The Devil Wears Prada
Color Decay


2.0
poor

Review

by Paul Quinones USER (8 Reviews)
September 16th, 2022 | 55 replies


Release Date: 2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The cleaner sections of the album barely surpass the intensity of a praise-and-worship tune, and the heavy moments fall short of even the stiffest popcore breakdowns.

Let's be honest, it's been a while since the broader metal/alternative scene has taken TDWP seriously. The Act was a well put together pseudo-pop effort with interesting departures from the usual metalcore-gone-radio formula, but failed to re-capture the interest of their primary fanbase. This was clearly not their goal, as many bands seek to expand their horizons and attract a new base of fans as opposed to trying to satisfy those they've already satisfied with previous releases. It's an unpopular route to go sometimes, blazing your own trail, but it is the way that Prada chose. Unfortunately for them, Color Decay bodes far worse prospects for them than their previous effort. The majority of the cleaner sections in the album barely surpass the intensity of a high energy praise-and-worship tune and the heavy moments mostly fall short of even the stiffest popcore breakdowns. Gone is the desperate quality Jeremy DePoyster's vocals that gave preceding records a sense of urgency and discontent, with the band opting rather for a clean, safe imitation of Oli Sykes' cleaner hooks, and while Mike Hranica remains potent in his own desperate delivery, he cannot control the pulse of the band by himself. Dating back to the 8:18 days, Hranica was being given less and less limelight as the band attempted to shift their identity from a unipolar front to a bipolar one and Color Decay is no different, featuring a more-or-less 50-50 split. The rhythm section in some tracks such as "Salt", "Watchtower" and "Hallucinate" have some taste to them, but largely fail to redeem Color Decay from the mind-numbing amount of drag throughout the rest of the record. This drag actually intensifies as the album progresses, crescendo-ing into the driest saga of the 12, "Cancer", a cookie-cutter finale laden with heroic conclusive chords and melancholic acoustic guitar.

It was never solely about making the fans content, but a staple in TDWP's career has been their mastery of controlled aggression: allowing the music to ebb and flow between chaos and melody, playing the Jekyll and Hyde game to perfection. This iteration of the band has displayed no such desire to maintain this reputation, instead focusing on a torrential downpour of uplifting choruses and low-wattage ballads to in hopes to buoy their most recent effort into any level of Billboard of considerations they can get. Fans know not to count on TDWP for consistency at this point, and Color Decay certainly reinforces that point. Proceed with caution and keep your expectations low and you might just find yourself surprised a time or two, but unless you've been seeking out 12 tracks of half-baked pop-core, that is about the most you can expect from Color Decay.



Recent reviews by this author
Zulu A New TomorrowYotsuya Kaidan Four Writings To An Elf
Wovenwar Honor Is DeadPhinehas Till the End
Phinehas The Last Word Is Yours to SpeakAlesana A Place Where the Sun is Silent
user ratings (289)
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
Matty CONTRIBUTOR (5)
I can't sleep 'cause the sky is falling...

Mateo Ottie CONTRIBUTOR (3.5)
Time shifts like a glacier...

GarthAlgar (2)
The Devil Wears Walmart....

pizzamachine (1)
May this album die a million deaths....



Comments:Add a Comment 
pjquinones747
September 16th 2022


4240 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I'm getting those writing chops back in shape. Come one come all, tell me if i'm shit or not.

nash1311
September 16th 2022


7963 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"The majority of the cleaner sections in the album barely surpass the intensity of a high energy praise-and-worship tune and the heavy moments mostly fall short of even the stiffest popcore breakdowns."

This should be the summary. I even enjoy this, but this hits haha. So true

The back half of this album really drags it down big time. I don't necessarily agree about Prada being inconsistent though. I actually think they've been pretty consistently great for a while; this is the first real sink.

pjquinones747
September 16th 2022


4240 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks for reading! I'll see if that fits as the summary too lol.



Even as a fan who enjoyed The Act just as much as 8:18 and Dead Throne, I think Transit Blues is where they began to bleed out a bit. Still good albums but not as consistent. To each their own though!

nash1311
September 16th 2022


7963 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If you need/want to fit it in the summary, I would try to do:

The cleaner sections of the album barely surpass the intensity of a praise-and-worship tune, and the heavy moments fall short of even the stiffest popcore breakdowns.

pjquinones747
September 16th 2022


4240 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

That's not to count Space which i still think is worse than this or ZII which was decent? Not as good as any of their albums before it though.



@pizza appreciate the pos!

nash1311
September 16th 2022


7963 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pos, though

nash1311
September 16th 2022


7963 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agree Transit is prob the weakest full length and Space is arguably the worst period besides this

pjquinones747
September 16th 2022


4240 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Transit Blues is just weird to me. Outlier in many ways because it certainly wasn't trying to be pop or metalcore, not even something in between.

pjquinones747
September 16th 2022


4240 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

There is a charm to it. Wish I could place what I don't like about it because I wouldn't call it boring either.

alamo
September 16th 2022


5566 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this sounds very pop punky but i dig it



the chorus "i hope that it's cancer" was a choice though

pjquinones747
September 16th 2022


4240 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

WOW, didn't even process those lyrics until now. Cringe. For someone who writes lyrics as much as I do i'm notorious among my bandmates for never checking out other bands lyrics lol

onionbubs
September 16th 2022


20584 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

great review. album is wack and lame and probably my 2nd least fav prada behind the debut. i really didnt like the act at all either but that was at least like, trying to do something. this just dragged every aspect of their sound right into the middle of the road and completely homogenized it

pjquinones747
September 16th 2022


4240 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

That debut was rough. Had all the moxy to get them to the next level but NONE of the quality production value of later stuff.



Thanks for the kind words, onion!

MyColdShoulder
September 16th 2022


546 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Great review pj, expresses my thoughts as well.



I really relate to your point about Mike getting sidelined, and it really makes me frustrated cause he's one of my favorite harsh vocalists in the scene. So when he gets like 3 lines and then Jeremy mumbles for the next minute and half, I'm checked out

pjquinones747
September 16th 2022


4240 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah, making him the response in a call-and-response-heavy vocal delivery between two singers really REALLY under-utilizes his abilities. Jeremy has always been an average singer who overachieves on a chorus every now and then, and Mike has always been a scene legend for his chops. Even if he can't yell like the old days his style is still unique and powerful. It's a damn shame and I hope he starts another project sometime where we can get him front and center yet again.

MyColdShoulder
September 16th 2022


546 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

For real, it's honestly infuriating. I don't have anything against Jeremy and I always thought they both played off each other very well, even if he's not top tier or anything. But they're putting him front and center as if he IS a top tier vocalist, and that's one of their biggest mistakes tbh

veninblazer
September 16th 2022


16835 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"the chorus "i hope that it's cancer" was a choice though"

apparently it was a self-reflective line because his first reaction when someone he knew passed was that he hoped it was cancer and not something like suicide, and then he was like "wait. why am I thinking this? that's such an asshole thing to think. what does this say about myself?"

btw album rules

pjquinones747
September 16th 2022


4240 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

That sheds more light on the topic. I thought it was self-imposed hatred or something based on what I read but i'm not always on top of the point haha.



Sorry we cannot agree about this one but i'm glad that you enjoy it!

Crxmateo
Contributing Reviewer
September 16th 2022


164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I actually loved Cancer and found it one of the few tracks that felt genuinely emotional

Crxmateo
Contributing Reviewer
September 16th 2022


164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The lyrics are exactly as veninblazer said- Mike said that that’s what the song is about



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy