Johnny Booth
Storyteller


4.0
excellent

Review

by Mike K. USER (21 Reviews)
November 17th, 2022 | 50 replies


Release Date: 11/04/2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: One word: Slaps

Sometimes the best things in life are short and sweet. Johnny Booth’s most recent release, Storyteller, falls squarely into that category.

There isn’t a whole lot to be said here other than if you want twelve-plus minutes of feeling what it’s like to be punched in the face while riding a very fast roller-coaster (and liking it), look no further. Between breakneck speed, chaotically shifting riffs and patterns, adrenaline fueling breakdowns, and the occasional moment of breathing room, Johnny Booth deliver an incredibly fun and musically sound EP.

For the most part this EP ticks off all of the check boxes of what I'm looking for in a wild hardcore romp. The push and pull between the rapidly shifting melodies, riffs and breakdowns is controlled chaos at some of its finest, all of it being supplemented by excellent drum and bass work. The vocal work hits the sweet spot between raw and "this guy's gonna need surgery on his vocal cords soon." Each of the first three songs has their own unique feel and each one emphasizes a slightly different genre while maintaining a cohesive unity. (Special mention to "Deepfake" as being a particular highlight.)

The only complaint to be made is the closing track which, while not bad per se, is too stylistically different to really belong on this EP and the contrast grates a bit much. That complaint, however, is relatively minor compared to the overall enjoyableness of this little collection of songs.

I don’t always get excited about EPs, but I don't normally get to listen to EPs that are this good. Buckle up gents, this roller-coaster ride may be short, but it slaps.



Recent reviews by this author
Snarky Puppy Empire CentralS'efforcer Metamorphosis
Dayseeker Dark SunFit for a King The Hell We Create
Sleeping With Sirens Complete CollapseBilmuri GOBLIN HOURS
user ratings (65)
3.8
excellent
related reviews

Firsthand Accounts


Comments:Add a Comment 
Manatea
November 17th 2022


609 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Slaps

m/

Asura14
November 17th 2022


488 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"The only complaint to be made is the closing track which, while not bad per se, is too stylistically different to really belong on this EP and the contrast grates a bit much."



It's a cover of Millionaire from QOTSA, I actually really dig it and it's completely unexpected

Manatea
November 17th 2022


609 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Had no idea about that. But knowing that… I might like it better. I’ll try again.

SteakByrnes
November 17th 2022


28272 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

slaps cock

Manatea
November 17th 2022


609 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hell yeah it doessssss

Josh D.
November 17th 2022


17760 Comments


Whhaattt I didn't even know this was coming and now I'm about to

Manatea
November 17th 2022


609 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Have funnnnnnn joshy

Asura14
November 17th 2022


488 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

4.0s unite

DiscoveringAxiom
November 17th 2022


56 Comments


The Queens of the Stone Age cover took me by surprise; album does indeed slap

Defmytones
November 17th 2022


55 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Slappity slap slap. I also agree about the QOTSA ending. Not bad by any means, but when you have three tracks that go so damn hard it's quite the juxtaposition ending with that.

Calc
November 17th 2022


16992 Comments


yeah very cool cover idea. I really only listen to crowd control from this though. I'll just wait until a full length comes out

jmh886
November 17th 2022


2756 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

is this an actual EP, or just some release with songs that will eventually be on an LP? I hate listening to the latter cuz then I will play the songs out before the LP drops.

goodsitebaduserbase
November 17th 2022


75 Comments


when will all drums and guitar stop being mixed like this

Rawmeeth38
November 17th 2022


2356 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Reminds me of Greyhaven

Gyromania
November 17th 2022


35677 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Dick

nash1311
November 17th 2022


5276 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Def did not need another core cover of that song

JayEnder
November 17th 2022


16304 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Whips sack



Can't wait for the actual album next year

SaveBandit
November 17th 2022


2900 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Deleted the cover song, but the other 3 are super rad. My only complaint is that it's not a full length. These dudes rule so hard.

Zac124
November 17th 2022


785 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You are right. This slaps.

nipplehair
November 17th 2022


51 Comments


My only qualm is that 2 of the 4 songs have been out for nearly a year. And the last track on the album doesn't really mesh. I'm always down for new JB.. just wish they'd drop a full album with all brand new material



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy