Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125


5.0
classic

Review

by pizzamachine USER (625 Reviews)
October 13th, 2022 | 25 replies


Release Date: 1824 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I abjectly soar the heavens in my final breathe.

It is Tuesday, I gaze into my crystal ball with a smoke in my hand in my foggy art studio - a paintbrush is in my other hand. I try to paint the emotions that Beethoven must have felt when crafting his world known masterpiece. The vapors in the room speak to me and teleport my spirit to a battle between rhythm and art. They come in the form of playful demons and both whisper their knowledge in my ear. I try to hear it but it is inaudible, and thus the mystic intrigue remains.

I am a crystalline fortress, a pine tree without snow. These are the words I impart as I descend into madness. My paintbrush must never tickle the toes of giants. I lie with a blanket over me awaiting the full moon. The moon gaze will restore my energy only partially after this great ordeal. Never again must I delve into the mystery of Beethoven’s masterpiece, it is a mystery that is unsolvable. “I have lost the battle with the spirits”, I say as I shed tears of ash.

Yet I will return once more to partake in Beethoven’s sensual fruits. I will skylark in his undying, pink meadows and turn off my air conditioning to fully be one with his transcendent art piece. I feel the cosmic energy in the air penetrate my membrane as I embark on the enlightened quest - once more through the bushels of a god. Is it music or an omen, a sign that no one shall ever be able to fabricate reality in a similar fashion? In many ways it seems a threat to the senses, a forest fire of the soul. I am enraptured like a frostbitten sunbeam directly impaled through my third eye. I am plucked like a grape and I remain paralyzed in silent fits of ecstasy. A fantasy plays before me but it is not my mind’s work. Beethoven dances in front of me with a smile on his face, and after a lifetime of stress I can finally die in peace. The mystery is complete as am I.



Recent reviews by this author
Taylor Swift The Tortured Poets DepartmentILLIT SUPER REAL ME
Dark Oath Ages of ManApogean Cyberstrictive
Triton Project Messenger's QuestKeys To The Astral Gates And Mystic Doors Keys To The Astral Gates And Mystic Doors II
user ratings (521)
4.6
superb


Comments:Add a Comment 
evilford
October 13th 2022


64025 Comments


Good rev

evilford
October 13th 2022


64025 Comments


I laughed, I cried, I transcended my earthly shell

Koris
Staff Reviewer
October 13th 2022


21109 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The opening paragraph reminds me way too much of my early reviews on here, well done :]

Koris
Staff Reviewer
October 13th 2022


21109 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I was specifically thinking of this excerpt from my Reign in Blood review from way back when:



"As I sit here typing this review, there lies an eerie breeze and foggy weather outside my window. The storm just passed, and now the skies are gray and darkened above me. Everything looks miserable and gloomy, and the clouds are looming over my house as I write. Now, what does this have to do with anything? Well unfortunately, the description is an accurate metaphor for the thrash "classic" Reign in Blood by Slayer."



lol

Gyromania
October 13th 2022


37015 Comments


I won't rate this because I respect what a musical genius Beethoven was, but I can't think of a worse way to spend an hour than listening to this album. Okay maybe not entirely true, I think the last track is pretty great but the rest bores me to tears. Most older classical has this same effect on me.

Koris
Staff Reviewer
October 13th 2022


21109 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I have a soft spot for classical since I grew up taking piano lessons and doing recitals, but I will admit that I don't listen to it very much these days. And I eventually stopped taking lessons because I was tired of the formalism and having to adhere to the "proper" way of playing, lol

Kompys2000
Emeritus
October 13th 2022


9423 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I am a crystalline fortress, a pine tree without snow" is such a weirdly gorgeous and zen phrase I'm sort of in awe of it lmao

MoM
October 13th 2022


5994 Comments


@Kompy
Agreed! I’m particularly fond of that part as well

MoM
October 13th 2022


5994 Comments


That neg reeks of envy for lines as poetic, and no doubt said many-a-time, as
“Yet I will return once more to partake in Beethoven’s sensual fruits.”

Though, for real, very fun review. Good job!

Edit: the neg is gone. They finally got to partake

evilford
October 13th 2022


64025 Comments


Thrash classic, or "Thrashterpiece" if you will

Koris
Staff Reviewer
October 13th 2022


21109 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Beethoven was the original thrash pianist

evilford
October 13th 2022


64025 Comments


My pianist is erect

YoYoMancuso
Staff Reviewer
October 13th 2022


18854 Comments


This saved me

Minortimbo12
October 14th 2022


1594 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Tis a review!

Kinda nostalgias for some reason

Pos'd

Minortimbo12
October 14th 2022


1594 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Get this to number 1 BABY!

AmongSus
April 12th 2023


3 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is objectively a five star opus

pizzamachine
May 2nd 2023


27063 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Fo sho

DocSportello
May 2nd 2023


3367 Comments


pause

bellovddd
May 2nd 2023


5757 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nice release

Kusangii
May 2nd 2023


6343 Comments


lol this band



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy