Grima
Frostbitten


4.0
excellent

Review

by Sunnyvale STAFF
August 10th, 2022 | 25 replies


Release Date: 07/29/2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An enjoyable journey down a well-trodden path

With the band hailing from Siberia, Grima’s fifth album is appropriately named Frostbitten. If the title is a bit of an overused word to be bandied about in regards to black metal, even more fitting. This record doesn’t really aim to provide the listener with anything truly new, rather it simply packages an existing formula into a digestible and scrumptious serving. The album’s seven tracks convey standard atmospheric/melodic black metal tropes, from the inexorable tread of the nearly ten minute opener “Gloomy Heart Of The Coldest Land” to the melancholy folk of the petite closer “Mana”, but everything is sharp and, indeed, feels quite fresh. The vocals are strident and genuinely menacing, the riffs resound in the way they should, and the balance of elements is executed in a way which makes the album fly by. All in all, Frostbitten manages to capture the somber and melancholy, but simultaneously epic, mood which so many atmospheric black metal releases aspire to. It’s an excellent album which has earned plenty of spins from me during the height of summer, and I can only imagine how good it will sound when the snow is falling outside.



Recent reviews by this author
Firtan MarterBeth Orton Weather Alive
Suede AutofictionClutch Sunrise On Slaughter Beach
Crippled Black Phoenix BanefyreThe Lounge Society Tired of Liberty
user ratings (46)
3.9
excellent
related reviews

Rotten Garden


Comments:Add a Comment 
Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
August 10th 2022


4244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Very quick writeup for a great album which has flown under the radar.

Sharenge
August 10th 2022


2648 Comments


fuck me still never even got around to checking the last one

Sharenge
August 10th 2022


2648 Comments


files acquired - looks like I'll be changing that shortly.... then I'll do this one

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
August 10th 2022


4244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This one's better in my opinion, but both are worth checking, they scratch slightly different itches

Sharenge
August 10th 2022


2648 Comments


based on the covers, that one looks more autumnal and this one looks more wintery and everyone knows autumn gotta comes before winter

Divaman
August 10th 2022


15961 Comments


Might check it. Sounds interesting.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
August 10th 2022


28829 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

It's a good album, a bit bloated but it tries some stuff here and there and it's interesting.

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
August 10th 2022


17743 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Wait I know these guys. Not personally of course.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
August 10th 2022


18091 Comments


I've listened to it a couple of times and loved it. Sweet, short review ;)

Pho3nix
August 10th 2022


1359 Comments


I only recently found this band, gonna czech 'Will of the Primordial' before this

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
August 10th 2022


4244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Notrap!

SteakByrnes
August 10th 2022


27743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album pretty good

MyColdShoulder
August 10th 2022


425 Comments


Nice review Sunny, liked what I heard of this so far

Also the album artwork is so sick

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
August 10th 2022


4244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks @MyColdShoulder!



Yeah, pretty sweet artwork.

WatchItExplode
August 11th 2022


9851 Comments


Love the single grapher. Fallen off a bit. The black in recent months but might be about time to change that

Ectier
August 12th 2022


878 Comments


Thats a really cool album art, may check this out

Orb
Contributing Reviewer
August 12th 2022


9122 Comments


This review could be a copy/pasta template for like.. 100s of atmoblack albums.

Sunnyvale
Staff Reviewer
August 12th 2022


4244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Orb, yeah, I think that's true. While I could've gone into more detail on some specific aspects, this is more of a review to draw some attention to this release.



This is one of those albums that is extremely well-executed and I'd recommend to anyone who likes this niche, but also I'm quite certain that it won't convert anyone who doesn't.

Purpl3Spartan
August 13th 2022


5081 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Will check

Purpl3Spartan
August 13th 2022


5081 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is nice



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy