Geotic
Abysma


3.5
great

Review

by pizzamachine USER (624 Reviews)
July 13th, 2022 | 22 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Electronic music lacking depth but still a pleasure.

Will Wiesenfeld is know better as the genius behind Baths, or just the human, but one thing’s clear: he knows his electronic music. Take Abysma for example, another album from the guy, and it’s a decent one. Songs have foot to the floor bass beats; deep, fresh, house-style beats come in with hazy, soft synths like evaporating spray from waterfalls. It’s delicate noise like being wrapped in blankets, juxtaposed with club stomping energy. Within the pages are gently layered synths, yet surprises lurk around the corner like a piano inclusion, and vocal samples/singing.

While I’m painting a picture of a luscious masterpiece, Abysma is deceptively average. The same type of beat played in every song becomes tired, and shirks off my desire to dance in due time. Mind-numbing repetition, originally entrancing and relaxing, becomes a smidgen annoying. Of course, I’m scraping the barrel to find gripes, but find them I did. Abysma is a great album, and generally an easy on the ear collection of samey electronic tunes, but it’s not a classic release by any means.



Recent reviews by this author
ILLIT SUPER REAL MEDark Oath Ages of Man
Apogean CyberstrictiveTriton Project Messenger's Quest
Keys To The Astral Gates And Mystic Doors Keys To The Astral Gates And Mystic Doors IILVME Of Sinful Nature
user ratings (52)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
pizzamachine
July 13th 2022


26992 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Music.

Ryus
July 13th 2022


36544 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

music album for sure

pizzamachine
July 13th 2022


26992 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice rating brother

Mort.
July 13th 2022


25062 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

shit dude, youve got such a nice rating, i really fucking like it, no homo tho, just like, bro, im mirin haha

Lord(e)Po)))ts
July 13th 2022


70239 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Remember when more than 5 people on this site talked about more than 5 genres ?

Ryus
July 13th 2022


36544 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good times now we have the two warring factions



the dime a dozen metalheads

and the softboi sowing clones

pizzamachine
July 13th 2022


26992 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I member

Mort.
July 13th 2022


25062 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

hey now, im not a metalhead nor a sowing clone



im a core cretin, and there are loads of us



but yeh could you imagine if jazz became a thing here

Ryus
July 13th 2022


36544 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ah yes the core cretins are a third smaller party in this war

luci
July 13th 2022


12844 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

nah this is classic. real ones know

Mort.
July 13th 2022


25062 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeh i think this is some of his best work





Nav is a top 5 will wiesenfeld track

Relinquished
July 13th 2022


48692 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

thought this already had a review

Mort.
July 13th 2022


25062 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

na the only reviews Geotic has had are my shitty lazy ones from a few years back

Lord(e)Po)))ts
July 13th 2022


70239 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I thought there was a review for this too

Trifolium
February 9th 2023


38841 Comments


Here because of Mort, Nav is very sweet and lovely. Checking this in full after Prefab Sprout I promise.

Mort.
February 9th 2023


25062 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

nav is the standout track for sure





for me this is perfect reading music. perfect summer music. just easy breezy smoothness

Mort.
February 9th 2023


25062 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i also highly reccomend the traversa lp

dedex
Staff Reviewer
August 1st 2023


12774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

listening now, it's bubbly and comfy!!!

pizzamachine
August 1st 2023


26992 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Right as rain!!! :3

Mort.
August 1st 2023


25062 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

hell yeah this is a well comfy album



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy