Fleshrot (USA-TX)
Unburied Corpse


2.8
good

Review

by Robert Garland STAFF
August 2nd, 2022 | 16 replies


Release Date: 08/01/2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Free protein for all

Broken down, Fleshrot’s distinction within death metal circles isn’t exactly a refined one. Probably because gore and death circle the same prowling grounds, grumbling distorted guitar riffs and the loose jowls of neck beard-toting musicians wearing their finest, but most worn flannelettes. It’s not Fleshrot’s fault that this niche sits just outside of the hillbilly camps and inbred swamps, foot sores and wobbly teeth prevalent amongst the few visionary-types left to sell this brand to the masses and yet, Unburied Corpse sits atop a fine line of perfectly disgusting death metal, filth and rot in tow (or toes depending on how this narrative suits you).

Enter Unburied Corpse’s “Wrapped in Entrails”, a slow march of just clear enough riffs and feedback in its death throes. It’s the anthem to which butchers everywhere lift heavy cleavers everywhere, while just as trodden tracks like “Draining the Liquified Remains” and the title continue to rain adjustments to the same mid-tempo formula. The groove itself flouts a line between stock-standard and downright musical boredom. If Fleshrot weren’t so convincing in their shtick of horror infused old school death metal-isms there’d be little doubt these riffs would be lost in a back end swamp, despite the occasional guitar wail and feedback. Even the record’s closing trio of tracks maintain a consistent, dirge-like soundscape already familiar on the rest of the album. Unburied Corpse’s power is found within how well it sticks to the niche, but it’s unfortunately the only thing going on here.

It’s a shame that there’s no real shift during any point of this twenty-eight minute expression into the filthy underside of old school metal, its makeup restricted too simply by what it is. Fleshrot may have a cool idea or two…but you won’t find a third or fourth within the same aesthetic. Unburied Corpse is for the most casual of casual death metal fans, and probably not for a second spin.




Recent reviews by this author
Amon Amarth The Great Heathen ArmyBody Asphyxiation Science Gravitational Blood Art
Krallice PsychagogueSaor Origins
Conjurer (UK) PathosEsoctrilihum Consecration of the Spiritüs Flesh
user ratings (9)
2.8
good


Comments:Add a Comment 
Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
August 2nd 2022


17436 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

I broke the art, I think I tried not using a jpg like a dolt.



Probably going to sit in this covid iso room looking after my boy and pumping new albums.



https://fleshrottx.bandcamp.com/

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
August 2nd 2022


17872 Comments


Artwork fixed ;)

Gotta jam this.

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
August 2nd 2022


17436 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

Not all heroes wear capes.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
August 2nd 2022


17872 Comments


Hahaha or have an adonis figure. But I'll get there! I'm taking my workouts quite seriously.

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
August 2nd 2022


17436 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

You'll always be chiseled from stone in my eyes Fern

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
August 2nd 2022


17872 Comments


Hahah

combustion07
August 2nd 2022


10593 Comments


Great review as always man. I've got respect for anyone who can write a good review for a very average/boring album. I've tried and I always run out of anything to say rather quickly or just flat out draw blanks immediately. Guitar tone on the sample track is pretty thick and nasty. I don't doubt you about this whole thing dragging together though

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
August 3rd 2022


17436 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

It's the repeated plays that do the damage.

Illoomorpheme
August 5th 2022


462 Comments


This is what I like to call 'Dumb fat guy death metal'. Just absolute brainless filth that can be incredibly fun when you're in the mood, but from an objective standpoint doesn't really offer much more than that.

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
August 6th 2022


17436 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

Skinny guys enjoy death metal too!

Storm In A Teacup
August 7th 2022


40682 Comments


I’m so tired of metal. Ugh,

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
August 7th 2022


17436 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

Are you sure? You haven’t hear the debut Obsidious yet

Purpl3Spartan
August 7th 2022


4479 Comments


Sir that summary must be deleted before I delete you

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
August 7th 2022


17436 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

I’m not sure you’re up for clearing that much protein

YoYoMancuso
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2022


16937 Comments


Gnocchi you deserve some major props for knowing this many obscure groups in the current dm scene. I feel like I learn about a new artist every time I read one of your reviews

canczar
August 9th 2022


99 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is one of my favorite things out right now



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy