Dance Gavin Dance
Jackpot Juicer


2.0
poor

Review

by hobblepot USER (19 Reviews)
July 29th, 2022 | 119 replies


Release Date: 2022 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Instant Stagnation

I still remember the day I discovered Dance Gavin Dance. Instant Gratification had just been announced, their second outing with Tilian Pearson. I remember listening to “Awkward” and thinking it was like nothing I’d heard before, I was at a stage in my life where Green Day and My Chemical Romance were my favourite bands so hearing this band with their noodley funky post hardcore was mind blowing to me. It seems like yesterday, not 7 years ago.

And yet, here we are, 4 albums later and the magic seems to have completely worn off.

Jackpot Juicer shows signs of a band who have completely settled into their respective groove. There is nothing on this album that distinguishes it from the last, nor the one before that and so on. Despite the band stating Afterburner was the start of a new era for the group, it did little to alter their established sound and Jackpot Juicer feels very much like a continuation of their ever stagnant post-hardcore wankery.

The album starts off with an instrumental which harkens back to the untitled intro for Downtown Battle Mountain, but it’s purpose here is unclear. It’s entirely made up of strings, and other than being an obvious callback it really does nothing to enhance your experience. Cream of the Crop starts off with a bang! And it’s immediately evident the band are doing what they’ve done since Mothership. By no means is the song bad, by no means is any of this album bad, but it is infuriating to hear them playing on autopilot. The addition of strings in this track is genuinely great, but it’s not enough. Synergy is a decent lead single, Rob Damiani’s vocals are a nice change of pace even if he features for what could be considered barely a verse. If it isn’t evident to the listener at this point that the album has NO surprises in store, this song hits it home with a THWACK. From this point I struggle to tell what song is what, they sort of merge into one long disappointment.

For the Jeers features Andrew Wells providing some hooky vocals, and I’d be lying if I said this song didn’t get stuck in my head, but other than his “I’ll never fail”, the rest of the song follows the standard DGD structure to the nth degree. Polka Dot Dobbins is the only highlight for this reviewer from here on out. It’s under 3 minutes, and really lets Jon Mess shine. This album does little else, but what I will say is Jonathan Mess gets far more to do here than he has since 2015. The lyrics to this track in context of the allegations against Tilian don’t feel too great, but who listens to these guys for lyrics?

Pray to God for your Mother features some interesting guitar work, and the lyrics are oddly touching and personal. But that’s really it. The album closer feels like it could be anywhere else on the album, and I doubt it was put at the end for any other reason than it was the last on the list of songs to commit to wax.

Jackpot Juicer sees Dance Gavin Dance having a midlife crisis of sorts. They’ve established themselves in the scene, they have a dedicated fanbase who will praise anything they put out to high heaven, and their music has become more and more successful with each release. This appears to have caused the band to come to a standstill. Their albums have always sounded unique to one another, but ever since Tilian Pearson took the reigns the band have gradually stopped experimenting. Now with Tilians future in the band uncertain, perhaps a change of singer will reinvigorate the group. Needless to say, this reviewer certainly hopes so.

It’s a shame Tim Feericks final work on this Earth is so blasé, but without his talents this album surely would have suffered far worse. His bass work is something to truly behold, it has been a highlight of each LP, including Jackpot Juicer. This album may be forgotten in the near future, but Tim’s legacy and contributions to not just Dance Gavin Dance but every band he has ever worked with will be remembered for decades to come.



Recent reviews by this author
Panic! at the Disco Viva Las VengeancePorches All Day Gentle Hold
Crim3s CRIM3SCrown the Empire Sudden Sky
Twenty One Pilots TrenchFalling in Reverse Coming Home
user ratings (318)
2.9
good


Comments:Add a Comment 
hobblepot
July 29th 2022


2947 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Tilian is a piece of shit, tried not to touch on that too much in the review. This was a quick one, so the way I structured it is a bit messy but I’ve been very busy with a friend who lost their mother this week. Feedback of any kind is welcomed, but I wanted to apologise for how rushed this might seem

JayEnder
July 29th 2022


20470 Comments


Nice review man. Let the shitshow commence!

hobblepot
July 29th 2022


2947 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Thanks man. The inevitable wave of DGD stans pissing their unwashed pants is coming

AeniasGaming
July 29th 2022


325 Comments


It's never a good sign when the 18-track album peaks on tracks 2 and 3. Really good review.

hobblepot
July 29th 2022


2947 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Thanks man. Yeah it starts off alright with Cream of the Crop, but then everything after that sounds so similar it just fades itself out into background noise

Jadari
July 29th 2022


78 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Good review, only qualm I have is that at the end you mention Tim's bass work is always a highlight, including on this, but you don't touch on it anywhere else in the review. Just a minor thing, 100% agree with the rest of the review.

Colton
July 29th 2022


15524 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

This album is bloody amazing summer hardcore-funk-pop-groove album. It's the heights of

musicianship from Dance Gavin Dance. It's a rollercoaster experience in the carefree summer day

with 3 tropical cocktails and your best friends

AeniasGaming
July 29th 2022


325 Comments


Yeah, that's my main problem with DGD. Aside from some highlights most of their (recent) albums just tend to blend together at a certain point. I liked Afterburner and Artificial Selection but off the top of my head I can't name a single song off of anything post-2013.

hobblepot
July 29th 2022


2947 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I thought the same, I wanted to say more about it but the paragraph I typed out about it seemed too on the nose and I felt a short segment at the end would feel more appropriate. His bass work on this is great though, it’s always a highlight. Shame they really buried it in the mix this time though

Bandit1786
July 29th 2022


20 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Just dropping in to say that I thought this album was stellar - but can totally understand your gripes. Not a ton of changes dynamically, but at the same time to have 18 tracks and not a single second that I didn't enjoy, even if not all the songs left a lasting impression, that's worth mentioning. Be well!

hobblepot
July 29th 2022


2947 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Aenias I blame Tilian for it entirely. He sings about the same shit every album, hits the same notes every album, he’s so one note. Wills writing is getting worse too. Wish they’d do more whacky stuff like DBM2 or Happiness again

cold
July 29th 2022


6733 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

it's not that bad tbh



hobblepot
July 29th 2022


2947 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I’m glad you enjoyed the album Bandit! It’s by no means bad, I guess I’m tired of hearing the same album played back to me again and again. I miss their messier days

AeniasGaming
July 29th 2022


325 Comments


That's fair. I like his voice but at this point that's the only positive thing I can say about him (and even that doesn't feel the same after everything)

hobblepot
July 29th 2022


2947 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Yeah it’s hard to listen to this knowing the allegations. At first I was going to refuse to listen to it until they severed ties with him completely, but I wanted to hear Tim’s final work

nash1311
July 29th 2022


8300 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Any time this album has some good song it’s followed by something boring. Can’t gain any steam or seem to get out of its own way. I like about half and am bored by the rest and nothing is “oh wow this is great, I want to revisit”

nash1311
July 29th 2022


8300 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The outro of Polka Dot Dobbins may be my favorite moment on here

hobblepot
July 29th 2022


2947 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

It’s a great track, it was the only one that really stood out to me

onionbubs
July 29th 2022


21577 Comments


think ima skip this one, at least for now

SaveBandit
July 29th 2022


3308 Comments


Yeah I'm with you Onion. Just gonna pass on this... probably forever, but who knows.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy