 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The sophomore bump

The Murder Capital’s debut, 2019’s When I Have Fears, was released to general approval but also drew frequent comparisons to fellow Dubliners Fontaines D.C., who had released their own acclaimed debut, Dogrel, a few months prior. While given the timing, the shared city of origin, and the fact that both bands can reasonably be described as post-punk revival, these connections aren’t particularly surprising, I’d say they were a bit overblown. While The Murder Capital’s first effort had moments reminiscent of Fontaines D.C.’s sardonic sense of melancholy, these were interposed with a wider range of styles. Indeed, while When I Have Fears demonstrated a band with obvious promise, it was its lack of coherence throughout the record which proved an Achilles heel.

That gripe is something that the band has remedied with their second effort. The Murder Capital are still pretty dark (they should be, with that name, after all), with a menacing edge and a touch of the Gothic. Gigi’s Recovery summons up a grimy urban vision, if one tempered by frequent references to the skies, the sun, the moon, the stars. While this dichotomy might seem odd, it just works, bringing a kind of grandeur to the sense of grit which otherwise pervades. This balance dominates the album in other ways as well: the lyrics to “The Lie Becomes The Self” might be disturbing, for example, but the track’s instrumental ending is unexpectedly gorgeous. Meanwhile, “Return My Head” represents the record at its most straightforwardly catchy, but descends into abrasiveness by its conclusion. And while most of the release can be fairly characterized as downcast, a song like “Only Good Things” brings a jaunty beat and romantic lyrics while not breaking the general vibe. Together, the twelve tracks emerge as a textured and nuanced whole, rather unsettling but occasionally beautiful.

More than anything, I’d describe Gigi’s Recovery as an “interesting” record. There are plenty of immediately-engrossing moments, like the dramatic vocal narration of “The Stars Will Leave Their Stage” or the rousing solo in “A Thousand Lives”, but mostly what I return for is the sense of development within songs and from one track to another. This is an album which manages to cover a lot of territory in under fifty minutes, even if the brief intro and outro tracks don’t feel fully fleshed out (my largest criticism). With any luck, this album will be enough to get The Murder Capital out of their more famous compatriots’ shadow and earn themselves a deserved place in the limelight of a resurgent post-punk scene.



Recent reviews by this author
Parannoul After The MagicComplete Mountain Almanac Complete Mountain Almanac
Misthyrming Með hamriDriftless Perfect Blue
Ofdrykkja After The StormAnna Mieke Theatre
user ratings (38)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
January 21st 2023


4558 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My first review of 2023!



Album rules.

Icebloom
January 21st 2023


590 Comments


Cool, gonna check. I remember liking their debut but it didn't stick with me.
Nice summary btw!

Cormano
January 21st 2023


3802 Comments


is this windmill scene related or is it actually good

will check regardless

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
January 21st 2023


4558 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Icebloom!



And no it's not, Cormano.

SlothcoreSam
January 21st 2023


5272 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review, yeah this is a great album!



Ethel has Old School Killers vibes.

Slex
January 21st 2023


15348 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm in love with this album

SandwichBubble
January 22nd 2023


13432 Comments


Apparently I missed their debut on release. This sounds like my type of thing.
Good review.

Cayit
January 22nd 2023


38 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great Album !

DoofDoof
January 22nd 2023


12468 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Some people say the middle of the album is a weak point but I like the atmospherics of 'Belonging', definitely thinking this is an album 'better than the sum of its parts' etc

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
January 22nd 2023


4558 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks guys!



Agreed @Doof, none of the songs here truly blow me away individually but taken as a whole it's excellent.

theBoneyKing
January 22nd 2023


23164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review Sunny. I’m definitely digging this a bit more than the debut, not sure I love it but there are some great highlights. Do think I’m in the “middle is weak” camp though. At least for Stars Will Leave and Belonging, love The Lie Becomes though.

ToSmokMuzyki
January 23rd 2023


3908 Comments


the new robert munsch looking swag

twlight
January 23rd 2023


7369 Comments


St Louis right?

god bless my ex girlfriend

fogza
Contributing Reviewer
January 23rd 2023


7050 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"is this windmill scene related or is it actually good"



lol



irish post punk revival > windmill

Slex
January 23rd 2023


15348 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I simply cannot stop listening to this

theBoneyKing
January 23rd 2023


23164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Why did the cover get switched back to the incorrect one again?

StickFeit
January 23rd 2023


2147 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album really surprised me, really digging this sound.

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2023


4558 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Boney, what are you referring to? I've only seen this artwork...

Cormano
January 23rd 2023


3802 Comments


"irish post punk revival > windmill"

don't think ive heard any of those acts yet, shoot me some recs


Slex
January 23rd 2023


15348 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Check out the band Shame



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2022 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy