Twilight Force
At the Heart of Wintervale


4.0
excellent

Review

by pizzamachine USER (454 Reviews)
January 21st, 2023 | 66 replies


Release Date: 01/20/2023 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The journey that never ends.

It was on the eve of a certain day when my ears beheld a gleaming treasure. ‘twas a day of chaos and bore, yet Twilight Force entered the room as if to say there was such light still left in the world. I clutched the pearl they gave me with a full heart, and entered a wayward fantasy lost through the ages. On that eventful moment I discovered Twilight Force’s symphonic power metal to be superior - above most. Journeying on a cinematic musical adventure similar to watching certain Disney movies, I found myself hopelessly captured. It was their album Heroes of Mighty Magic that stole me away, and I knew I would never desire to leave. However, Dawn of the Dragonstar came. Indeed, the next album in the band’s beautifully crafted agenda introduced new elements, and left. I would surely have to wait forever and a day for a new album.

What if I told you that day has come?

Behold, Twilight Force’s new album, the epic continuation of their seismically powerful soundscape realized. It is everything you want and more, but perhaps just maybe… too much of it? No matter, once again the intensely cathartic soundtrack fulfillment paints an enriching picture. It is a band that lives and breathes in the story they sing, with the lead man singing higher than the highest mountains while the double bass is absolutely mashed. Everything is exactly as it was before, down to the most minute detail possible.

At the Heart of Wintervale is as epic as an album from the band can be. Chimes, choirs, it’s all here, and it is quite magical. And so it goes, where I wonder how far their style can reach. Currently the symphonic side is sitting at 60% whereas metal is 40%, and while it works, I’m still waiting to be surprised. You see, the songs sound the same, with the same type of riffs, drum beats, and bombastic horns, etc. It’s not fresh anymore and less varied than the previous album perhaps. Nonetheless, it’s still exciting to hear their cinematic take on power metal, but the band are a one-trick pony. A shiny pony that exceeds every other pony at the power metal fair, however.

Will you join the fight? It is your decision, completely dependant on how much cheesiness you can stomach. Apparently my gut is made for this stuff; give me more sing-along melodies and I’m a happy man. Ultimately, I am satisfied with this new release despite my minor gripes. I will be frolicking in these dwarf mountain harmonies for quite some time. I don’t need to defend this opinion too greatly, I’ll let the album sing for itself.



Recent reviews by this author
Ravenlight ImmemorialCelestial Wizard Winds of the Cosmos
Tribunal (CAN) The Weight Of RemembranceMenage A Un Now Everybody–
Mansion Second DeathFairyland Osyrhianta
user ratings (21)
3.5
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
pizzamachine
January 21st 2023


18375 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It is out! Now for my review break

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
January 21st 2023


28867 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Killer review!



Heard the first track and immediately got Keeper of the Seven Keys vibes, sold.

pizzamachine
January 21st 2023


18375 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks. Helloween rule m/

ToSmokMuzyki
January 21st 2023


3908 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

oooooooooooooooooommmmmmmmmmffffffffffffffgggggggggggggggggggggg

ToSmokMuzyki
January 21st 2023


3908 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

this kind of sucks actually theyre out of ideas

ChaoticVortex
January 21st 2023


1420 Comments


Honestly feel like these guys took the mantle from Rhapsody of Fire as the number one dragon metal band.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
January 21st 2023


17947 Comments

Album Rating: 2.7

" Will you join the fight? "



I'm always up for some quality power cheese. Glad you reviewed it, I'll be checking this over the weekend. Pos’d

pizzamachine
January 21st 2023


18375 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha they do mention dragons a lot in this album.

Thanks for the pos, it will offset user Get Low’s auto neg



Elynna
January 21st 2023


1247 Comments


The embedded pixel art track was rad. Will check this in full in the coming days

manosg
Staff Reviewer
January 21st 2023


12575 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

My lest favourite of theirs, but still very fun.



Great job on the review as always.

pizzamachine
January 21st 2023


18375 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Certainly not their best. Thanks very much

ToSmokMuzyki
January 21st 2023


3908 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

def their weakest by far i am disappoint



still the knight tracks tho

ToSmokMuzyki
January 21st 2023


3908 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

me during a familiar memory:



SO BEHOLD THE FLIGHT OF THE SAPPHIRE DRAGON



SOARING THROUGH THE SKIES ONCE AGAIN

pizzamachine
January 21st 2023


18375 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha nice

Dmax28
January 21st 2023


1148 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yea felt like this was their weakest. The midtempo generic stuff is the weakes part of their sound and there is quite a bit of that on here. The last track is pretty much a non event and the other long track is good but sort of standard as well. Well composed for sure but not that exciting. The first three songs are pretty great. Especially Dragonborn. I expected more after the last album, which is incredible. More shredding, more riffing, and more creative songwriting than on this, and much more substantial package as well. Still I can't help but highly appreciate this band for taking it to this level

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
January 22nd 2023


17947 Comments

Album Rating: 2.7

The lads have an ambitious approach with good arrangements but the songwriting leaves a bit to be desired.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
January 22nd 2023


12575 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

Yup, this is my opinion about this album as well. If you have time Notrap, maybe their debut is a better choice.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
January 22nd 2023


17947 Comments

Album Rating: 2.7

I'll take a peek, manosg ;)

manosg
Staff Reviewer
January 22nd 2023


12575 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

Nice, hope you enjoy it more bud!

rockarollacola
January 23rd 2023


1950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Love this band. Not as good as their previous album, but still a big step above most of their contemporaries. Dragonborn is such a pleasant and happy jam.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2022 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy