High Command
Eclipse of the Dual Moons


4.0
excellent

Review

by manosg EMERITUS
November 29th, 2022 | 30 replies


Release Date: 2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Swords and riffs: a match made in heaven (or hell).

Fantasy themes and hard rock have long been associated, as seen by songs like "The Wizard" by Black Sabbath and "Immigrant Song" by Led Zeppelin, from the early days of the genre. After that, bands like Rainbow, Wishbone Ash, Queen, and Hawkwind carried the torch, and by the 1980s and 1990s, fantasy lyrics were being used often.

On their sophomore release, Worcester's High Command have created an outstanding piece of crossover thrash metal with sword and sorcery lyrics. It is clear that Eclipse of the Dual Moons doesn't play around right from the bat; the furious guitar work and the raspy vocals combine to create an aggressive yet compelling offering. Nevertheless, and despite the name-dropping, this is neither a nostalgia act nor a gimmick; rather, it is a mashup of venerable '80s heavy metal acts like Slayer, Sepultura, Celtic Frost, and early Metallica. The groovy mid-tempo sections provide the required breathing room among the faster sections, and it is actually the masterful use of dynamics that sets it apart from other albums.

As cliché as it may sound, the sheer number of riffs on this album not only adds to its variety but also makes it more enjoyable to listen to again and again. With its gradual build-up, mid-paced rhythm, and sporadic violent riffs, "Imposing Hammers of Cold Sorcery" (song title of the year candidate) is an excellent example of how to combine all the aforementioned characteristics. "Fortified by Bloodshed," another standout track, demonstrates the group's traditional metal influences. With so many tools at their disposal, it's not surprising that High Command attempted and successfully completed a 12-minute epic; "Spire of Secartha" has Mercyful Fate-like twists and turns, while its outro reminded me of Metallica's "To Live is to Die."

Even if Eclipse of the Dual Moons doesn't offer anything new, lovers of '80s Bay Area thrash metal should give it a try because of the band's skill with both songwriting and execution. The epic element, as always, elevates everything, and the 50-minute length makes it suitable for multiple listens.




Recent reviews by this author
Sacred Outcry Towers of GoldShores of Null The Loss of Beauty
Ellende EllenbogengesellschaftFredlos Fredlös
Jeff Beck TruthStone Axe Stay of Execution
user ratings (71)
3.8
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
Emeritus
November 29th 2022


12709 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Check this out before compiling your year-end lists.

artificialbox
November 29th 2022


1757 Comments


Nice review. I really liked their last record so I’m stoked to give this a solid listen later

manosg
Emeritus
November 29th 2022


12709 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks! This actually came out of nowhere for me, as I was unfamiliar with their debut. From a quick listen, this sounds a bit more refined.

frozencarl
November 29th 2022


1661 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

band owns so hard. saw them open for Spirit Adrift before they even had a full length out and it melted my face off

garas
Staff Reviewer
November 29th 2022


8079 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

You sold this to me in the second pharagraph. :0

manosg
Emeritus
November 29th 2022


12709 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Nice! You'll probably have a blast jamming this one, garas.

combustion07
November 29th 2022


12822 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Just discovered these guys the other day and definitely agree with you on the quality here. This shit rules. Great review man

Zac124
November 29th 2022


2742 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ok, this sounds awesome and sounds like it is exactly my cup of tea. Will definitely check this out.

MoM
November 29th 2022


5994 Comments


🤯 had me within the first minute

Detective Dan
November 30th 2022


261 Comments


I can't listen to this in my car because it makes me drive too fast

botb
November 30th 2022


17918 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Band rules, stoked to check

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 30th 2022


10743 Comments


-- Check this out before compiling your year-end lists.

Will check and reconsider, thanks for the heads up.



Edit:
Just saw that I enjoyed their previous album and debut EP, will expedite check out.

manosg
Emeritus
November 30th 2022


12709 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Appreciate the kind words, guys! Been a while since my last review, so there's a lot of rust to shake. Hope you enjoy this one.

Piripichotes
November 30th 2022


794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've been having lots of fun with this record, like you said, no gimmicks, no nostalgia BS, straight up balls to the wall riffage and anger.... love it.



Why the crossover tag tho? I feel this closer to classic metal than to hardcore and punk....

Great review nonetheless.

south_of_heaven 11
November 30th 2022


5612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album fucking rips

InfernalDeity
Contributing Reviewer
November 30th 2022


598 Comments


Yup I fucked up

InfernalDeity
Contributing Reviewer
November 30th 2022


598 Comments


Killer write up by the way

memnite
November 30th 2022


110 Comments


great review - gonna blast this during my workout today

manosg
Emeritus
November 30th 2022


12709 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thank you all for the kind words. Metal Archives has uploaded the album lyrics and I can't wait to give this one another spin while reading them.

ChaoticVortex
December 1st 2022


1596 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the recommend manosg, jammed through these guys work in the last two days, super solid, crunchy, Teutonic-influenced thrash with some early 80's blackend vibes and superb "retro" production. Fun as hell.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy