The Machinist (USA-NY)
Confidimus in Morte



by Matty USER (21 Reviews)
September 21st, 2022 | 3 replies

Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Wiping the Floor with the Competition

The Machinist are a metalcore/deathcore outfit out of New York unleashing hell with fiery riffage, massive breakdowns and coarse harsh vocals that rattle the speakers. Each track introduces a new level of technical prowess within its crushing production and mix with a heightened sense of songwriting ability. Each member of this band contributes amazingly to overall project whether it’s layered screams, ambient lighter vocals, syncopated guitar chugs with double bass work and even a guitar solo here and there and some very nice, thick, juicy bass to compliment everything.

The album opens with “The Sound of Shame” which features relentless technical patterns of syncopated guitars and drums with varying rhythms and even some switch-ups to further diversify these passages. We’re also immediately introduced to the visceral attack of vocalist Amanda’s shrill, tight throat shredding screams which go from a very mid-range yell/scream to a fry higher pitch Gollum-esque scream. It’s unsettling and completely matches the tone of the instrumentals throughout the record. There are some deeper guttural vocals in vain of death metal technique and I’m not sure if that’s also Amanda or another member of the band but regardless, it adds depth to vocal passages especially when layered. Amanda can also utilize her voice to create ethereal clean melodies that lace some of the tracks furthering the dynamics of the record.

The track “No Peace” is another quick punch song with tons of tempo switch ups and various guitar techniques utilized. The vocal work on this particular track is of note because it just feels so fueled and fiery and passionate. One of my favorite tracks on the record “Predatory” is dense, thick and extremely potent with lyrics touching on inappropriate behavior in terms of abuse, harassment and other similar situations. When you think the instrumentals can’t get any heavier, this track smacks you with intense breakdowns, pounding drums and massive guitar riffs around every corner.

The record concludes as strongly as it began with more and more intense, fiery tracks like “Paradise Lost” and “Everything Is Nothing” which work to shatter glass with just how primevally heavy the songwriting is. For thirty-five minutes, you just feel like you’re being pummeled by a hammer and loving it every step of the way. Its non-stop breakneck pace might not impress some but if you’re looking for intensity with little to no breaks, this is the band and record for you. It’s also produced by Ricky Armellino of Ice Nine Kills fame and if you’re familiar with his other production work, it’s always clear, crisp and punchy. The full package in a single record.

“The Sound of Shame”
“No Peace”
“Strength Through Suffering”
“Paradise Lost”

Recent reviews by this author
Novelists FR Déjà VuSilvana Estrada Abrazo
The Devil Wears Prada Color DecayParkway Drive Darker Still
Stray From The Path Euthanasia156/Silence Narrative
user ratings (4)

Comments:Add a Comment 
September 21st 2022


Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Just a quick writeup on a killer record.

Digging: Silvana Estrada - Abrazo

September 25th 2022


Just a killer writeup on a quick record.

Digging: Draconian - Turning Season Within

September 26th 2022


Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

ty my friend :D

You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile


Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Site Copyright 2005-2019
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy