Glass Beach
The First Glass Beach Album


5.0
classic

Review

by Slex USER (5 Reviews)
October 18th, 2022 | 14 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist


the first glass beach album is a masterpiece. It is the most daring, free-wheeling, silly and heartfelt punk album since 2010, when the likes of Vacation and The Monitor were released. Before I get myself into too much trouble with this claim, it’s important you take a moment to decide what exactly genre means to you; for me, it has always been an ever-changing entity, liminal at best and quite constricting at worst. So, are glass beach exuberant, irreverent and poppy as hell? Check, check and check. Do they also play by their own rules, doing whatever they damn well please and making it stick through sheer passion and force of will? You bet your ass. Combining trace elements of punk, funk, indie, ska, and EDM into a truly feverish alchemy, I’m tempted to say glass beach have presented us with something that hasn’t quite been heard ever before. So, ya know, breaking the status quo, burning down preconceived notions with no regards to taste or acceptance? Yeah, that’s punk as fuck.

the first glass beach album is so relentlessly exhilarating because of this refusal to be pinned down. While it may get a little messy at times, it is never haphazard, and there’s a strange kind of laser-focused method to its madness. Songs are expansive and unpredictable, but the songwriting is tight, catchy and fun as hell. You never know what you’re going to get, whether it’s regal horns, triumphantly anthemic riffs, or gorgeous interludes that intertwine live instrumentation with ecstatic EDM. It’s crucial to point out the quieter moments, which are perfectly placed and give the album its beating heart; it’s not all one big party, but a finely calibrated roller coaster ride of multilayered instrumentation, deeply felt passion, and hooks galore. To single out any songs would be unfair, robbing the experience its element of surprise. The whole thing holds up from top to bottom, from exploratory acoustic dirges to ADHD-addled pogo punk. glass beach have seemingly materialized out of nowhere and hit it out of the park on their first attempt, and you owe it to yourself to take part in the grand spectacle of a band unafraid to blaze a new path forward.


user ratings (174)
3.7
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Slex
October 18th 2022


15592 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Say hello to the one lil guy that survived my purge of old reviews

Slex
October 18th 2022


15592 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yr enthusiasm is the wind beneath my wings

SlothcoreSam
October 18th 2022


5584 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Itsssssss baaaaaaack!

Slex
October 18th 2022


15592 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It genuinely bothers me Pizza, gotta respect their silly lower caps shtick tho

Gyromania
October 18th 2022


36215 Comments


ngl I couldn't get into this when I tried last year but your review makes me want to give it another shot. Great writing as per

"it’s important you take a moment to decide what exactly genre means to you; for me, it has always been an ever-changing entity, liminal at best and quite constricting at worst."

this ^

Gyromania
October 18th 2022


36215 Comments


That album art is beautiful though and I still think it's one of the best I've seen in recent years. Relistening to a few of these tracks now, I think the music is pretty great but the vocals grate on me a bit at times. I remember keeping neon glow though, still love this song

Slex
October 18th 2022


15592 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Haha yeah I dunno what I was smoking at the time to think these vox aren't out there/divisive



The songwriting is just so creative tho

CugnoBrasso
October 18th 2022


1735 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Can't believe no one reviewed this before. The album is good, I definitely remember feeling a bit fatigued by the end, but maybe I should revisit it.

Slex
October 18th 2022


15592 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah this is an old review that was posted around the time the album originally released

Gyromania
October 18th 2022


36215 Comments


I like this a lot more than I did when I heard it last. I think the vocals are still a bit annoying in parts and overall I'm not big on the style anymore, but the music is so damn good and catchy

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
October 18th 2022


25508 Comments


the first song is awesome. this band was great live too

Slex
October 18th 2022


15592 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hell yeah Matt glad yr digging it more this time!



Right on I've heard they're so good n fun live

WatchItExplode
October 18th 2022


10232 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

If only one survived I don't mind it being this one

GreyShadow
April 20th 2023


6349 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

glass beach song is probs the best song i've discovered within the past year+ still



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2022 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy