Embryonic Devourment
Heresy of the Highest Order


4.0
excellent

Review

by combustion07 USER (66 Reviews)
August 5th, 2022 | 24 replies


Release Date: 02/25/2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: BEWARE THE MENSTRUAL BLOOD DRINKING REPTILIANS

Embryonic Devourment bring some super technical brutal death metal that bounces all over the place yet somehow manages to stay cohesive whilst only hanging on by the slightest thread. The guitar playing here is pure insanity honestly, and the bass mostly follows suit in terms of bringing the mayhem along with it. Dissonant, jumbled, fret fondling is here in spades. A good portion of this album is a fairly disorienting experience. The track "Heresy of the Highest Order" is the highlight for me. The track features some straight up amazing soloing. It also has some extremely straightforward old school heavy metal style riffing that manages to fit in perfectly among the dissonant passages that surround it.

Admittedly there are some sections of this album that go overboard with the wankery for my taste. These moments can become tiresome and honestly if the moments of greatness didn't click so hard with me I probably wouldn't return to it. The severely slowed, lurking vibes emanating from "Murder of the Ancients" are another standout that make those tiresome moments not so bothersome. I really feel like with a little bit of time at the drawing board these guys could become something really special. It's obvious from the moments of pure wankery that they're extremely skilled. The highlights here also show that they carry the ability to write some very interesting songs and passages that are nothing short of perfect. Hopefully in the future they'll offer something just a tad dialed back chock full of moments similar to the chunks on this one that shine through the jangly strings of notes.

Overall Heresy of the Highest Order is a fun frenzy of scatter brained death metal. It's chalk full of interesting twists and turns and managed to keep me on edge throughout the runtime. If you enjoy yourself some intensely note heavy guitar playing there's plenty of sections here to please the ear. JAM IT!!!



Recent reviews by this author
Disfuneral Blood Red TentacleRevulsion (FIN) Undressing External Humanity
Abolishment of Flesh In the Presence of DarknessThe Hookers It's Midnight... The Witching Hour
Skinless Progression Towards EvilFester Winter of Sin
user ratings (6)
3.8
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
pizzamachine
August 5th 2022


17981 Comments


Skilled wanks :D pos’d

combustion07
August 5th 2022


10593 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Was browsing through the notes app on my phone and forgot I'd written the majority of a review for this awhile back. Finished it up real quick and here it is. Probably the shortest review I've written.

Fun album. Worth a listen.

combustion07
August 5th 2022


10593 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers machine ov pizza. The wanks are definitely here

TheSpirit
August 5th 2022


29983 Comments


oh hell yeah a combustion review

sonictheplumber
August 5th 2022


15156 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

gonna give this a spin fuck it

sonictheplumber
August 5th 2022


15156 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah this aint bad i was expecting some tard slams but this is good

sonictheplumber
August 5th 2022


15156 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah this aint bad i was expecting some tard slams but this is good

combustion07
August 5th 2022


10593 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

combustion still types from time to time! m///

Yeah no tard slams going on here but there's some nice thick ass riffs thrown in here and there. This is more spastic than anything though

I got a tard slam review coming for you in the next handful though. Get your drool and knuckles ready sonic

sonictheplumber
August 5th 2022


15156 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah very spastic and some disso parts but also got some catchy melody to it

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2022


17436 Comments


Now that’s a summary

Hyperion1001
Emeritus
August 6th 2022


22378 Comments


damn gotta check. unique leader rarely puts out bad shit.

sonictheplumber
August 6th 2022


15156 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

need to catch up on 2022 stuff im turning into eddie trunk

combustion07
August 6th 2022


10593 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"yeah very spastic and some disso parts but also got some catchy melody to it"

Indeed. Definitely a nice little mixed bag going on here.

"Now that’s a summary"

Them reptilians ain't no joke bro! Just realized Trump is on the cover also lol he a reptile lord for sure!

"damn gotta check. unique leader rarely puts out bad shit"

Agreed. Solid ass label. Jammed a ton of stuff with their name attached and can't come up with any off the top of my head that were bad by any means.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
August 6th 2022


17872 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I have a soft spot for techy BDM, gotta jam this. I don't think I've ever listened to these guys.



Keep dropping reviews, mate. Pos'd







foxblood
August 6th 2022


10829 Comments


their last few albums are pretty good, haven't heard this one yet

combustion07
August 6th 2022


10593 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I have a soft spot for techy BDM, gotta jam this. I don't think I've ever listened to these guys.



Keep dropping reviews, mate. Pos'd"

Thanks for the pos sir! I think you'll dig this one man. Also more reviews is the plan! It seems like every year or every other year I go on a little review binge for a couple months then just halt it out of nowhere. I've been jamming a lot more new music than I generally do though and I've been in the mood to try to write and share some of it so hopefully I'll just get a little continuous thread going! I feel like with me hitting that 15 years Mark I haven't contributed enough on the review front lol



And jam it fox! Only other album I've heard from them is Fear of Reality and although it's been a long time since I've given it a spin I have it rated at 4.5 and remember digging it big time back then. Plan on going back and checking the ones before this soon.

DDDeftoneDDD
August 6th 2022


20654 Comments


I can check this

combustion07
August 7th 2022


10593 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You should man. I think you'll be DDDigDDD it

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
August 7th 2022


17872 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good stuff, kind of reminds me of Deeds of Flesh. The guys made me google Cathy O'Brien hahah

combustion07
August 8th 2022


10593 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Definitely some Deeds influence going on here. Cathy O'Brien is a weird ass wormhole to go down lol I've had a long running obsession of sorts with MKultra. I'm one of those conspiracy nuts but mostly for fun. Off to rip out my fillings rq



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy