Fleshwater
We're Not Here To Be Loved


4.5
superb

Review

by Tyler W. CONTRIBUTOR (86 Reviews)
November 5th, 2022 | 550 replies


Release Date: 11/01/2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: the ducky's debut

Toeing the line between melody and aggression, We’re Not Here to Be Loved is like a captivating two-sided story. Fleshwater’s debut balances the group’s ‘veiny tendencies’ with a sense of tranquility. Throughout the entirety of the record, catchy melodic progressions and dreamy vocals are contrasted by eerily dissonant riffs and abrasive screams. “Baldpate Driver” and “Closet” showcase the darker slow burn melodies of We’re Not Here to Be Loved, full of hazy guitar progressions complemented by Mirsy’s soaring cleans and Anthony’s backing melodies and screams. “Enjoy,” a surprising cover of Bjork, is a brooding track that leans heavily into the eerie side of Fleshwater, with Anthony’s distorted cleans haunting their way throughout the song. On the other hand, “Kiss the Ladder” and “Woohoo” display the high energy of the group, featuring upbeat drum grooves and gritty guitars amplified by Mirsy’s beautiful melodies.

However, the Fleshwater sound is best exemplified through the closer. “Foreign” showcases every side of the group’s capabilities, displaying the perfected balance between melody and aggression. Opening with heavy dissonant riffs, similar to that of Vein.fm, the track soon evolves into hazy guitars that lay down a fluid background for Mirsy and Anthony to trade off vocal duties. Mixing dreamy lead work with the nightmarish melodic progressions creates an eerie juxtaposition between the beautiful and the abrasive. Moreover, “Foreign” combines the various moods presented throughout We’re Not Here to Be Loved, bringing together the high energy moments of the verses, the slow burner feeling of the bridge, and the broodingly dark conclusion of the album. This closer encapsulates the entirety of the record in a single track, tying together Fleshwater’s outstanding debut. Yet “Foreign,” while capturing the uniqueness of the group in one song, makes you want to relisten to all of these moments individually. With each passing listen, Fleshwater draws you in for more. We’re Not Here to Be Loved is more than just an impressive debut; it is a statement of a band that has already found their stride and delivers.



Recent reviews by this author
SVMMERCAMP WillowCounterparts A Eulogy for Those Still Here
Slipknot The End, So FarI Prevail True Power
Oceans Ate Alaska DisparityDomestic Terminal All The Stories Left To Tell
user ratings (218)
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Mr. Pizza (3.5)
Ducky’s Big Adventure: A Story About Confidence...



Comments:Add a Comment 
tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
November 5th 2022


3840 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

took a minute to actually write stuff, but thanks to Jesper for the help!

anyway, love the record, and every time I try to listen to something else, I just get drawn right back to this

JayEnder
November 5th 2022


16259 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

duck

Slex
November 5th 2022


15233 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album and band are stunning, Kiss The Ladder is one of the best songs I've ever heard



Love how absolutely relentless the pacing of this album is too

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
November 5th 2022


3840 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

definitely dig Kiss The Ladder, but there's just something about Woohoo and Foreign

Vinnymcscoop
November 5th 2022


409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Duck [2]

Slex
November 5th 2022


15233 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My top 3 are Kiss The Ladder, Woohoo and Enjoy

Vinnymcscoop
November 5th 2022


409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

@slex top three also for me

MoM
November 5th 2022


1022 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Duck [3]

tyman128
Contributing Reviewer
November 5th 2022


3840 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Enjoy is amazing, had no clue it was a cover lol

Slex
November 5th 2022


15233 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The instrumentation is so intense on Enjoy, would not have known either if Jake hadn't told me lol

JayEnder
November 5th 2022


16259 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Awesome review. Said everything that needed to be said in two paragraphs. Well done fellas :]



Foreign is pretty much the greatest thing ever. Start to finish tho the vibes are divine here. Way better than the new Vein mostly because Kurt Ballou nailed the production, while Putney's was a swing and a miss imo. These guys (and girl) combine lush gaze and dissonant heaviness in such a spectacular way, solid af musicians and I can't wait to hear what they come up with next. Happy as hell with this album.

Vinnymcscoop
November 5th 2022


409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I always love some tense guitars and drums

Vinnymcscoop
November 5th 2022


409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

GOOSE!

Slex
November 5th 2022


15233 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There's an urgency and fluidity to the way this band operates and it's mesmerizing



Also love how 90's this is, opener is exceptional Hum worship

nash1311
November 5th 2022


5218 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Basic 💁🏻‍♂️

Vinnymcscoop
November 5th 2022


409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

@nash1311 ah well, not everyone can ENJOY it

Vinnymcscoop
November 5th 2022


409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I need more audio samples in here, they just put a lot of emotion into the tracks

nash1311
November 5th 2022


5218 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I wanted to, but was underwhelmed. Maybe it was over hyped for me? Not sure.



There were flashes of brilliance and I also dug the older school vibes, but didn’t do much else for me ☹️

Purpl3Spartan
November 5th 2022


6024 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

DUCK (4)

JayEnder
November 5th 2022


16259 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

NOW I DON'T WANNA BE ANYONEEEEEE



ANYMOOOREEEEEEE



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy