Machine Girl
WLFGRL


4.0
excellent

Review

by Mr. Pizza USER (423 Reviews)
July 7th, 2022 | 28 replies


Release Date: 2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A wild ride.

According to Spotify, Machine Girl is a, “cathartic blend of footwork, jungle, digital hardcore, and rave”. WLFGRL is an unabashedly, unhinged album. One dark beat gives way to the next, in a dystopian soundscape. The most interesting part is that despite absolutely jarring beats that often sound like glitches in the Matrix, they go down smoothly. A simple melodic line is often in songs, and I could imagine a rapper or singer utilizing these beats effectively, yet WLFGRL is instrumental - with prolific samples - and it is for the better. WLFGRL is a club banger, the perfect album to wrap you in a cacophony of noise in a half-dark, neon lit room. Despite the ever shifting, pummeling beat assaults, the music is extremely danceable, and in a room already prone to overstimulating, it’s perfect.

If you’ve heard digital hardcore before, you’ve undoubtedly heard similar music before, yet WLFGRL is a wonderful introduction. The onslaught of drum and bass rhythms on the offbeat sweeps you away. It’s hopelessly engaging hypnotism, the whole thing, a testament to an excellent album. Tracks often sound similar to video game or movie music, not overwhelmingly from the electronic attacks, but due to the feelings the album impresses upon the listener. As aggressive and otherworldly as the music may seem at first glance, it equally seems starkly familiar. WLFGRL may appear quite strange or abrasive to someone not well versed in electronic music, yet I would recommend it to anyone. It’s fun, catchy, and possibly one of the more euphoric rollercoasters you’ll discover all year, it was for me.



Recent reviews by this author
NSYNC Home for ChristmasMachine Girl Gemini
Various Artists Home Alone (On the Night Before Christmas)Bitch Magnet Umber
Aerials Aerials: Part 2Drowse Wane into It
user ratings (123)
3.8
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
pizzamachine
July 7th 2022


21695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Somehow the first review for this baby.

Mort.
July 7th 2022


20826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh so now i gotta edit my list already? fucksake

pizzamachine
July 7th 2022


21695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

And you already edited. Thanks for the rec/based list.

Sharenge
July 7th 2022


3040 Comments


noice

it's time to get fucking mental

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
July 7th 2022


52256 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it is here

Sharenge
July 7th 2022


3040 Comments


you like those crazy-ass Japanese movies, Machine Girl's definitely for you

Mort.
July 7th 2022


20826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Krystle (url cyber palace mix) is my fav off this

Mort.
July 7th 2022


20826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

'It’s fun, catchy, and likely the most unique album you’ll listen to all year.'



i like the review and i think its well written but i dont like this send off. 'most unique album youll listen to all year' is just too hyperbolic. its simply not true or even likely and doesnt tell me anything really.



id say replace unique with a more descriptive word, like 'hyperactive' or just rethink the whole sentence



but good review overall posd hardd

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
July 7th 2022


52256 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

mmmhm, hard album to pick a fav on. Out By 16 or Freewill would probs be mine, but i think it's best as a whole

pizzamachine
July 7th 2022


21695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah the sentence is too general of a statement, I’ll fix.

Sharenge
July 7th 2022


3040 Comments


it's the most mental album you'll listen to while you're listening to this album

pizzamachine
July 7th 2022


21695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lol

DavidYowi
July 7th 2022


2971 Comments


wtf this never had a review until now?

pizzamachine
July 7th 2022


21695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It boggles the mind!

Koris
Contributing Reviewer
July 7th 2022


17114 Comments


Nice review. I'll give this a go soon, seems like a pretty crazy experience

pizzamachine
July 7th 2022


21695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It’s a wild ride

SteakByrnes
July 7th 2022


28248 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wow I'm surprised this never had a review

trilo
July 14th 2022


5236 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Neon White introduced me to this and damn it owns!!!!

parksungjoon
July 14th 2022


45110 Comments


i actually heard a little bit of that soundtrack and it seemed bloody proper

trilo
July 14th 2022


5236 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah man OST is fantastic. great game too



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy