Sleeping With Sirens
Complete Collapse


3.0
good

Review

by Mike K. CONTRIBUTOR (53 Reviews)
October 20th, 2022 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Maybe they should collapse more often…

For those of you who have journeyed through the post-hardcore soundscape since the mid-2000s, you will remember Sleeping With Sirens as a fairly forgettable five-piece band that emerged in the early 2010s on the heels of groups such as Saosin, Pierce The Veil, Silverstein, A Skylit Drive, and Broadway. The problem with such comparisons is that Kellin Quinn and co. weren't very good, and were quickly dismissed by enthusiasts such as myself as leeches who were capitalizing on the aesthetic without having the talent to boot.

That being said, that unoriginal, uninspired, formulaic debut from Sleeping With Sirens has been, to date, their best record. You see, despite the sheer shallowness of their songwriting, at least it seemed like they were trying, and because timing is everything, their debut happened to drop right as that niche of post-hardcore was exploding. So what happened? Sleeping With Sirens’ brand of quasi-breakdowns, punkish verses, and Quinn’s near-androgynous vocals became, well, popular (specifically with the Hot Topic crowd). Result? Sleeping With Sirens turned into a post-cock rock band that churned out a string of releases that were unquestionably bad.

That is, until now. Sort of.

Complete Collapse, despite it's title, is ironically a notch better than anything released by this band since their debut. Does that make it good? Not necessarily. It’s still derivative or systematic or [insert synonym here]. What makes it different this time around is that Sleeping With Sirens are finally a tad bit aware of the fact that they are putting out music that is not really original, so some effort has been put into at least making it enjoyable.

The album kicks off with the unremarkable, yet catchy, “Tyrants,” and pretty much keeps the same feel from there. The song structures are all very similar, the breakdowns sound the same, and the lyrics are terrible, but like I said earlier, there is a self-awareness about the music that makes it feel less forced and more fun. It’s as if Sleeping With Sirens stopped trying to make music to only appease a certain mob and are trying to figure out what it means to have fun making music for themselves again.

Probably the unlikeliest and yet most evident improvement is Quinn’s vocal performance. I was genuinely shocked to find his contribution far less annoying than anything I have heard from him thus far. While Quinn still sings in an almost countertenor range, it is not as strained or cringe-worthy as it has been in the past. Furthermore, there are several vocal features such as Spencer Chamberlain on “Crosses,” that add some needed variety. The instrumentals are solid if nothing else, and what they lack in originality, they valiantly attempt at making up for with their energy.

So no, this is no album for serious music. It’s not even really an album for good music. You might listen to it, and I can almost guarantee that you won't come back to it. But you know what? It’s got its moments, and it’s just barely fun enough to dial out the internal music connoisseur a little bit and enjoy it for what it’s worth.



Recent reviews by this author
Bloom (AUS) Maybe in Another LifeGalleons Violent Delights
Ameonna Goddess WeptInfant Island Obsidian Wreath
Blind Equation Death AwaitsHarm's Way (USA-IL) Common Suffering
user ratings (42)
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Manatea
Contributing Reviewer
October 20th 2022


1851 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Idk. I kind of liked this… I know that’s deeply wrong…

AYakkingYak
October 20th 2022


25 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think Lets Cheers is better than the first, but I agree that this album is probably one of their best so far. I also enjoyed their last album. It seems like they are trying their best to make everyone forget about Gossip, which is arguably one of the worst albums I've ever heard from a band that isn't Blood on the Dance Floor or something. I saw them live in early 2020 and they didn't play a single song from that album.

Manatea
Contributing Reviewer
October 20th 2022


1851 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Broadwayyyy. I miss 2009-era Broadway…

Yeah I personally never liked these guys much owing to Quinn’s vocals. But I gave this album a chance and I didn’t hate it.

MoM
October 20th 2022


5994 Comments


Fucking Broadway. I always forget about them until someone brings them up and then I hear Last Saturday’s “LOOONELYYYYYY HEEEEEEARTS” in my head

I like these guy’s first album and a song from the album after, but beyond that, nothing. Still, good review! Probably won’t check this, but my curiosity is satisfied.

I wonder how the band’s sound would improve if they went an Emery route with another singer or two to balance out Quinn and give more variety, but I dunno

MoM
October 20th 2022


5994 Comments


Kingdoms was so damn fun back in high school! Felt like summer.

I irrationally hated these guys for a while too. Was like “hue hue hue nerds” and then, like you, I checked the debut out after a few years and was like “oh, this kinda rules”

Then happened to catch them live and it’s still “hue hue hue”

Manatea
Contributing Reviewer
October 20th 2022


1851 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Kingdoms slaps sooooo hard. Kinda funny we’re all having high school nostalgia right now lol

MoM
October 20th 2022


5994 Comments


Certain shit just lasts forever sometimes. I was in high school roughly that same time, Steak, so I feel ya. Getting flashbacks to car speakers bumping ADTR and breakdowns right now

Manatea
Contributing Reviewer
October 20th 2022


1851 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ohhh shit yeah I graduated in 2010. But yeah I definitely have a throwback playlist and still listen to Enemy of the World at least once every two to three months so… I understand lol.

MoM
October 20th 2022


5994 Comments


That’s still a great album.

Goddamn, I wouldn’t go back in time, but it’s so gnarly that this shit was as big as it was, Hot Topic was the Gucci of high school, and that it was common to see deathcore lyrics on T-shirts. God, everything sucked

Manatea
Contributing Reviewer
October 21st 2022


1851 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

For real. Good times musically.

mkmusic1995
Contributing Reviewer
October 21st 2022


1552 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

This was way more fun than it has any right to be. Songwriting is so much better than the last few records, lyrics are meh but I look past that if the songs themselves are fun.

pjquinones747
October 21st 2022


4219 Comments


I'm sure it's better than the garbage they put out in recent years but I know better than to listen expecting to enjoy it by now.

MoM
October 21st 2022


5994 Comments


Pretty much how I’m going about Architects

pjquinones747
October 21st 2022


4219 Comments


Yeah imma go drop the same comment on that new Architects thread LOL

pjquinones747
October 21st 2022


4219 Comments


Wait, nevermind. That would be a lie. I have no way of verifying if Architects' new album will be even worse or not. SWS has been bad so they're due for an uptick of sorts, Architects waited a decade and a half to start being bad so they might have some staying power there.

mkmusic1995
Contributing Reviewer
October 21st 2022


1552 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Had more fun with this than Architects if that helps lol

MoM
October 21st 2022


5994 Comments


@pj
That’s true! Architects slammed the brakes so hard that I’ve lost all faith in them, but I could be wrong

For all the potential SWS had, the shat the bed too hard to come back

Manatea
Contributing Reviewer
October 22nd 2022


1851 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Tbh I haven’t listened to a damned thing by Architects since All Our Gods Have Abandoned Us…

But yeah this album is fun. That’s about the right word.

mrdogthrow
January 26th 2023


2114 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

crazy that sws last 2 albums are actually pretty good



NekoNeferPitou
March 10th 2023


29 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I loved Tyrants personally. It wasn't reinventing the wheel but very catchy, great bridge, and I like when Martin screams (sounds more intimidating than Kellin). Also I'm a huge fan of Kel's vox. That being said, nothing else has grabbed me here.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy