Mortification
Mortification


4.0
excellent

Review

by the original metal understander EMERITUS
August 10th, 2022 | 48 replies


Release Date: 1991 | Tracklist

Review Summary: God is good.

The only thing that matters in life is riffs. Fast riffs, slow riffs, stupid riffs, and, yes, even holy riffs. It doesn’t matter where you’re from, what stupid job you have, or who you're attracted to; if you’ve got riffs, you’re cool in my book. The creator knows this. That’s why he chose three God-fearing riff-disciples from Australia, the holiest of continents, to spread his word through the power of the riff. And, you know what? If God supports riffs this good, then he must be a pretty cool guy.

A lot of Christians seem to think that the only way to praise almighty God is to play the absolute worst music imaginable and make everyone, even God himself, hate you. Mortification knew better. Their debut self-titled is nothing short of pummeling, grinding thrashened death metal played the way it was meant to be played. It was created for one singular purpose: kicking ass and praising the Lord. The guitars are thick and firm, the grooves are hard and deep, and the snare sounds like Jesus himself blasting demon skulls. This is truly holy warfare, a riff crusade against anyone who dare oppose the Creator.

The trio of Steve Rowe, Michael Carlisle, and Jayson Sherlock knew that the only way to enter the eternal kingdom of heaven was to play the most brutal riffs possible and take the battle right to Satan’s court. If God truly loves his children, then he also loves good riffs, and Mortification take us all to church the way He intended. Absorb the riffs and feel the power of our Lord and savior flow through you.



Recent reviews by this author
Ceremonium No Longer SilentUtumno Across the Horizon
Current Value Platinum ScatterDrexciya Grava 4
Autechre Ae_LiveOneohtrix Point Never Rifts
user ratings (60)
3.8
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
Hyperion1001
Emeritus
August 10th 2022


24716 Comments


just couldnt let this one go without a review anymore.

take that satan.

Hyperion1001
Emeritus
August 10th 2022


24716 Comments


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tMyTPWabeF4

Emim
August 10th 2022


34711 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice m/

pizzamachine
August 10th 2022


24350 Comments


Hell yeah amazing review blessed be thou

Source
August 10th 2022


19916 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

there's a local radio station that has a metal show on saturday nights and i've heard bathed in blood on there before [2]



Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
August 10th 2022


30391 Comments


2 minutes ago I was skimming Scrolls, damn, the timing!

Koris
Contributing Reviewer
August 10th 2022


19582 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This review is like a cross (no pun intended) between pizzamachine and CaptainDooRight, and I love it



Let the riffs ov christ flow in you \m/

Emim
August 10th 2022


34711 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"there's a local radio station that has a metal show on saturday nights and i've heard bathed in blood on there before [2]"



That's sick, mine just plays Five Finger Death Punch

Source
August 10th 2022


19916 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i've also heard celestial completion by extol on there

Emim
August 10th 2022


34711 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Bro I'm moving wtf

MetalMarcJK
August 10th 2022


819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hyperion with the Tuesday win! Great review, man!



I started a review for this a long time ago and it sucked. I tried too hard and it showed. I deleted it and never went back to it. Glad someone dropped some words about this.



Love me some Mortification! The first three albums are classick through and through. Fave track on this album is “Brutal Warfare”.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
August 10th 2022


18745 Comments


I don't remember if I ever listened to these guys, sounds like a great jam.

Source
August 10th 2022


19916 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

check paramaecium

ChaoticVortex
August 10th 2022


1522 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Early Mort is some top tier OSDM.

Demon of the Fall
August 10th 2022


30777 Comments


this review is like if KILL was reborn and found acceptance and inclusivity in his later life, while still retaining some of his signature style of yesteryear, lol

don't think I've ever heard this band, nice work

fogza
Contributing Reviewer
August 10th 2022


8997 Comments


Is this album about mort. the user?

Demon of the Fall
August 10th 2022


30777 Comments


'Release Date: 1991'

doubtful

fogza
Contributing Reviewer
August 10th 2022


8997 Comments


but there is still a chance

Azog
August 10th 2022


1070 Comments


God and Satan should get their band together. Now there's a chance. ;-)

Hyperion1001
Emeritus
August 10th 2022


24716 Comments


mortification/deicide split when



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2022 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy